We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 477 hotels in Dubai
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for a good deal almost half price, on race event nights it must be very expensive but worth it I would imagine as you could watch all the action from your balcony if you didn't fancy joining the crowds in the pen.
Check in and check out was excellent. All staff very helpful. Rooms are huge with 2 large wardrobes and a storage room. Bathroom is excellent huge spa bath with tv. Went to one of the bars and had an excellent curry and drink service. Breakfast was excellent also. Upon waking the jockeys were exercising the horses in the early morning coolness, amazing to see from your balcony in the morning. Pool was also a lovely area quite small but understandable I guess as a rooftop addition.

Would stay again on a race event, around 25 minute taxi ride form airport to hotel and nothing around the immediate area so be prepared to just enjoy the hotel or travel a fair distance into town.

Room Tip: As high floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are actually just 8 minutes away from Dubai’s main business and commercial districts and taxis are available 24/7 to take you anywhere you want to go. The racing season is coming to a close with the Dubai World Cup 2013 event on the 30th of March. It is definitely the most exhilarating event of the season and we hope you will come back to see this spectacular show!

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    60
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
99
12
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked the hotel through booking.com getting it half price at just under £100 per night. It definitely would have been worth the full price.

The staff are very attentive and everywhere is spotless, like most of Dubai, the concierge was very good booking me a city tour and a desert safari which were both excellent and everybody is always happy to help. The rooms are very large, with a large bath with tv and very large bedrooms. Everything is modern and button operated including 10 different light settings and the curtains. There's also a balcony that looks over the race course. It is slightly out of town but there's a free shuttle to the Dubai mall and mall of the emirates which only takes 15 minutes and no where by taxi costs more than £10-15.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to your return to The Meydan Hotel on your next trip to Dubai. Our staff would be delighted to hear of your kind compliments.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Prime Steak restaurant. It's sumptuous chairs greet you, it's lavish decor makes you feel like royalty. The regal steak was preceded by unusually high quality bread, the duck pâté was stunning, the choice of wine was to be admired, oh the steak......it could have been cut with a spoon, my medium rare filet was cooked to perfection. The staff were attentive, not over bearing, they were knowledgable and anticipated your every need. Simply a must, but expensive....but what the hell you are worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our Prime Restaurant is headed by Chef Mohannad Al Bkeirat and Restaurant Manager, Ms. Middja Danielsson. They, together with their respective teams, were all delighted to know of your very nice compliments. We, at The Meydan Hotel, strive our best to provide all our guests with only the best 5-Star food and service quality. We are glad that you enjoyed every bit of your dining experience.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Region
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my second visit to the Meydan Hotel and this year i was floor eight rather than the second floor. The views over the racecourse are even more spectacular.
There are in my opinion faults creeping in. There was a smell of damp in my room and judging by the staining on the bathroom door i suspect there must have been some flooding in there recently - the stains reached about 10cm up the door. The decor is becoming slightly worn and some of the fittings were becoming lose.
Strangely the infinity pool on the roof was not what it says on the tin - the pool was not as full of water as it could have been but it was as warm as a bath.
I travelled with several colleagues and we were told that the hotel was fully booked. it did not ever give that impression though.
I did try to have breakfast on the terrace one morning but i was told that i would have to eat indoors which was disappointing.
This is a great hotel but the luxury element is being tarnished by minor faults.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a better view of the racetrack
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. In order to rectify the issues which you raised with regards to your room conditions, we would appreciate if you can send us the details of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your meal at the terrace but it was just probably a suggestion which was offered due to the weather conditions and our guests’ safety is always our main concern. Nevertheless, we always strive to fulfill any request from our guests as long as they apply to the law of the land and are compliant with our health and safety policies.

We hope this experience will not prevent you from coming back as we have lots of exciting things to do at the Meydan, from playing golf at our Meydan Golf Club, watching a movie at our Meydan IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia today, watching your favorite sports at our Qube Bar, or just relaxing at our Meydan Beach Club facility and many more.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Attractive hotel as a whole.
But definately room for improvement for housekeeping... On one night of my stay, i had the old pillow case in the room on the bed left uncleared. not what you expect from such a nice hotel.
If you realised, there is no clock in the room, leaving you unsure of the time.
staff at the recep wasn't really friendly when i asked for a late check-out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and observations. In this age of mobile phones and digital devices, we did not think a clock in the room will be missed. We do have the time displayed on our DVD players though and on the TV screen when it is switched on but we appreciate your comments and we will review this in the future. We would like to assure you that we do not tolerate unfriendly behavior and hoping that you informed the Manager-on-duty at the time of occurrence but as a result of your feedback, we will remind all our reception staff on our customer service standards again.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for my huband's 60th birthday and I couldn't have chosen better.He was in seventh heaven from the minute we arrived.We had a beatiful ,large and luxurious room overlooking the racecourse,and 2 t.vs with all his racing channels.I am not a fan of racing ,but enjoyed the luxury of the hotel.
Although the hotel is out of central Dubai the shuttle service is excellent and taxis are very cheap.We used the shuttle to the Mall and the Meydan beach Club.The beach club was the highlight of my holiday.Perfect service and facilities,and if you stay at the hotel you only pay for any extras such as drinks and food.
Inconclusion I would definately stay here again,and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates good service with a genuine smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your celebration with us. We hope that on your next stay, you can also visit our other facilities like the Meydan IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia today, our Meydan Golf Club, The Track, (9- and 18-hole course available) and Qube Sports Bar plus many more.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The competition amongst hotels in Dubai is quite hot, so when a hotel doesn't make the grade, it shows. The Meydan is a good hotel under 2 circumstances: If you are there for the horse racing or If you are there for a conference. If you find yourself in neither of these 2 situations, stay somewhere else. It's distance from the city center is problematic if you want to do a lot of sight seeing as you will spend a lot of time and money on cabs to and from. Same goes if you'd like to experience a variety of restaurants in Dubai, as this hotel, for its size, has very few dining options. The "spa" is more there in theory and the pool is tiny compared to the other hotels in the area, with practically no pool side seating considering the size of the hotel. I tried to lay out 3 days in a row and only found a comfortable seat once without waiting for someone else to leave. I did have 2 spa treatments, which were done in my own room, as they didn't seem to have an actual "spa area" in the hotel. I will say the treatments were very nice, thou very expensive for having been done laying on towel in my own bed. I also felt that that room service menu was very limited, possibly a reflection of the lack of restaurants within the hotel itself. The rooms are big, and done to a very high speck and the views of the racecourse are wonderful, but as I said, if you are not there for the racing or a conference - I would suggest staying elsewhere in Dubai as the city has so many other options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are actually just 8 minutes away from the commercial and business districts of Sheikh Zayed Road and provide taxi service 24/7. We also have a complimentary shuttle bus to the Mall of the Emirates and Dubai Mall so if our guest wants to go for a lot of sight-seeing, they can always hop on to the Dubai Metro Train line. If you haven’t dined at our Shiba Asian Restaurant, we actually serve cuisines from India, China, Thailand and Japanese so we have variety of dining options on our menu. We agree with your pool comment and are actually working on adding more sun beds in our pool area and hopefully upon your next visit, we should have enough. Our hotel also caters to visitors from all walks of life, not only to those attending conferences or horse aficionados alike as we have lots of exciting and interesting activities to do at the Meydan, from watching movies in our IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia, to our various Sports & Leisure activities such as the shooting simulator, blokart sailing, bicycle rides, martial arts sessions, a 9- and 18-hole Golf Course at The Track, The Qube Sports Bar, our Tennis Academy, Horse Stable Tours, and the Meydan Beach Club facility. We are glad you enjoyed our treatments and an actual spa is still in the works for the future.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 477 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.