We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bateel

Cafe Bateel
Unit B-5, below Al Mesk Tower | Dubai Marina Walk, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-3684696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #316 of 5,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian, Mediterranean, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: COME FOR COFFEE, STAY FOR LUNCH Taking the brand a step beyond gourmet products, Cafe Bateel represents the ultimate Bateel experience. A seamless blend of European cafe elegance and the distinct character of our Arabic heritage, Cafe Bateel provides a warm and sophisticated ambiance where you can enjoy extraordinary gourmet cuisine.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This restaurant , cafe reminds me of "paul" but a bit classier . The coffee is good and the cakes are divine . The service is also very good and the staff are very friendly

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Bateel DIFC, Dubai Financial Center, a beautiful terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

There are many Bateel in Dubai and I think that Bateel is a place specialised for dates (the fruit that people buy and are placed in very fancy boxes for gifts) but, the one in Dubai Financial Center food court is a nice and big cafe with a very big open air terrace lovely when the weather is not too hot. You have a beautiful view from there on the Gate (a building looking a little like l'Arc de Triomphe) and Emirates tower hotel behind. We had lunch and coffees several time there and I find the food less than average and the portion on the small side, and I am not a big eater! I had their quiche, which comes with a very small salad and was not great. It is a lovely place to have tea in the late afternoon on the terrace with a light breeze blowing and watch the nightfall in a very urban setting

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This place ticks all the right boxes for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Marvelous atmosphere. Excellent service. Really comfy chairs! Good food. And the best Eggs Benedict I've had thus far in Dubai!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best Dates in Dubai....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Bateel shops have always offered the best "gourmet" dates in Dubai - a great gift to take back as a souvenir from this part of the world. Forget the stuck-together dates that you used to get at Christmas with a plastic fork - these are a world way - and delicious!
The Cafes offer a good selection of teas and coffees in lovely china cups - with a free date on the side.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

There are several Bateel restaurants in the city, and I have never been disappointed in any of them, though the Marina location is my favorite. Excellent selection of Arabic, Greek, and Italian. And outstanding desserts.

I also highly recommend the Qahwa. Bateel is, strangely enough, one of the very few cafes in the city where visitors can get a good pot of original Arabic qahwa, which is accompanied by two extraordinary dates. I would sit here regularly for a couple of hours over conversation or getting work done, and your coffee takes a much longer time to run out than a regular latte or frappa-whappa-whatever.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bateel also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Cafe Bateel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bateel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.