We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Technical issue ruind what it should have been great stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Technical issue ruind what it should have been great stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything was great as other reviews mentioned. My problem was an hour before check out... There was no cold water in the bathroom... Imagine showering for your long haul flight in extremly hot pipping water with bath gel all over you and you wish you don't have a hotel room a instead. The hotel is given an hour to solve the problem but no solution was offered.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear of this technical issue. As a result of your feedback, we have reminded our staff to always offer an alternative solution should they face the same kind of situation again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay experience.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    59
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
39
95
12
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We drove here from Muscat, and found the hotel fairly easily; once you're near to Dubai it’s extremely well signposted on the highways. It's on the outskirts of the city, around 5 minute’s drive from the Dubai Mall.
We arrived with our two children and the complimentary valet parking was an absolute dream. We were able to pull up outside, and had assistance taking the children out of the car and for all of the baggage to be retrieved. The check in was smooth, polite and efficient.

We took the standard room (Grand Deluxe Balcony with King Sized Bed) which surprisingly was more than sufficient for the four of us. Within ten minutes of arriving they setup a small single bed which easily accommodated our 5 and 2 year old together. The room was perfect in size, with a large bathroom (with a wonderful sized bath in addition to a shower room), a large lounge area, a separate large, yet discrete, cupboard for the two suitcases and a great balcony.

With four of us, we didn't feel cramped in the room at all, and were easily able to sit outside on the balcony with a glass of wine in the evenings without disturbing the children asleep or relax in the large bathtub together.

The balcony was safe for our young children, it was high enough to prevent them climbing over it. It was also an ideal place for them to eat breakfast in the mornings whilst watching the great view over the racecourse. The minibar in our room was empty, so used to it for our own milk and other items.
The coffee facilities in the room were great, with espresso and tea sachets. These were replenished daily, as was the fruit.
The Elemis toiletries weren't enough for us, but with a phone call to housekeeping they came with a bag full to keep us going.

They have two pools on the rooftop, the first is the infinity pool with the bar, and the second is a children’s pool (0.5m deep) which also had a play park next to it. Around both pools there are sun beds, and whilst around the main pool they were all occupied by 10am, there 4 vacant ones by the children’s pool. The children’s pool has a lifeguard permanently on duties (who were excellent with the kids) and towels were supplied. Free bottled water was available from the bar, as well as plenty of other beverages for sale.

We used the room service once, for a bottle of wine (starting at 180AED for a bottle of South African white), some California Maki and 'Giant Cookies and Milk' for the children. They brought up to the room some small biscuits instead of cookies, and when I asked them about it they apologised that they'd run out of cookies and brought us some more biscuits.

Our room on the 8th floor was cleaned at around 11am daily, and then a turndown service was offered at about 9:30pm (which was a bit late for us so we declined).

The modern room facilities were also impressive such as the electric curtains, modern lighting controls and the electronic toilet in lieu of a bidet.

All of the staff we came across were incredibly friendly and helpful. The complimentary valet service made our life a lot easier with the children, it was just so convenient to have the car ready with the air con and people to help us put the kids in whenever we went out, and then to meet us to help them out of the car seats and our bags when we returned from a day out.

Despite us clearly being less wealthy then the many Lamborghini and Ferrari owning clientele who arrived and having paid only 450AED Inc. taxes per night for the room, we felt incredibly well treated and respected at all times.

I'm sure we will be returning again next month for a long weekend, since its only 4 hours’ drive from Muscat.

If you are with children, and looking for somewhere nice to stay, I'd definitely recommend it. Without a car, they do have vehicles available all the time, but it is a little remote.

Room Tip: With children, the additional single bed is absolutely fine for two toddlers. (My 2 and 5 year old w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your amazing and constructive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree that 9:30pm is a bit late for a turn down service. Perhaps, the hotel was just so busy that day but of course, this is not an excuse, so we will look into this to make sure that it does not happen too late in the day. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and looking forward to your family’s return sometime again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

An excellent hotel about 10 mins from Downtown but not a problem as you appreciate the peace and quiet. When you arrive this place is simply HUGE, a very welcome arrival from the porters, a very GRAND lobby, shiny and new with glass lifts, service is excellent, food is vast as there are several restaurants and bars, rooms are simply stunning, huge beds, incredible shower with hot tub, plenty of pace, and a balcony over-looking the race course so a great view. Breakfast on the terrace is great, choice is stunning and they can cook fresh omelettes/pancakes on request. Then there is the 11th floor pool and bar! Good times and a gym/spa too...... This hotel is very good and thoroughly recommended. In addition they have the IMAX next door where I saw Skyfall! Everyone I met at this hotel had a good experience and I will be coming back in the future........

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms......HUGE beds and lots of space....you will not be disappointed.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear of your nice compliments. We hope you will return again soon as the racing season has started. Aside from our new IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia, we would also like to inform you of the other activities that you can enjoy on your next stay: Sports & Leisure activities such as the shooting simulator, blokart sailing, bicycle rides, martial arts, a Golf Course at The Track, The Qube Sports Bar, our Tennis Academy and the Meydan Beach Club.

Yours sincerely,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Although we stayed there while there were no horse racing taking place, the hotel is a stunning feat in the middle of the desert! The advanced features in the rooms are like no other I've encountered, and I travel all over the world. The bathroom is high tech with multi-jet shower and an electronic toilet with hot and cold water spray, air dryer, and a number of other heavely features :) The decor is chic and modern, and everything is there for you including a fully equipped desk, plenty of storage, lovely balconies overlooking the race course.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and enjoyed our high-tech facilities. We appreciate your kind compliments of our hotel and we wish to welcome you back again now that the racing season is on.

Yours sincerely,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a 4 days off site meeting here. The first look was truly amazing with a hotel as long as it is and with the adjoining racecourse which happens to be the host to Dubai World cup which probably has the highest prize money in the world.
The grandeur clearly brings the element of luxury without much effort. If you are from the subcontinent, you also are star stuck as you keep bumping into celebrities at every step.
The view from the room is clearly amazing with balcony opening to the green carpet of the racecourse. The room itself is a benchmark for luxury with great bathroom fittings and wardrobes concealed seamlessly into the walls.
The conference halls were great. Sporting amenities were great as well and we had fabulous time.
I am sure the hotel is a good get away or staycation destination as well for people in Dubai as it allows you to get lost in its size without necessarily going too far away from Dubai. I am told the hotel usually is far from full occupation other than during the race time.
This was a good choice for the off site. I am sure this is a great choice for business trip if i am expecting to host a lot of guests. I am not sure though if i will prefer it if i am on a business trip alone and i need to visit offices. This is way too relaxed for that kind of a trip.
That apart, this clearly is the next level of luxury. An amazing experience. Special mention to the staff and management which clearly is used to pampering high profile guests and extend the same level of service to each of its guests or so i believe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you liked our hotel structure and design. We appreciate your kind compliments, as well, of our service. We strive to offer only the best, the luxurious and everything grandeur so we hope you will come back and enjoy the world’s richest race day in the world, the Dubai World Cup, on the 30th of March 2013.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay during November.
Here are my thoughts and comments, prior to our stay I read through the reports on TA, now I will add ours.
We have stayed in many hotels in Dubai now, and I'm a Madinat fan through & through, but we had booked this hotel due to the room being cheaper than most and being a 5* - Please don't expect Madinat touches.
On arrival there is no glamour to the approach, after a long over night flight, granted you are not feeling your best, however no nice greeting on arrival, no offer of a drink or a welcome, we was greeted "when did you book, you are not on the system ! Prior to our stay we had emailed and FB messaged them.
Anyway on the plus side our room was ready, here is your key, we wasn't shown to the room, we just found our own way, I had to call reception to chase up luggage.
We made our way to the pool are, ready for a drink at this point, we found a bed and asked for a drink.. Drink the waiter replied?? Yes please a drink he sounded surprised - Pool service was very poor, you could never find a waiter, we needed to ask a Pool Boy, these guys were great. Sun beds very comfy and nice towels, and free bottled water is served, sometimes fruit and ice pops.
Not many sun beds at all around the pool, 20 I would say if that.
Now the pool urrmm - This should be an infinity pool - however it didn't seem to flowing at all, in fact the water didn't seem filtered, always like a film lying across the water.
Room service ... the rooms are never cleaned until around 5 - 6 pm just when we were getting ready to go out.
The rooms are nice & spacious, and clean - I did call and ask for more hangers when we arrived as there was only 4 in the wardrobe, I was told sorry Ma'am we have no more hangers, I vented my concern and some hangers eventually arrived.
Bars & restaurants this is where is does get better.. Prime is a great restaurant - high end and looks over onto the race course.
Shiba Bar loved this bar & also Shiba restaurant - Asian cuisine - very nice
Millennium Lounge - Ok - Service very poor.
Farriers for breakfast - I didn't rate this at all, some mornings tables were left dirty and you couldn't get a table.
We asked about visiting the horse racing, only to be told it wasn't on... Wrong ! We had a friend working in the bar who we knew from a previous hotel, thankfully he managed to get this sorted for us to visit the horse racing .. great night.

So on the whole we had a great time - we booked this hotel on price - would we return yes we would if we could pick up a good deal again.
But not to be compared to other Dubai 5* hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing with us your feedback.

First of all, we would like to apologize if we have failed to provide you with our usual high level of service standards and have taken note of all your comments. I will discuss these with the Heads of Department concerned and will make sure that they will all be rectified. It is truly disappointing on our part for not being able to provide you of what you’ve come to expect from a 5-star hotel but we assure you that on your next visit, we hope that you will notice the difference.

Once again, our apologies and thank you for deciding to come back to the hotel despite our shortcomings.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for a conference held in "The Bubble" a large conference suite in the adjoining building.
Hotel is very luxurious, although you may find a long walk between reception and your room as it stretches out a long way!
Don't expect your room to be serviced in the morning, it was always late afternoon, but when it was everything was fine.
Front desk took their time on check-out, only a couple on the desk and they seemed to be busy scanning passports for a tour group!
Food throughout the stay was excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the late servicing of your room and the delay in your check out. We will try to make sure that we deliver the highest level of service to each and every guest, as well as, to our tour groups. We are glad you enjoyed our food quality during your stay and we hope you will come back for the most exhilarating horse-race event in the UAE.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.