We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10B Street, Al Mankhool | Bur Dubai, Dubai 29016, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Winchester Grand hotel apartments for 2 days in December 2013.We did not expect much however our experience was very disappointing to say the least. A very strong smell of mould/mildew coming from air conditioning system or sewerage was very unpleasant and impossible to deal with.
Breakfast was very poor.
Free shuttle bus was always arriving full as was coming from sister hotel.
Would definitely not recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy about certain things that you had to experience during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.

With each guest comment received we strive to put comments into effect to make our guests’ stay with us a more pleasing and memorable one.

I hope that this will not mar your overall experience, and you are able to return to Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

Sincerely,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    178
    65
    17
    7
See reviews for
92
131
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sw dc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

yes, as everyone says, it is good value for money. The reception desk was good except for 2 major boo-boos. One was a female who gave me pretty lousy directions to the BIGBUS (they dont stop their limo there, perhaps because they offer shuttles to individual to urist sites, one at a time (single departures, may or may not be convveinent to you, unlike the big bus).
Second even more serious, a desk person tried to put my credit card through for a big bus ticket. Some 20 odd minutes later, he came back and said that it did not go through. Lo and behold, I have two charges of US$ 59.90 and of US$ 51.60 in my credit card and saw those when I got home. SO, he did put something through,nes pas?

It is a good 20 minute walk to metro and big bus; there are hotels much closer.

Having said that, the studio apartment that I rented for $100 us was luxurious, well appointed, and full of light. It was well equipped, although wifi in the room did not work.

I have already reported all this to the manager, so, I dont feel hesitant putting it here. (BTW, they dont pick up at the airport, only drop off; the pick up cab (women only) cost me 58 DRMS.

Room Tip: facing the front. not at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the disappointing level of services that you have witnessed at our hotel. I am extremely sorry to hear that our guests are unsatisfied because they were not treated with the usual level of services that Winchester Hotel provide.

However, we have taken note of your feedback and communicated to the respective Head of Department in order to avoid any such possible scenario in the future.

We appreciate any forms of feedback and comment from our guests, as these can help us to improve our quality of services to meet our guest’s needs and expectation.

As a valued guest, I would like to discuss this matter personally with you. Please contact me directly at my email address, fernando@wingrand.ae referring to this review in the email title.

Sincerely,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If I have to describe my experience in just a few words I would say "Very comfortable, Outstanding Location, Value for Money". We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We had rented a two bedroom apartment and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. The process right from check in till the moment we checked out was perfect and I would certainly stay here the next time I visit Dubai. This place is very central well connected by Metro/ local buses and taxi is available at the doorstep. Ideal if you are looking for a spacious accommodation staying with your family or extended family. The health club/ swimming pool is just nice and fit to purpose. I would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time in recommending Winchester on Trip Advisor.

I think you have stayed in our other property Winchester Hotel Apartments. However I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased with the Winchester Hospitality. I am also glad that you found location was very convenient as ever one ells praised.

Thank you for indicating that you would stay with us in your next visit and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We chose this hotel for our 3 night stay in Dubai in Feb 2014 because of its location in Bur Dubai and reviews by fellow travellers. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel rooms which were very clean. However the location of the hotel was not as expected :(. The Metro stations of Burjuman as well as Al Fahidi is quite a walk (15-20 minute) so are the other restaurants. The hotel is right in the middle of a residential area.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel also runs a bus to some of the tourist attractions and the malls but the bus is usually full and running about 10-15 minutes behind schedule. Overall the hotel is a decent value for money but if you plan to use Dubai Metro be prepared to walk a lot.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road as there is construction going on (as of Feb 2014)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your travel to Dubai and your stay at the Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are looking forward to being of service to you once again soon.

Best Regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stay at the Winchester Hotel Apartments during my visits to Dubai. The apartments are fairly large with an attached kitchenette and a large bathroom. They provide complimentary breakfast with limited options and do not have an in-house restaurant. Hence for lunch/dinner you would have to either go out for a meal or order from the menu cards that they would share with you. The service is a fairly warm. One of the key benefits is the location of Winchester. They have supermarkets, restaurants, markets at walking distance. Also if you need to travel to major business districts, the World Trade Center etc. it would be a convenient ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I think you have stayed in our other property Winchester Hotel Apartments. However It is such a pleasure to hear that our services and facilities could meet to your expectation. We are also happy that we could contribute to your comfortable and memorable stay.

Once again, thank you and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

They treated us like family for the price you get clean room,Great view at the pool walking distance to chop great advice where to buy gold, set the tours for you (Big Bus, Desert off road & Camel ride), have shuttle to attractions call or write for pick up at airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent experiences at the Winchester Hotel Apartments, which is our other property.

It is a pleasure to note that how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all your kind words of appreciation.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed there from January 15 to 24, 2014.The hotel is located in a quiet area of Bur Dubai. It is somewhat near to Burjman metro station. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. It is affordable and a good option for budget friendly stay. The rooms are clean and room service is good. The rooftop swimming pool is clean, but small. The main problems during our stay were that they have no children push cars access. we should always carry our youngest daughter push car in and out !!. Also, their internet wifi connection is slow with frequent problems and not reliable at all.You need to enter your password every now and then. The rooms also lack heating services which was needed during our stay in a cold weather. Generally the hotel is family friendly, specially for young kids. Overall it was satisfactory stay as we expected.

Room Tip: I recommend middle levels in winter as higher levels are more colder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that our team were able to make a great impression on you and Your Family during your stay and made your stay a memorable one. In peak winter we advise to keep AC off and if required room heater could be provided on request. I am also glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location, which has number of metro stations in working distance.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Winchester Hotel Apartments.

Sincerely

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments

Address: 10B Street, Al Mankhool | Bur Dubai, Dubai 29016, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester is located in one of the prime and prestigious neighborhoods in Dubai, the "Al Mankhool" area, ideally at walking distance to the Burjuman Centre, Bank Street, Meena Bazar shopping street and the rich and famous dining outlets. More conveniently a fifteen minutes drive to and from the Dubai International Airport. Rooms: Our hospitality offering is of the highest order with executive studio and executive one bedroom units. All units are fitted with elegant sophisticated furniture and furnishings with proximity door locks, personalized digital safes, top of the range kitchen and bathroom amenities and hi-speed internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.