We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever in Dubai. Zero star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst service ever in Dubai. Zero star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the Meydan after a day at the World Cup hoping to have a bite to eat, a few drinks and some coffee. What did we get...no food even after being told we could eat at the buffet next door. Then when we came back to Shiba bar to get drinks but no food, we got served incorrect drinks 5 times from a number of staff. One of the team leaders obviously not wanting to make coffee at 11pm (this is dinner time for most Arabs) told us that there was no warm milk. I said no problem and ordered a tea. This arrived twice on two side plates with no teaspoon, sugar, cookies but it did come with arm milk. When this was pointed out to the poor waitress, she returned with a pot of tea. Pointed out again and finally some 45 minutes after ordering, two poor looking milky coffees arrived...not cafe lattes and the staff member agreed. We then had some water issues when not even a glass could be brought for my friend's water. He asked twice for a glass of ice, to which the staff responded by bring another bottle of water, no ice or glass again. When a glass , no ice again was finally brought, my friend pointed out that the second bottle of water had not been requested, the waiter took it away but only after he ad poured some of it into the elusive glass. Last drink order problem was a second bourbon which my husband ordered and it simply never came. We ad asked repeatedly to speak to a manager but no-one dared visit our table. Finally one hour later, a girl arrived and starting asking what we needed. My friend complained but not once did she introduce herself as the manager until we finally asked to speak to someone in charge. She was of little help and seemed to not really now what her team of staff had been doing or not doing as the case was. I will never visit this hotel again and recommend you go to one of Dubai's other fine 5 star hotels than deign to step foot in Meydan. It is shockingly bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I will certainly look into the operations of our Shiba Bar and implement the appropriate corrective action. But as a personal explanation, all our venues and restaurants were previously pre-sold out during Dubai World Cup events but this year, we have decided to open the Shiba Bar for external guests. We hope this particular experience will not prevent you from coming back. Although it was indeed the World’s Richest Horse-Racing Day, I agree that the service should not have been affected no matter how busy the day was going and should not be an excuse. We appreciate your comments and hopefully, you will be back to give us a second chance soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    72
    30
    12
    17
See reviews for
48
112
14
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I hostet 8 guests from around the world at a private room at Prime Steak House during a race day and i can't epress how thankful i am for the outstanding performance of the whole team from Prime.
We were warm welcomed by the F&B director and the Restaurant manager with his team.The service team worked decent in the background, but our table was not a second out of their eyes.
I laid the choice of food trustful in the hands of the Executive chef from The Meydan, Guenter Geiger and he created an outstanding 6-course menu for us.It will stay long time in our memories.
Complimented with his exquisite choice of wine and the incomparable view over the Meydan Race Course it was an unforgettable evening.
Thanks to chef Guenter and his team

Juergen Ellenbeck

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very nice feedback. I am sure our Prime Service and Kitchen team will appreciate your kind compliments. Executive Chef Guenter Geiger always strives to make sure that our guests deserve only the best quality of food variety and presentation so you will keep coming back for more. We are glad that you have enjoyed your dinner and look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for a good deal almost half price, on race event nights it must be very expensive but worth it I would imagine as you could watch all the action from your balcony if you didn't fancy joining the crowds in the pen.
Check in and check out was excellent. All staff very helpful. Rooms are huge with 2 large wardrobes and a storage room. Bathroom is excellent huge spa bath with tv. Went to one of the bars and had an excellent curry and drink service. Breakfast was excellent also. Upon waking the jockeys were exercising the horses in the early morning coolness, amazing to see from your balcony in the morning. Pool was also a lovely area quite small but understandable I guess as a rooftop addition.

Would stay again on a race event, around 25 minute taxi ride form airport to hotel and nothing around the immediate area so be prepared to just enjoy the hotel or travel a fair distance into town.

Room Tip: As high floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are actually just 8 minutes away from Dubai’s main business and commercial districts and taxis are available 24/7 to take you anywhere you want to go. The racing season is coming to a close with the Dubai World Cup 2013 event on the 30th of March. It is definitely the most exhilarating event of the season and we hope you will come back to see this spectacular show!

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked the hotel through booking.com getting it half price at just under £100 per night. It definitely would have been worth the full price.

The staff are very attentive and everywhere is spotless, like most of Dubai, the concierge was very good booking me a city tour and a desert safari which were both excellent and everybody is always happy to help. The rooms are very large, with a large bath with tv and very large bedrooms. Everything is modern and button operated including 10 different light settings and the curtains. There's also a balcony that looks over the race course. It is slightly out of town but there's a free shuttle to the Dubai mall and mall of the emirates which only takes 15 minutes and no where by taxi costs more than £10-15.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to your return to The Meydan Hotel on your next trip to Dubai. Our staff would be delighted to hear of your kind compliments.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Prime Steak restaurant. It's sumptuous chairs greet you, it's lavish decor makes you feel like royalty. The regal steak was preceded by unusually high quality bread, the duck pâté was stunning, the choice of wine was to be admired, oh the steak......it could have been cut with a spoon, my medium rare filet was cooked to perfection. The staff were attentive, not over bearing, they were knowledgable and anticipated your every need. Simply a must, but expensive....but what the hell you are worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our Prime Restaurant is headed by Chef Mohannad Al Bkeirat and Restaurant Manager, Ms. Middja Danielsson. They, together with their respective teams, were all delighted to know of your very nice compliments. We, at The Meydan Hotel, strive our best to provide all our guests with only the best 5-Star food and service quality. We are glad that you enjoyed every bit of your dining experience.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Region
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my second visit to the Meydan Hotel and this year i was floor eight rather than the second floor. The views over the racecourse are even more spectacular.
There are in my opinion faults creeping in. There was a smell of damp in my room and judging by the staining on the bathroom door i suspect there must have been some flooding in there recently - the stains reached about 10cm up the door. The decor is becoming slightly worn and some of the fittings were becoming lose.
Strangely the infinity pool on the roof was not what it says on the tin - the pool was not as full of water as it could have been but it was as warm as a bath.
I travelled with several colleagues and we were told that the hotel was fully booked. it did not ever give that impression though.
I did try to have breakfast on the terrace one morning but i was told that i would have to eat indoors which was disappointing.
This is a great hotel but the luxury element is being tarnished by minor faults.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a better view of the racetrack
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. In order to rectify the issues which you raised with regards to your room conditions, we would appreciate if you can send us the details of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your meal at the terrace but it was just probably a suggestion which was offered due to the weather conditions and our guests’ safety is always our main concern. Nevertheless, we always strive to fulfill any request from our guests as long as they apply to the law of the land and are compliant with our health and safety policies.

We hope this experience will not prevent you from coming back as we have lots of exciting things to do at the Meydan, from playing golf at our Meydan Golf Club, watching a movie at our Meydan IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia today, watching your favorite sports at our Qube Bar, or just relaxing at our Meydan Beach Club facility and many more.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Attractive hotel as a whole.
But definately room for improvement for housekeeping... On one night of my stay, i had the old pillow case in the room on the bed left uncleared. not what you expect from such a nice hotel.
If you realised, there is no clock in the room, leaving you unsure of the time.
staff at the recep wasn't really friendly when i asked for a late check-out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and observations. In this age of mobile phones and digital devices, we did not think a clock in the room will be missed. We do have the time displayed on our DVD players though and on the TV screen when it is switched on but we appreciate your comments and we will review this in the future. We would like to assure you that we do not tolerate unfriendly behavior and hoping that you informed the Manager-on-duty at the time of occurrence but as a result of your feedback, we will remind all our reception staff on our customer service standards again.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.