We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place,great food worth to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place,great food worth to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were always a little scared to book a table at the Meydan hotel because we expected prices sky high but you get good value for your money. So past Friday we had to celebrate a birthday so we booked a table the the Prime Steak house at The Meydan hotel for dinner.
We received a wet towel upon arrival, were taken to our table by a very friendly hostess and immediately assisted by the waiter to be seated in a little boot with 2 high chair overlooking the race track.
They offered us the menu and wine list. Since the menu nor the wine list had any cocktails on it we asked for the cocktail menu and ordered 1 Mai Tai and 1 Vodkatini. We choose to start 1 of us took tuna tartare and 1 had the foie gras mousse. The main course we ordered chateaubriand with some side dishes roasted potato, grilled aspargus, morel mushrooms and choron, bearnaise and a kind of jus. After we ordered they brought us a bread basket with butter, cream cheese spread.
The cocktails arrived very fast and they were prepared perfect together with that we were offered on the house amuse bouche which was a small portion of a fish mousse very nice and a small pumpkin soup.
The portions of the starter were quiet big but very nice the tuna tartare was very delicious and the foie gras was service in a very special way and also very tasty. After our plates were taken away from the starter we received a sorbet in between.
We had ordered a bottle of red Chilean wine which was a perfect match with the chateaubriand that was brought to our table in 1 piece and cut for us at the table to our liking all the sides came on the table so we could serve ourself. The meat was so tender and cooked to perfection the service was impeccable all the time. After our main course we were offered a birthday cake but the waiter told us that we would be able to take that with us home and another dessert would be prepared for us. The waiter came with a trolley and made us crepe suzette which is one of my favourit desserts so I was very happy. After we had finished that we received another kind of sorbet and ordered coffee and green tea with that we were offered 2 cognacs as digestif.

We were both very happy and will for sure return.

The chef did an amazing job thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for booking a table in our Prime Restaurant! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your dinner at our steakhouse. We always strive to provide the best food quality and service to our guests because we know there are connoisseurs like you who would appreciate what we try to achieve for Dubai. We certainly hope that you will continue to visit us together with your friends and Dubai guests, so they will have the chance to enjoy the same experience, only at The Meydan!

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    58
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
38
93
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel is very nice - large rooms, good gym. If you love horse racing, then rooms have view of the race course. Although the hotel is not very far from city centre (10-15 mins drive), however, there is nothing in the immediate surrounding area. You will need a taxi or car to get into town. Walking is not possible. No shopping complexes / shops within walking distance.

During horse racing season, the hotel is great. rooms have balcony and you can sit in your balcony to enjoy the horse racing, although prices of rooms during this period is absolutely crazy!!

we also had coffee at the lounge on the ground floor... was terrible.. coffee tasted like water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into our coffee service at the Millenium Lounge. We are actually just 8 minutes from the main commercial and business districts of Dubai. Taxis are available 24/7 at the hotel and we provide a complimentary shuttle bus to Dubai Mall and Mall of the Emirates so I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit.

Aside from horse-racing, we also have a lot of other activities, such as playing golf at our Meydan Golf Club, watch a movie at our Meydan IMAX Theatre, also the biggest IMAX screen in the UAE today, or play tennis at our Tennis Academy. If you haven’t visited our Meydan Beach Club, you definitely have to come back as it’s one of the best in town.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have had the best time at the Meydan, as we are still so happy to be here and are enjoying this architectural highlight. The rooms have a good size, such a well thought- through design and absolutely high standards. We sit on the balcony in the morning and especially every night we return from dinner (eventhough it is a bit dark looking at the racecourse in the evening... perhaps a little more light until..let's say midnight?) and sleep incredible well in a very comfortable bed with soft sheets, I bet it is arabian cotton, as everything is made of such a high quality.
I have not watched TV while sitting in our bathtub yet, but could if I want to.
Being very sensitive to useless noise in hotelrooms, I appreciate the quiet nights so much!
We have liked every meal and drink in any of the fine restaurants and bars and the stuff has always been very kind.
There is a complimentary busride to all the near by malls and to a marvelous beachclub.
Yes, it is a huge place and the bad news are, there will be a major construction zone in this area for many years but it will not stop me from returning to such a cool spot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know that even though we seem isolated, guests like you still enjoy the simple peace and quiet. We look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very nice location and the food is always fresh despite the fact it is a buffet.
The variety of desserts is wide and the price is fair. There is the possibility to choose from the buffet just salads or pasta section with different prices, great idea and service is also good the staff know their stuff!!
:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. We invite you to also visit our Prime Steakhouse Restaurant and Shiba Asian Restaurant, which serves Indian, Chinese, Thai and Japanese cuisines. I am sure you would like them as well. Looking forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the Meydan after a day at the World Cup hoping to have a bite to eat, a few drinks and some coffee. What did we get...no food even after being told we could eat at the buffet next door. Then when we came back to Shiba bar to get drinks but no food, we got served incorrect drinks 5 times from a number of staff. One of the team leaders obviously not wanting to make coffee at 11pm (this is dinner time for most Arabs) told us that there was no warm milk. I said no problem and ordered a tea. This arrived twice on two side plates with no teaspoon, sugar, cookies but it did come with arm milk. When this was pointed out to the poor waitress, she returned with a pot of tea. Pointed out again and finally some 45 minutes after ordering, two poor looking milky coffees arrived...not cafe lattes and the staff member agreed. We then had some water issues when not even a glass could be brought for my friend's water. He asked twice for a glass of ice, to which the staff responded by bring another bottle of water, no ice or glass again. When a glass , no ice again was finally brought, my friend pointed out that the second bottle of water had not been requested, the waiter took it away but only after he ad poured some of it into the elusive glass. Last drink order problem was a second bourbon which my husband ordered and it simply never came. We ad asked repeatedly to speak to a manager but no-one dared visit our table. Finally one hour later, a girl arrived and starting asking what we needed. My friend complained but not once did she introduce herself as the manager until we finally asked to speak to someone in charge. She was of little help and seemed to not really now what her team of staff had been doing or not doing as the case was. I will never visit this hotel again and recommend you go to one of Dubai's other fine 5 star hotels than deign to step foot in Meydan. It is shockingly bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I will certainly look into the operations of our Shiba Bar and implement the appropriate corrective action. But as a personal explanation, all our venues and restaurants were previously pre-sold out during Dubai World Cup events but this year, we have decided to open the Shiba Bar for external guests. We hope this particular experience will not prevent you from coming back. Although it was indeed the World’s Richest Horse-Racing Day, I agree that the service should not have been affected no matter how busy the day was going and should not be an excuse. We appreciate your comments and hopefully, you will be back to give us a second chance soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I hostet 8 guests from around the world at a private room at Prime Steak House during a race day and i can't epress how thankful i am for the outstanding performance of the whole team from Prime.
We were warm welcomed by the F&B director and the Restaurant manager with his team.The service team worked decent in the background, but our table was not a second out of their eyes.
I laid the choice of food trustful in the hands of the Executive chef from The Meydan, Guenter Geiger and he created an outstanding 6-course menu for us.It will stay long time in our memories.
Complimented with his exquisite choice of wine and the incomparable view over the Meydan Race Course it was an unforgettable evening.
Thanks to chef Guenter and his team

Juergen Ellenbeck

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very nice feedback. I am sure our Prime Service and Kitchen team will appreciate your kind compliments. Executive Chef Guenter Geiger always strives to make sure that our guests deserve only the best quality of food variety and presentation so you will keep coming back for more. We are glad that you have enjoyed your dinner and look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for a good deal almost half price, on race event nights it must be very expensive but worth it I would imagine as you could watch all the action from your balcony if you didn't fancy joining the crowds in the pen.
Check in and check out was excellent. All staff very helpful. Rooms are huge with 2 large wardrobes and a storage room. Bathroom is excellent huge spa bath with tv. Went to one of the bars and had an excellent curry and drink service. Breakfast was excellent also. Upon waking the jockeys were exercising the horses in the early morning coolness, amazing to see from your balcony in the morning. Pool was also a lovely area quite small but understandable I guess as a rooftop addition.

Would stay again on a race event, around 25 minute taxi ride form airport to hotel and nothing around the immediate area so be prepared to just enjoy the hotel or travel a fair distance into town.

Room Tip: As high floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are actually just 8 minutes away from Dubai’s main business and commercial districts and taxis are available 24/7 to take you anywhere you want to go. The racing season is coming to a close with the Dubai World Cup 2013 event on the 30th of March. It is definitely the most exhilarating event of the season and we hope you will come back to see this spectacular show!

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.