We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meydan....so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Meydan....so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just look at my review of Meydan Beach.... Some of that same experience can be said about the hotel. Breakfasts great food. Hostesses do not speak english well enough to say: Please have a seat or right this way.. or yo man sit yo' behind down. No. Because to say all that, you need proper english. Unfortunately there are two sentences they have learned: Room number? Name? then wave. Yes thank you we will find our seats thank you very much. 9.00 am in the morning we run into a maid on the corridor she says to me, Good Afternoon. LOL, Ok i say she must be just confused, But no she says the same thing to my wife loud and clear :-D My wife received a rose at Armani Hotel Amal Restaurant with a small Armani Tag hanging on it. Steel. Nothing fancy but a nice keychain sort of thing. Well the maid stole it. She untied the rose took of the tag then tied it back up. Neat job! Pfff.
Sometimes they asked us what we would like to drink at breakfast sometimes they did not. Of course the waiters here don't speak english but that's no surprise. And for some reason they always take half full glasses and plates. (no surprise here, same thing at Meydan beach) now when a guy took a plate with food in it in their hand i dont want to fight to get it back and honestly after he touched it i am not sure i WANT it back. Some guys at the concierge desk!! dont speak english. Now that's a WOW.
To be fair not everyone was like that but way too many to not notice.
Generally the training of staff is poor. PLEASE LET HR know, working in a 5 star Hotel requires professional experience. Or at least rigorous training!!! You CANT use people so uneducated that they dont know how to keep themselves clean and not smelly ( like our bellhop or waiters) or people that dont speak the language.
NOW again, i am not picky. YOU chose to build a 5 star hotel with 5 star prices and 5 star services. DONT be surprised if people expect it. Unfortunately guys you are far from it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay at The Meydan Hotel.
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the disappointment experienced
Please rest assured that your points are well noted and necessary actions will be taken.

Kind regards,

A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    59
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
39
95
12
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Perfect location for vacation without any traffic.
Staff is very, very kindly. I would to recommend this hotel to everyone who need a nice, quite and elegant place. Shuttle from hotel to the beach is organized very well. Everything is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your comments to all the staff in the hotel. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to your return someday.

Best regards,
A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

For our first trip ever to Dubai and UAE, we were looking for something extra special. We choose the Meydan because we wanted to be able to explore the City, and relax later in quiet, comfortable surroundings with a nice pool and peaceful balcony, with nice views. This is exactly what we experienced at the Meydan. The Hotel was absolutely perfect, we particularly enjoyed the peace and tranquility, of the Infinity Pool Area, don't miss a swim at dusk, a real treat. The facilities in the room are amazing, and it took our 8 night stay to learn our way round the different controls !
We also used the Beach Club on 2 occasions, and found this a very, very relaxing experience, with first class facilities, easy to use shuttle, and right beside Dubai Marina.
We used the Daily Shuttle to the Malls to start our day off. We found the Meydan Staff to be so very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly, both at the Hotel and Beach Club. Arriving from the Airport, we were greeted and made to feel special, check in, etc was perfect, and the Concierge Staff were so helpful. Our Dining experiences were great, food and service was of the finest. We enjoyed dining in Farriers, outdoors, and walking along the side of the Race Course afterwards.
On leaving, we again were made to feel special as we checked out and departed for the Airport.
Perhaps the only issue we had was that we booked our stay in between the Horse Racing, and should have checked first ! We arrived just after the Thursday Meeting, and left a few days before the next Thursday Meeting ! So one day we want to return, to see the Horse Racing !!
I Would highly recommend the Meydan !

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback in TripAdvisor. It is a rewarding experience for us all that our hotel’s facilities and services are appreciated by our guests.

We are glad that you have explored as many of our activities and offerings as you could, whilst staying with us. I have taken the liberty of sharing your wonderful comments with the entire team here at the hotel and I am sure that they will be delighted to have received your nice feedback.

We very much look forward to your return, hopefully, in the not so distant future, as you will definitely not wish to miss the most exhilarating and richest horse-racing day in the world, the “Dubai World Cup 2014”!

Thank you & regards,
A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Meydan was the perfect hotel. The room was awesome and the scenic view of the track is simply amazing. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dubai and don't care to be inside the city with the crazy traffic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our room facilities and the amazing views of our race track. I hope you will come back to watch one of the horse-racing events, now that the season has started.

Thank you & best regards,
A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Meydan is really out of the way for a visitor to Dubai, unless you want to go to the racetrack. However the taxi ride back into town is not all that expensive, and the rooms are true luxury. The only strange thing here is that the Front Office managers sends you notes re dress code for the hotel in a little note shoved under the door, felt a little insulted, as I thought i was always fully dressed.
The Breakfast buffet here is quite a treat, with a huge selection of everything, and the executive chef Guenter makes sure that it is always tops. Carson is one of the best ambassadors for Frasers Restaurant, instant guest recognition and always remembers you and your little foibles. The other outstanding staff member is in the lobby bar - Natalya, always ready with a sharp wit and her own style of guest relations. The only short coming is the layout of the hotel, as instead of being built tall its built long, and the hike from your room can be quite a long one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We can highly recommend this wonderful Hotel. The service was First Class , we where kindly and professionally attended by SHOJAN He was the best and made us feel at home!
The food is great and the Hotel is a wonderful place to visit on your next trip to Dubai. They also offer a free shuttle to the Beach and the Dubai Mall. Taxis are super cheap and take you anywhere for about 10 US Dollar. The Airport is only 15 minutes. The views onto Dubai are so breathtaking.
Our Suite was another treat and we rested and slept like Kings. This Hotel hosts the Prince Horses and he races himself.

Room Tip: Room number 422 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. I have already shared your comments with our entire team in the hotel, as well as, to Shojun and our Executive Chef.

It is always rewarding for the team to know that you have appreciated and enjoyed your stay and experience with us. Looking forward to your return on the exciting race nights!

Thank you & best regards,
A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Meydaan is an excellent hotel. I was a bit worried about the hotel being out of the way however I think it was a blessing in disguise. Not only is it a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle but the hotel is awesome. The room was huge with excellent pool on the roof. The breakfast was great. The attached imax cinema was also an excellent option to allow us to use when we got bored in the evening. The staff were helpful and made us feel welcome.

Only downside was my room was on the far right of the hotel which meant a good 5 minute walk from the entrance. Not the fault of the hotel but was me being lazy!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback in TripAdvisor. We are actually just 8 minutes away from Sheikh Zayed Road but we are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Aside from the IMAX facility, we also have other exciting activities in the hotel, such as the Meydan Golf, The Track, our Qube Restaurant and Sports Bar, as well as, a world class tennis facility. I hope you will be back soon so you can check out our other facilities and offerings.

Thank you again & best regards,
A. Treston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.