We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days and still no remote!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Eastern Region
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“5 days and still no remote!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Yes this hotel could be considered out of town but what a setting - all rooms overlook the racecourse and there is no better sight in the morning than opening your curtains and seeing horses being galloped past your balcony.
pool good - fantasic views and attentive staff
resturants and bars good, prices in line with rest of city
only issues i had were that no bathrobe was provided and when i rang housekeeping they brought a small not a large and did not replace it. Also i pointed out that the TV & sound system did not work as the remote control was missing and no one bothered to come an replace it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    58
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
38
93
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel looks spectacular, no question about that. Everything is high tech and new. The room is very spacious. When we got there they gave us a king bed in the 6th floor, I then went and spoke to them and they gave us a room in floor 8 with two double beds. They are very quick in room service. The food price is not expensive and delicious. It's a Beatiful hotel with only a few disadvantages to some people like its location. It was no problem to us as the hotel supplied very flexible shuttles everywhere, so that was great. Up in the pool they kept on giving us ice reams free of charge and Arabic Coffe and hot wet towels In the lobby which was great. Highly recommend and will 100% go there again. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The reason for travelling to Dubai this time (I am a regular visitor) was business and the reservation was arranged through the company. The hotel is remotely located outside the city, in the middle of the desert,10 min drive from Dubai Mall and 25 min drive from Mall of Emirates.

The hotel its self is huge and impressive. It is designed to overlook the Dubai Horse Race Course, so most probably you will have the opportunity to enjoy a race from your terrace. All rooms are very specious, the bed and the bathroom really big, the linens fine. Service is an issue: twice during my stay I ended up to my room at 17:00 exhausted from full day meetings and the housekeeping had not bother to pass and tide the room! I even realized that some dirty towels lying on the floor were put back in place without been changed. This is unacceptable in general, not to mention that this is a 5 star hotel. In addition some offered services offered like SPA and Hair Salon were not working.

Even if I consider that all the above happened accidentally to me, I would discourage you to stay at this hotel because of its location. It is the worst you can find in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

If, like me, you love your racing. then this is close to paradise. From about 5.30 every morning to around 9.30 there were various strings of race horses working out on the track, and we were lucky enough to be there during a week when there was racing on 2 days. It was easy to follow the racing from our balcony, particular as the hotel TV carries Dubai Racing channel so you can catch up on racecourse gossip on the tv and then pop onto the balcony for the race.
We got a really good deal from e-bookers (40% off for a 6 night stay), which meant the panoramic suite we booked was actually cheaper than most regular hotel rooms in similar hotel grades down town. The suite was really spacious, with a generous plate of fresh fruit served to our room every day. There was loads of storage space for clothes - something I often find an issue on holiday. Having said that, the furnishings were beginning to show signs of wear and tear - the cupboard under the sink came off its hinges, if you opened it. Also the beautiful rainfall shower flooded our bathroom every time we used it as the door sealant was not particularly effective. This was actually quite dangerous - I went whizzing across the marble floor twice on pools of water I hadn't spotted. We did advise the hotel and they sent a maintenance man straight away - but it didn't seem to make any difference.
As for the rest of the hotel - we loved the hotel lounge and terrace - excellent service (except on one of 6 nights) and the food is superb. The pasta bar was also terrific - it's outside on the 8th floor and gives a really pretty view at night.
The hotel is a reasonable distance from downtown Dubai, but it didn't really bother us. We never found it hard to get a taxi and they were very cheap (UAE Dhm 25- 30 each way) for a half hour journey to the creek - less to some of the other spots.
Whilst food and general service at the hotel was excellent, housekeeping really let it down. On the first two days our room had not been cleaned by 3pm, even though we generally put the "make up room" sign on from about 8am each day. In the end we took to phoning housekeeping when we wanted the room cleaned - and then they would come straight away!
Also we wanted to have an extra wine glass for the room on one occasion (they had only given us one in the room) and they did not answer the phone. When we asked at reception they couldn't make contact with housekeeping either and they would not give us a glass from the bar - we never did get the second glass, even the next day!
The pool is another area worthy of consideration before you come. It is far too small for the number of guests. As we are early risers, we generally had no problem getting a sunbed but saw lots of people being turned away during the day. You could consider the free transit to use the Atlantis beach at The Palm, but it is a half hour drive, only one transit per day and the beach is packed and not really scenic - I think the hotel pool is nicer if you can get it!
All in all, we would go back again given the fantastic prices, food standard and general level of service, however you really need to be a little bit "horsey" for this to be your ideal environment.

Room Tip: Too low , you get the noise from the hotel terraces on your balcony, too high - not such a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here and were most impressed with everything offered and watching the horses training from your balcony was great if you want great service in a clean modern hotel that oozes class then the meydan is the one . My only gripe was reception staff were not great and one of the restaurants (farriers) was costly and food was poor but the other restaurants were great

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I think most people's first reaction to the Meydan is -- but it's in the middle of nowhere! Indeed, it's a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of Dubai, but the hotel itself is nice. I wouldn't stay here if you're looking for a luxury resort, but it's very nice for a quiet business hotel.

What I liked:
- Great service at reception, and 24 hour check in check out policies so you can stay in your room until that late night flight out...
- 4 restaurants so you have choices
- lovely rooms with views of the horse racetrack
- a very nice outside breakfast terrace in the cooler months.
- great views of the Dubai skyline from the rooftop

What I wasn't crazy about:
- Room service was extremely delayed and they had to call me back 3x to figure out my order
- It was too cold to use the pool in February, but it's really small. (Other amenities are there including a full pro shop). It is on the rooftop and is an infinity pool, but it's clear they don't expect too many people to be there for the pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

From the moment that we were collected from the airport by Lexus our stay was exceptional.Our luxurious suite overlooked the racecourse and had a large balcony from whih we could watch the racehorses being exercised.The hotel has excellent restaurants and facilities and.the staff are friendly and professional.
A really enjoyable experience that we hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 474 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.