We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 479 Hotels in Dubai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked to stay on the 8th November 2012, first race of the season. At a fairly hefty £400 for the night ( special race day package). But, it apparently included, meal for two on race night at farriers restaurant, all day access and transport to Meydan beach club (normally £100 each !) tickets to the Imax at Meydan and a few other things to boot. So all in all seemed a fairly good deal.

Rang the hotel two days before to clarify a few things, check in time etc. Took 8!!!! phone calls and 20 mins on hold to be put through to correct dept. Was then informed that the normal 24 hour check in at the hotel i.e check in at 9am check out at 9am following day, does not apply on race days, as the hotel is " very busy". YOU DON'T SAY!!!!! on enquiring as how one could possibly check in, be transported to Meydan beach club, enjoy the facilities (dark at 530pm), return to the hotel, take in an Imax film, then the meal at farriers, oh and then the races that start at 8pm, or even a combination of what is offered, they paused and put the phone down!!!

Unbelievable. If I could rate it lower I would,and much lower, and I never even got to stay there, and never ever will. I'm sure on a non race day it must be very nice and slightly less busy, as it would occupying a prominent position, on a race track, that they own, avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We apologize for the manner in which your phone call to the hotel was handled before your check in and for the delay in our response here in TripAdvisor. There is absolutely no excuse for these and as a result of your feedback, I have asked our Training Manager to do a refresher course on, “Basic Telephone Call Handling”, for all our staff. There are indeed a lot of fun and exciting things to do at the Meydan and we will make sure that at the time of any booking, we will inform all of the benefits of the special race day package at the time of its purchase. We hope that this particular incident will not prevent you from coming back and giving us a second chance by enjoying the world’s richest race day on the 30th of March 2012 so we here’s hoping we will see you back at the Meydan soon.

Sincerely yours,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    65
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
43
104
13
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, the room too, but the negative thing is that is in the middle of nowhere. The staff is very kind and the breakfast is good. I was in the rooftop swimming pool, not enough bed, but the staff is very kind.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments on our accommodations, staff and breakfast here at TripAdvisor. Contrary to a lot of comments that we receive on our location, we are actually only 8 minutes away from Sheikh Zayed Road, 10 minutes to the beach, 15 minutes to Dubai Mall and Mall of the Emirates. We are pleased to inform you that we have already planned on purchasing more sun beds at the beginning of the year so hopefully, on your next visit, we will have enough for all our guests.

Sincerely,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed before at this hotel last year, was special because there was a horse race in the meydan track, so sitting in balcony and watching the race was real special. The arcetecture and design of the hotel is out of this world. So I took my family this time looking for an exceptional experience. We were disappointed, there was no activity at the horse race, the track was dark an deserted, and our panoramic suite was meaningless! The rooms are nice though the staff are not as helpful as in most other luxury hotels in Dubai. To give an example, i called the reception to ask for some one to pick up my language, no one ever came, I had to carry 4 suitcases down without help. To sum up, this hotel has no soul!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel design and architecture. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations with regards to our staff’s service and for having to carry your luggage to your room. There is absolutely no excuse for this and we assure you that this was an unusual occurrence as we aim to ensure that we provide luggage service at all times. Nevertheless, we have obviously failed to inform you of our hotel’s exciting activities and for your next visit, you must definitely try and book activities at our following venues and offerings such as the Target Shooting Simulators, Meydan Golf Course (The Track), Meydan IMAX (the biggest Imax screen in the UAE), Sports Bar (The Qube)---complete with darts and pool tables, Tennis Academy (with multi-purpose court), infinity swimming pools, blokarts, yoga sessions, special massage treatments (couple massages available too), Aikido lessons, bicycle rides, jogging courses, and many more. We are also starting our stable tours on Sunday, the 11th, and our first horse-race is on Thursday, the 8th of November so we hope you would come back to experience the most exciting hotel destination in Dubai today.

Sincerely,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

In August, which happened to be Ramadan, me and my wife decided to have buffet Iftar (breakfast at sunset) after a long, hot day of fasting. We arrived at the hotel half an hour early, valet parking was quick, and the staff at the reception invited us for a hotel tour. We explored every bit of the hotel, rooms, restaurants, spa, activities, etc and we even discussed the future plans of the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and modern and horse racing fans would certainly enjoy the stay.

When time came for buffet, we experienced service that I doubt any hotel around the world could offer. It is important to note that I was going through the early stages of a flu. I made this clear to the chef and kitchen staff in order to avoid cold drinks.

The chef recommended food to me that could boost my immune system which was already in the buffet. Then, the chef dissappeared for a few moment and came back with a special warm drink (milk, dates, spices, etc) and offered it to us for free.

The buffet is best described as something for everyone with a variety of local and international dishes and desserts. We felt at home dining on perfectly prepared and presented food.

Once we finished dining, we were approached by a doctor from the Hotel who did what you could expect from a clinic or hospital (measuring blood pressure, temperature, etc). He provided medical advice and gave me medicine to take with me (for free!!!!).

Would I go back? Of course!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in October and was impressed with the exterior and the lobby. Service leaves a lot to be desired at the front desk as you just have to hoover over the 6 staff members present whilst only one other couple were checking in - not a great start I thought.
On arrival to the room I was impressed with the cleanliness and quickly turned off the AC - yes its set very low.
The first nights sleep we were woken around 3 am by one of the guests having a party with every few minutes knocking on their door and the deafening music became even louder then one of their 'friends' thought it funny to shout housekeeping up and down the corridor. I called reception who sent somebody up and within ten minutes the music had finished. (Night 1 disturbed sleep).
The next morning breakfast had a good mix and was of a good quality with tables in and outdoor. We visited the pool which only has around 12 loungers and an area where lounge cushions are placed - get there early if you want a lounger. On our second morning there were more towels on the loungers without actual guests! You wait an awful long time for the drink service at the pool bar so order before you are thirsty!
We found the pool water to be very dirty and grimy with birds dipping in to eat the bugs not what i expect from a 5* hotel at all.
We returned to our room at 3 pm to find the room not cleaned even though the sign was lit up from 11am to clean the room, we called when we were leaving at 5 pm and returned to a half effort with no amenity top ups, toilet rolls stocked etc.
The second night we were again woken up at around 4.30 am by women screaming in the corridor this time my husband went to investigate and it was two 18/19 year old's having a catfight. After saying a few Arabic words they apologised and shut up.
On check out we were not thanked for the visit or asked if we enjoyed our stay. Overall I think the service was very poor from the front desk and simply can't recommend the hotel for a relaxing weekend break as we were woken on both nights. It is a shame as the hotel looks beautiful and has great views.

The hotel has valet parking but can take a while to retrieve your car so bear this in mind.

Room Tip: All rooms race the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went here for breakfast & looking at the possibility of staying for a few days. Bkfast mgr was not very welcoming, although his staff particularly Jiseef (?) was great. Asked to look at a room, was asked to sit down whilst he could arrange this, after 15 minutes went back to the desk to then be told all rooms are booked and could not see one. How long could I have waited there before they finally decided to come over and inform me? Needless to say will not be coming back here. They need to sort out their staff as the hotel itself is good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 479 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.