We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice of booking company and hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emirates Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Emirates Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Emirates Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayed Road, Near Finance Centre | Metro Stop, Dubai 116957, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad choice of booking company and hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for two nights through Hotelopia. My advice after dealing with both is DONT! Using Hotelopia web site, transfers were booked both ways. Very confusing in the end no cab to pick us up from airport-so we got our own. Cost 77 dirhams (in Aus money approx $19) The check in, a nightmare. Handed the desk a letter confirming reservation,must have caused a big problem. Waiting,waiting,twenty minutes later I asked is there something dodgy here as there were so many calls being made to the reservation center. Five minutes more delay was told.
After nearly an hour we were on our way, no help with the bags mind you. As some of the patrons have stated very unhelpful nor polite.Need to copy the attitude of the Singaporean Hotels. Room pretty good for a suite. just a minimal amount of tea bags /coffee. Breakfast was nice ,plenty of choice, but some of the helps did not understand english too well. Three times I had to request a lead to connect to internet, very poor service here.
As Hotelopia got flight times mixed up, it appeared that the cab would call just as the flight was going across the Gulf, so we got our own cab three hrs earlier and it only cost 26 dirhams(A$6 approx ) yet we were charged A$40 by the booking company,something to consider. Emailed booking company about problem no reply came until two days later. They stated I should have rang emergency number-where, I never saw one.
Handy for metro station is a positive . If there is a next time I would go elsewhere, some of the staff need training in customer service.
With the lost cab fare, cost was A$633-not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    82
    39
    45
See reviews for
68
82
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Dubai in December 2012. The staff on the reception desk were not friendly or polite, at least a smile would have helped especially as we travelled so far to get there. The staff just about, mechanically, did their job – it was as if they did not want to be there. The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The only gripe I had was the lift! This was operated by a security man. If you are on a high floor, above the 5th I think, before you go to the lift you have to call the reception from
your room then go out to the lift and wait. Sometimes the wait was not long; sometimes you had a long wait and other times the lift man forgot or it arrived full, if this happened you need to go back to your room and call reception again for the lift – what a joke! For a hotel of this rating this is not acceptable. We got so frustrated with it we had to go and ask to be moved to a lower floor, we changed to the first floor where we could walk down the stairs – this was inconvenient to have to do this in the middle of our stay but we where spending too much time waiting for it.

In the first room we used to tiny cans of orange from the mini bar, we did not use the mini bar in the 2nd room we transferred to. Yet when we checked out they gave us a bill for 4 cans of orange, 2 from the 1st room and 2 from the 2nd room. We explained we only took two cans from the first room only and paid for two and then made our way to the taxi outside. The people on reception then sent the security man to our taxi for the other two cans of orange! The two cans they accused us of using in the other room on the 1st floor. In the end in order for us to be freed by the security man we paid for the two cans of orange we did not have. It did not end there… When we got back to the UK I got a bill from them for £15! It was taken out of my account without my authority. I have emailed them around 10 times but they just keep ignoring my emails and to date this fight goes on.

Also watch the man in the hotel who sells excursions! If you want to go on excursions you need to book it outside this hotel because I could not believe how this guy ripped us off big time for 3 excursions, I cried when I realised how much we were over charged. At the time of booking he even took us to the bank skipping and flexing his shoulders because he was so happy for the booking.

Room Tip: Do not bother booking here because it is bad service and they take money from your account for no re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

stayed with family of 4 (2 teenagers) after having 3 night in the Atlantis...what a difference! Booked it as location was great...wished we hadn't. The lifts were terrible (as per other reviews), you must factor in extra time for this.
Staff at reception are rude, non-committal and really don't seem to enjoy their job. House-keeping say yes to everything but do not follow up, even after numerous phone calls or time consuming trips to reception.
The pool is very small and always full of loud kids, even in the evening.
The rooms are not bad, dirty in some places and not all features work properly e.g washing machine leaking. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was roomy, no TV in second bedroom, had cutlery and crockery for 2 people only. After asking repeatedly for more we gave up and I kept having to wash up so that we could all eat, not my idea of a holiday when the family cannot have a meal together.
The hotel does not serve any alcohol , we went across the busy Sheik Zayed Road to the rotana hotel bar on a couple of evenings.
There are definitely better options in Dubai, would never come here again.

Room Tip: a low floor might be useful to take the stairs and avoid the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked this hotel through T/A -One bedroom Suite for almost $200/night. We requested a baby cot and extra bed, but upon check in we didn't receive any of those things and I had to ask HSKP for at least 3 times to bring everything. The baby cot was horrible, dirty and old. I had to put two more blankets to make a bit softer for my baby. They also have the most retarted elevator ever!!! The contingent of guests were very rude. The hotel stuff are unprofessional especially - reception, total mess, made me feel that they don't know whats going on. Definitely not coming back!

The good thing about this hotel was hotel location, just 1 min walk to metro station (Financial center).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic near a metro station and Dubai mall and between cafes and restaurants. Staff is idiotic, elevators even more idiotic. Suites are large (hence the the name Grand). My wife and kids loved it, so we will come back

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

this hotel is at a perfect location close to everything in dubai. and it is good value for money too. we got upgraded to a one bedroom suite and it felt like we were living in an apartment. the space was very welcome. the service was a bit tardy but honestly we didnt have any meals at the hotel as this hotel has no alcohol served. the check in and check out process was painfully long and the wait for the elevator just leaves a bad taste in the mouth but that s what you get for paying so less

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

So basically before booking my friend and I read about the bad lift situation. We decided to ignore it as the price was right and it was the correct location. Sheikh Zayed road is right in the heart of central Dubai and is the perfect launch pad for going to Dubai Mall, where you will spend most of your time as Dubai doesn't really have much else to offer.

Good: This hotel is good on value and location, and has free valet parking which is great if you rent a car.

Bad: Hotel is 47 floors and only has 4 lifts. it was originally an apartment building converted into a hotel. The 4 lifts are operated manually by guys who stand in the lift who are assisted by a radio room that tells them which floor to go to in order to pick up passengers. We found it quite funny, but it was indeed annoying. The walls are also thin so you can hear the ding-dong noise from the lift in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emirates Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Grand Hotel

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road, Near Finance Centre | Metro Stop, Dubai 116957, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emirates Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the commercial district, on Dubai’s prominent Sheikh Zayed Road, the alcohol-free 47-storey Emirates Grand Hotel is offering a panoramic city and Arabian Sea views. The tallest building in the world,The Burj Khalifa, and the largest Mall in the Middle East – Dubai Mall is reachable within less than 10 minutes driving, opposite Financial Center Metro Station, easily accessible to the Dubai International Financial Center, Dubai International Convention and Exhibition Center, Dubai World Trade Center, and just 15 minutes drive away from Dubai International Airport and 5 minutes from the golden sands of the Jumeirah Beach Park.Wi-Fi is available.Guests have access to the rooftop pool offering a panoramic city and Arabian Gulf views, and the fully equipped fitness center as well as a tennis court. A wellness center which includes a sauna, a hot tub and a steam room is also available. The Emirates Grand Spa offers a wide range of body treatments and facials.Enjoy home cooked meals at our world class restaurants, and the famous Arabic shesha, also well known as hubbly bubbly is served either on the rooftop lounge or in the garden area.relax with your favorite beverage at the roof top terrace.Plan a meeting in any of our four meeting rooms fully equipped with contemporary audiovisual facilities and business center guarantees every function to be a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emirates Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emirates Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.