We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and bright styled rooms, great pool area, perfect located near a nice theme mall, enjoyed hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai to your Saves list
Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern and bright styled rooms, great pool area, perfect located near a nice theme mall, enjoyed hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I would always come back to this hotel as it is just an amazing place to chill and relax with its great pool area (though always crowded from the early morning on), nice gym with very good machines and large areas to sit down and have a coffee or tea with a snack and this without being bothered from to many guests surrounding you.. ;)
Even a incident whereby money was stolen from my room (whereby one reason for the theft was obviously the opportunity I gave with not keeping it in the safe which is provided in the room) was taken serious and the management was undertaking immediately a search and try to recover the amount stolen, though it wasn't successful.
But I was thankful that it obviously was taken serious and I felt served well with the action which was undertaken by the hotel security team.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and for making the Moevenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate – Dubai your residence when you are in Dubai.

We appreciate your comments about our leisure facilities. As for the incident in your room, we would like to reiterate that we take your feedback seriously and we have done our full investigation.

We hope to see you soon at the Moevenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate – Dubai.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    419
    94
    28
    17
See reviews for
455
860
70
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for 2 1/2 weeks, In Dubai for work.

Overall a very good stay and enjoyable time.

Best bits:
Very nice restuarants and food in the hotel. Nice outside Shisha bar to chill out on in the evening.
Lots of drink deals in the restuarants and many nights a free welcome drink for ladies
Good pool for people who like to swim for fitness, large and square so good for doing lengths.
Good gym, with excerise space for doing Yoga etc
In my room had a large walk in shower as well as a bath.
Plenty of water available in the room.
Mall beside the hotel (Ibn Battuta Mall) is very large, (and dramatic for a shopping centre! - each area decorated lavishly from different countries.) And nice outside China Garden area with more restuarants at the mall.
Short, cheap, taxi ride over to nice areas of town - Marina, Palm Jumeirah, Jumeirah Beach.
Next to Metro stop which helps link it up with town.

Stuff to be improved:
Service at the restaurants (excluding the Indian) was very slow. One night took over 1 hour to get food - hence 3* for service I have given. Other service was very good - room service, concierge, guest services)
Quite a long distance from Old Dubai, Dubai Mall etc.
Not a good view out the back- ask for the front. Back is some kind of plant.
As we had many people staying in the hotel, we got a discount at the restuarants, internet and on laundry. However the majority of the team thought this would come automatically off the bills, discovered on check-out this needed to be asked for in the restuarant. They did eventually change mine after a lot of arguing but said they wouldn't change the others. As others check out I don't know if others will get theirs fixed Almost everyone we had staying there thought the same thing so this was pretty poor communication and subsequent willingness to correct it from the hotel. What out for this if you come as part of a large group and have a discount worked out!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your commendations. We really appreciate guest feedback and we take it to heart. Thank you for your good feedback about our restaurants and our leisure facilities.

As for the service, we will look into our food delivery time and make sure that you will always get your food on time. As for your group, this is to inform your that our management has given the discount to your whole group.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience about the Moevenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate – Dubai.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Sibiu, Romania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great hotel, with the best bed I had in any hotel. Great room, nice restaurants, a bar with staff that will surprise you constantly (they all arrive from different countries and, hence, different cultures), the best mall in Dubai (nice building, nice display), a good connection with the center (the state of the art metro or the cheap taxies).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very uplifting feedback. Your recommendation to fellow travellers about our hotel is surely valuable. We are heartened by your positive comments about your stay and your hotel experience which I will share with my team.

We hope to see you once again at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My recent stay at the IBN Batuta Gate was fabulous. The Persian suite I stay in was very much to my style and liking. My stay was brief but extremely comfortable. Remotely located from the city but that could be a good thing. If necessary, hotel transport and taxis are readily available. However, the only problem was the breakfast. The chipped up fruit was unbearable and didn't seem to be picked with care. Various choices but with no real appeal. F&B management should take a closer look.
Other than this, my stay was quite enjoyable...even though brief.

Room Tip: Pets are welcome and the pet area is something different and really cool. Plus the rooms are very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for praising our hotel and team in your review. As for the location, we are near to Dubai Marina and the Palm Jumeirah so it all depends on your itinerary. As you menitoned, we are accessible by metro as well as taxis are easy to get. We also offer complimentary shuttles to our Oceana Beach Club and also to Dubai Mall, Dubai Marina Walk and Mall of emirates during Fridays. Rest assured that we will look into our breakfast - we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you soon at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

An excellent hotel with very high standard worthy of a five-star Movenpick. But this far from all, the location it is very bad and reamente not recommend, unless you are going to have some kind of activity near the hotel. Even taking a subway station near the hotel again and would not for that reason did not nominate the same.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the center of Dubai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not hapy with the location of the hotel. As you just mentioned, the hotel is accessible by metro. We are also offering complimentary daily shuttles to our Oceana Beach Club and the malls during the weekend. Dubai Marina is just 10 minutes from our hotel and Dubai Malljust 20 minutes.

Kind Regards,

Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is what a 5 Star hotel is supposed to be like. Great service from always attentive staff. Rooms and public always clean and inviting. Good choice of in-house restaurants, though all are on the pricey side, especially the breakfast buffet.
On my way to breakfast, first morning, I enquired if it was possible to get a bathrobe. When I returned to the room, there were two robes, sitting there! That is paying attention to the customer!

Other than price its hard to find a negative but even here, I suppose if you want the best you have to be prepared to pay for it.

Room Tip: I can't believe that any room would be bad - these folks know how to run a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your commendation and for statign that we deserve our 5 star rating.

Nothing can be so uplifting than positive praises about our hotel facilities, F&B and service.

We hope that we will see you soon at Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel. We await for your return.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Ibn Battuta in Dubai was my favourite of the 5 hotels of similar class I stayed in during my business trip to the Middle East. Not only is it a spectacular building inside and out, but my room was spacious, light, comfortable and the furniture and fixtures were modern and in good condition. The plug sockets were multinational - a relief since my adaptor didn't work! The hotel had everything I like including a selection of excellent restaurants (I had good meals in the italian and indian), free wireless and ATM to obtain local currency. It is also next to a shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We really take a lot of effort to make sure that travellers like you are satisfied with our facilities, rooms, food and leisure offerings.

We hope to see you soon at Ibn battuta Gate Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.