We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going on 9th Sep 13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai to your Saves list
Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Going on 9th Sep 13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I also contacted the hotel in advance regarding arranging a booking for the Friday special dining event they have, again the staff responded promptly, so far so good, this will be my fourth visit to Dubai, first time at the hotel, don't think I will be disappointed. I always do my research prior to booking, stayed some superb hotels in Dubai, hopefully this hotel will be another additional one. I am a regular updater!!!! on trip advisor...So I will keep you updated on my return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Trip Advisor.

I am sure that you will enjoy yourself at our hotel and keep in mind that we will do everything in our power to make your stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible.

If there is anything else we can do prior to your arrival please let usknow.

Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    335
    82
    25
    16
See reviews for
368
674
54
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of the hotel was great! The rooms were very comfortable & the Morrocan/Algerian decor throughout the hotel was mind boggling!

Only negative comment I would like to make is about the 'few' reception staff who I think weren't up to 5 star standard. The reason was that upon check in we had a receptionist (African Male) who didn't say hello to us or made any eye contact..the night receptionist during our stay 'an oriental girl' had a lot of issues..I had overheard her talk rudely to other guest over the phone..we were also sent a letter to our room to speak to reception regarding our 'credit' which I found surprising as I had paid a lot of money upon check in...

Its a pity such small things spoil the hotel image...because the hotel is outstanding!

I will be returning to the hotel again & really hope the front office staff are up to 5 star standard.

Thank you & regards..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your views on Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate with the Trip Advisor community.

I am pleased to hear that you appreciated our location, the comfort of our rooms and the stunning Arabian décor of our property.

On another note, please be certain that your comments regarding certain members of our team at the reception were noted and that the concerned department head has investigated the inconvenience you have experienced. More importantly, rest assured there will be no repetition and you will experience the service you rightly expected in the first instance.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic fast check in after a long flight
Very clean comfortable room
Great location and appreciated the shopping centre so close by.
It was so nice to return to the lovely air conditioned hotel and pool was perfect !!
All staff were so friendly and helpful
Will be returning to this hotel
Thank you to ALL staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a fantastic review.

I am happy to hear that you liked the Hotel location and our close proximity to Ibn Battuta shopping mall, as well as our pool facilities. Also, it is great to learn that our team has gone above and beyond your expectations to ensure that you had a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Please be assured that I will share your very positive feedback with all.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The check in was very fast and efficient.
Service excellent.. The staff are extremely responsive and very well trained.
Rooms are new, clean, quiet, spacious... Beautiful bathrooms with a blind that you can open and shut to see the TV in the main room.
Gym is perfect... Top of the range running machines, x trainers, bikes, free weights, squat rack, cable machine, aerobics room.. All new and tip top.
Swimming pool is just right... Only problem is that it opens at 6am, which for business guests is a bit late as I like an early morning swim before breakfast.
The main reception area of the hotel has a breathtaking lamp display which is very middle eastern and almost mysterious. There is a the main resteraunt which serves the buffet breakfast (excellent breakfast range), in the evening it has a buffet which is also very good. There are other resteraunts... A chinese and an Indian... Might be another one but I forget. Also a coffee bar and a hotel shop.
Only one complaint, at breakfast you have to go hunting around for someone to serve you coffee or tea but apart from that it couldn't be much better.
I didn't give it 5 stars because of the location... It's right next to the power station and is hardly a beauty spot.. There is a huge shopping mall across the road which has everything... Another plus. You also have a metro line within 5-10 mins walk of the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Abdulrahim,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review on your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed our services and facilities to such extent, especially our fitness center, room facilities and convenient location at walking distance from the Ibn Battuta Metro station and mall.
Please note I have shared your comments regarding the coffee and tea service with the concerned manager to ensure it is rectified immediately.
As fulfilling the needs of our business guests is of top priority to us, please rest assured I have also taken your comment regarding the swimming pool opening time on board and will make sure to review it internally to re schedule the timings.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I thought id write a review even before I arrive at this fab hotel on 14th September, I have been in contact with the hotel by email as I wanted to book high tea in the burj al arab and didn't know how to go about it, but Avnish Masih head of concierge kindly took it all off my hands and has booked it for me, aswell as Mr Dmitry of desert gate who books trips, he has been very helpful and arranged trips for us, I cannot wait to arrive at this hotel in sept and if it is anything like the service I have recieved before getting there it will be brilliant-I will update my review on my return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Claire,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback with the Tripadvisor community.
I was extremely pleased to read you have already experienced such excellent service provided by our team before you have arrived to the hotel. I will make sure to personally thank Avnish and Mr Dimitry for their help in booking your requirements during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai in Septemebr.
Best Regards
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I like the design of hotel and rooms, however there is no window view accent. The service was terrible starting from reception, seems like they recognize you by outfit only. First, confirmed early check-in never happened, then they mixed up my room number and luggage delivery and made it blamed on me, then card that you should drop in your bed to change the linen, didn't worked out, nothing changed. Pillows smells very badly like never been cleaned. Oh yeah, the good thing is shopping just cross the road.
Well only left to say: will not return back to hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel.
I was very disappointed to read you encountered such inconveniences during your stay and please rest assured I will be discussing the points you have raised with the concerned managers to ensure they are rectified immediately.
I would like to ask you to please send us an email to social.ibnbattuta@moevenpick.com as I would like for our team to contact you in regards to your stay.
I look forward to receiving your email and hope to be able to welcome you back at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai soon.
Best Regards
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 6 nighs
-perfect location
-clean hotel
-helpful reception staff
-nice swimming pools
-enough breakfast
-nice restaurants
-rooms are big enough and connected rooms are available

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai with the Tripadvisor community.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, especially our facilities and the service provided by our team. I will certainly make sure to share your comments with the team.
I thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.