We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaleidoscope

Kaleidoscope
Crescent Road | Atlantis The Palm Hotel, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 426 2626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 5,626 Restaurants in Dubai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Kaleidoscope is the perfect dining solution. An impressive buffet and open interactive kitchens with live cooking stations will ensure you can indulge yourself with a world of dishes, wherever your taste buds take you.
comoros islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Atlantis is the place to be in. the restaurant is cool and offers a wide range of food preparations.
the high tea ended up as afternoon tea as well as dinner for its sheer quantity; not to speak of the taste and the ambience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    213
    87
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a good family feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited with family, when looking for a last minute evening buffet.
Great variety of food. As always, you can only sample a tiny fraction of what is on offer. I had a fairly 'Indian' evening myself!
It's great to be able to eat without arguing about what sort of food everyone wants.
Kaleidoscope offers something for everyone: fussy, veggie, whatever.

I'm not a huge fan of the 'retail' element of Atlantis, but this restaurant provides a good feed, particularly for hungry children after a day or afternoon in Aquaventure.

Would be nice to have a few things laid on for children.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A cat and its tail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had breakfast on all the four days of stay at the Atlantis at this restaurant on the ground floor. What to say, probably i would need another ten days to actually sample all the goodies there on the breakfast buffett. I went around the place like a cat chasing its tail. i didn't write a proper algorithm for this place. My bad. The guys do things in real style. It is a world cuisine restaurant, and the spread justifies the billing. The patisserie items were too yum to be explained, you could even excuse the place for its slack coffee. Don't tell my wife: the pork items are on a table inside, marked "Russian foods," for some reason. But a gourmand is led by his nose. They can't fool me. The bacon came in two cuts: streaky and back cut. and there were sausages. I don't know the Russian connection, but i sure gorged like a Russian. Egg white omlettes while the wife was around, and attack of the zombies on the bacon and sausages when she was gone.
And, then, she used to wonder why tend to doze off immediately after breakfast! I am sure the smell of that table will stay with me as long as the transfat is clogged in my arteries. I am not going to talk of my weight gain.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The food selection was extensive. My favorite was definitely the dessert section filled with mouthwatering choices. Those travelling with their family will truly enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Doesn't seem to fit the Atlantis brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Kaleidoscope is somewhat of a strange restaurant for the Atlantis resort in our opinion.

Away from the delights of places such as Seafire and Ronda Locatelli it just seems such a hurried, frenetic and altogether noisy experience.

We tried it on two occasions. The second was an attempt to see if we'd misjudged it or timed it poorly on our first visit.

The buffet style format may appeal to many and I cannot question the variety of food on offer. However, the restaurant is incredibly busy, even more noisy and the service levels were questionable to say the least. We ordered a bottle of wine and got a look from the waiter that appeared to smack of "why do you want wine?" - an attitude that as many will know is completely aside from that experienced elsewhere in Atlantis.

Our 10 year old daughter liked the food though and again I'd stress that the selection is astonishing.

On reflection though it's not somewhere we'd go to eat again. I've given it a good score in the "Familes with children" category because I imagine it'll appeal to many, but it can't take away the fact that, for us at least, it just didn't seem to fit well with the majority of other places in the resort.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaleidoscope also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Kaleidoscope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaleidoscope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.