We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Attractive hotel, stay completely ruined by their addiction to piping music into the public areas and corridors. This means that there is a low level yet audible soundtrack wherever you go in this hotel. Imagine sleeping next to someone with an ipod permanently playing - thats how irritating it is.

Secondly - 5 pieces of equipment in my room either glowed or flashed with no means to turn them off.

So like i said, if you want a really good sleep... dont bother.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a relaxing stay with us. Based on your feedback we have looked into our timings of piped music and adjusted it accordingly to assure the night sleep of our valued guests is not been perceived as disturbance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    59
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
39
95
12
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

our bedroom was superb with views over the racecourse. the bathroom was stunning with huge corner bath walk in shower tv . walk in cupbourd for lugguge. however coffee maker didn work. although a very impressive hotel we found it ratgeher souless with little atmosphere. the main dining room was nothing special and the food average. drinks were very expensive. we didnt get to use the swimming pool as it was raining while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will try to work on improving these areas and as a result of your comments, we are now working on a coffee machine instruction card. It is unfortunate that you did not get to do a lot of things due to the weather but our hotel has a wide variety of activities available, starting from our infinity swimming pool where the view is fantastic, our Meydan Golf Club, Meydan IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia today and many more. We hope you will be back to enjoy these next time.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fabulous hotel. We checked in at 2 am to smiling faces at reception, smooth quick check in with just enough information at that time in the morning. Room was very luxurious with all the amenties you could want, coffee machine free bottled water, lovely toiletries and everything on remote controls, lights, curtains and even the toilet.
Breakfast was included in the price we paid and was extensive, lots of choice. Sitting on the terrace, in the morning sun, eating breakfast, over looking the perfectly manicured race course was something else.
We used the free shuttles each evening to go to the Malls, don’t miss the fountains at the Dubai Mall, and then got Taxis back costing about 30 dirhams, GBP 6.
We used the roof top pool and only once found the small number of sunbeds a problem, 4 beds were reserved when we arrived at 10 am and the lifeguard moved the towels when they did not return at 12 . due to the relatively small number of beds reserving them should not be allowed.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in a top class hotel, staff were courteous and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your suggestions on our pool operations and we will review them in order to improve our service. Thank you for your nice compliments of our hotel. We always strive to deliver the best 5-Star Service in the UAE. We hope you will return again to experience the world’s richest race day, the Dubai World Cup, on the 30th of March.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Elegant, huge and simple with beautiful design. It has all facilities yo needs and special services that provided. Enjoy the roof top swimming pool and balcony sites directly viewing the horse fields raise. You can get reserved during high discounts and enjoy Dubai vacationing.

Room Tip: Best during events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We try our best to constantly provide a variation of products and services to all our guests and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Located within the Meydan Racecourse, the rooms in this ultra modern hotel all have balconies with sweeping panoramic views across the course. Whether you are there for the races, or on holiday, the tranquility and open views of lush green grass make you feel as if you're in the country, rather than just a short 10 minute taxi hop from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dubai.

The rooms are spacious, light and well appointed but prepare yourself for a bit of a walk if they locate you in one of the more distant rooms. Bring your trainers (sneakers) as I believe the Meydan holds the record for the longest single span hotel in the world. Another Dubai first.

The service and hospitality from the minute we checked in to the minute we left was faultless. Unfortunately, I was struck down with a virus during my stay (nothing to do with the hotel I should hasten to add) but I could not have asked for better attention, or concern. The Paramedics and Hotel Management, especially Mr Nirmal, were truly fantastic.

Our only criticisms are that the place is a bit soulless, especially in the restaurants in the evenings, which for most of our stay were empty. The other downside is that the relaxing area around the roof top pool is very small for a hotel of this size and there are far too few loungers, even though there was additional space on the raised decking to accommodate them.

This review is based upon 5 nights accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views over the racecourse but if you don't fancy a lengthy walk ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice feedback. We are happy to know from your email dated 17th of February that you are on your way to recovery. I have already shared your comments with our team and I am sure that this made their day. We truly appreciate it and hope you will be back next month for the Dubai World Cup on the 30th of March.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were only here for 1 night but it was exceptional. The room had all the mod cons and some more! A TV in the bathroom, remote control blind in the bathroom, amazing views over the racecourse. The best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Dubai.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very diiferent 5* hotel as it is situated on a magnificent racecourse and all rooms have a view and a nice balcony. Because it is built around the track and adjoins the air conditioned grandstand there is a wide open feeling which is enhanced by the big lobby which extends to the terraces.Very unlike most Dubai hotels. Really its like a big park with all the green racetrack - beautiful soft grass which we felt as it looked like astro turf from the room but most definitely isn't. Service is excellent with usual mixture of staff including Kenyan, Romanian and Burma.

Buffet breakfast on the outside terrace was very nice and our meal at Shiba was great as you could choose an Indian, Thai, Chinese or Japanese plate and mix it up. A light lunch by the rooftop swimming pool really impressed my visitor.
Unfortunately we had some noisy neighbours who started playing very loud Arabic music at 3.00am two mornings in a row. We phoned security who managed to quieten them. This certainly does not reflect on the hotel. When we left reception knew of our problem and really apologised and gave us a complimentary ride in their Range Rover to the airport- a very nice touch.
If you want an excellent hotel with a spacious feeling try it.

Room Tip: all rooms get a good green view over racetrack so no problems anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very nice feedback. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know your stay experience and hope that you will always bring your visitors to our hotel to complete their Dubai experience.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.