We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore the other side of Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Explore the other side of Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights from April 13 to April 15. Everything was excellent and more than expected. Room are superb, food were at great quality and value, the customer service level was never like before. The shift Manager (Munier) upgraded our room the minute he heard that we didn't like the location of the room they originally gave to us. Setting on the outside terrace that overlooks the racing track was assume and so enjoyable. Or sure I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dubai, especially for those who want to have a stay away from the crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Our staff, most especially, Mounir, will surely be happy to know of your kind compliments. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that you will always stay with us when you’re in Dubai.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    62
    29
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
102
12
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Meydan Hotel is luxury and beauty, so relaxing for a 5 star Dubai 'staycation' the rooms were lovely and very well appointed even with coffee machine, television in the bathroom and button operated curtains. Romantic and practical and very very comfortable. All the staff were super helpful and courteous. We had dinner in Prime Steakhouse and the food, service and wine were faultless and it had a very relaxing atmosphere. I would definitely stay again and recommend friends and family to do the same. Great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city. After only one night we felt like we'd been away for many more.. Recently visited a friend in another well known 5 star hotel in the city and it wasn't as comparable, so a really great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind compliments and have already shared your feedback to our team. Thank you for your recommending us to your family and friends.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were always a little scared to book a table at the Meydan hotel because we expected prices sky high but you get good value for your money. So past Friday we had to celebrate a birthday so we booked a table the the Prime Steak house at The Meydan hotel for dinner.
We received a wet towel upon arrival, were taken to our table by a very friendly hostess and immediately assisted by the waiter to be seated in a little boot with 2 high chair overlooking the race track.
They offered us the menu and wine list. Since the menu nor the wine list had any cocktails on it we asked for the cocktail menu and ordered 1 Mai Tai and 1 Vodkatini. We choose to start 1 of us took tuna tartare and 1 had the foie gras mousse. The main course we ordered chateaubriand with some side dishes roasted potato, grilled aspargus, morel mushrooms and choron, bearnaise and a kind of jus. After we ordered they brought us a bread basket with butter, cream cheese spread.
The cocktails arrived very fast and they were prepared perfect together with that we were offered on the house amuse bouche which was a small portion of a fish mousse very nice and a small pumpkin soup.
The portions of the starter were quiet big but very nice the tuna tartare was very delicious and the foie gras was service in a very special way and also very tasty. After our plates were taken away from the starter we received a sorbet in between.
We had ordered a bottle of red Chilean wine which was a perfect match with the chateaubriand that was brought to our table in 1 piece and cut for us at the table to our liking all the sides came on the table so we could serve ourself. The meat was so tender and cooked to perfection the service was impeccable all the time. After our main course we were offered a birthday cake but the waiter told us that we would be able to take that with us home and another dessert would be prepared for us. The waiter came with a trolley and made us crepe suzette which is one of my favourit desserts so I was very happy. After we had finished that we received another kind of sorbet and ordered coffee and green tea with that we were offered 2 cognacs as digestif.

We were both very happy and will for sure return.

The chef did an amazing job thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for booking a table in our Prime Restaurant! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your dinner at our steakhouse. We always strive to provide the best food quality and service to our guests because we know there are connoisseurs like you who would appreciate what we try to achieve for Dubai. We certainly hope that you will continue to visit us together with your friends and Dubai guests, so they will have the chance to enjoy the same experience, only at The Meydan!

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel is very nice - large rooms, good gym. If you love horse racing, then rooms have view of the race course. Although the hotel is not very far from city centre (10-15 mins drive), however, there is nothing in the immediate surrounding area. You will need a taxi or car to get into town. Walking is not possible. No shopping complexes / shops within walking distance.

During horse racing season, the hotel is great. rooms have balcony and you can sit in your balcony to enjoy the horse racing, although prices of rooms during this period is absolutely crazy!!

we also had coffee at the lounge on the ground floor... was terrible.. coffee tasted like water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into our coffee service at the Millenium Lounge. We are actually just 8 minutes from the main commercial and business districts of Dubai. Taxis are available 24/7 at the hotel and we provide a complimentary shuttle bus to Dubai Mall and Mall of the Emirates so I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit.

Aside from horse-racing, we also have a lot of other activities, such as playing golf at our Meydan Golf Club, watch a movie at our Meydan IMAX Theatre, also the biggest IMAX screen in the UAE today, or play tennis at our Tennis Academy. If you haven’t visited our Meydan Beach Club, you definitely have to come back as it’s one of the best in town.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have had the best time at the Meydan, as we are still so happy to be here and are enjoying this architectural highlight. The rooms have a good size, such a well thought- through design and absolutely high standards. We sit on the balcony in the morning and especially every night we return from dinner (eventhough it is a bit dark looking at the racecourse in the evening... perhaps a little more light until..let's say midnight?) and sleep incredible well in a very comfortable bed with soft sheets, I bet it is arabian cotton, as everything is made of such a high quality.
I have not watched TV while sitting in our bathtub yet, but could if I want to.
Being very sensitive to useless noise in hotelrooms, I appreciate the quiet nights so much!
We have liked every meal and drink in any of the fine restaurants and bars and the stuff has always been very kind.
There is a complimentary busride to all the near by malls and to a marvelous beachclub.
Yes, it is a huge place and the bad news are, there will be a major construction zone in this area for many years but it will not stop me from returning to such a cool spot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know that even though we seem isolated, guests like you still enjoy the simple peace and quiet. We look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very nice location and the food is always fresh despite the fact it is a buffet.
The variety of desserts is wide and the price is fair. There is the possibility to choose from the buffet just salads or pasta section with different prices, great idea and service is also good the staff know their stuff!!
:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. We invite you to also visit our Prime Steakhouse Restaurant and Shiba Asian Restaurant, which serves Indian, Chinese, Thai and Japanese cuisines. I am sure you would like them as well. Looking forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the Meydan after a day at the World Cup hoping to have a bite to eat, a few drinks and some coffee. What did we get...no food even after being told we could eat at the buffet next door. Then when we came back to Shiba bar to get drinks but no food, we got served incorrect drinks 5 times from a number of staff. One of the team leaders obviously not wanting to make coffee at 11pm (this is dinner time for most Arabs) told us that there was no warm milk. I said no problem and ordered a tea. This arrived twice on two side plates with no teaspoon, sugar, cookies but it did come with arm milk. When this was pointed out to the poor waitress, she returned with a pot of tea. Pointed out again and finally some 45 minutes after ordering, two poor looking milky coffees arrived...not cafe lattes and the staff member agreed. We then had some water issues when not even a glass could be brought for my friend's water. He asked twice for a glass of ice, to which the staff responded by bring another bottle of water, no ice or glass again. When a glass , no ice again was finally brought, my friend pointed out that the second bottle of water had not been requested, the waiter took it away but only after he ad poured some of it into the elusive glass. Last drink order problem was a second bourbon which my husband ordered and it simply never came. We ad asked repeatedly to speak to a manager but no-one dared visit our table. Finally one hour later, a girl arrived and starting asking what we needed. My friend complained but not once did she introduce herself as the manager until we finally asked to speak to someone in charge. She was of little help and seemed to not really now what her team of staff had been doing or not doing as the case was. I will never visit this hotel again and recommend you go to one of Dubai's other fine 5 star hotels than deign to step foot in Meydan. It is shockingly bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I will certainly look into the operations of our Shiba Bar and implement the appropriate corrective action. But as a personal explanation, all our venues and restaurants were previously pre-sold out during Dubai World Cup events but this year, we have decided to open the Shiba Bar for external guests. We hope this particular experience will not prevent you from coming back. Although it was indeed the World’s Richest Horse-Racing Day, I agree that the service should not have been affected no matter how busy the day was going and should not be an excuse. We appreciate your comments and hopefully, you will be back to give us a second chance soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 478 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.