We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Meydan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Splendia.com
and 11 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 471 hotels in Dubai
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during Christmas break in 2010 after spending 3 nights in Le Meridien, Dubai. The room was exceptional, state of the art, huge, opulent. The view from the balcony of the race course was SUPERB both during the day and during the night. The deal to go to the Wadi Wadi waterpark as well as to use the Jumeirah Beaches was a killer one!! Food was sumptuous and delicious. PErfect getaway for the Dubai Outlet Mall as well!! The room service can be improved upon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    52
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
85
8
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I've stayed at the Meydan Hotel for 4 nights for a business meeting last April.
The hotel pros and cons are as following:
1- Everything in this hotel is luxurious from the spacious lobby to the comfy rooms.
2- The rooms are very spacious and luxurious, with an LCD and a Harman Kardon/JBL marvelous home theater.
3- The toilet is cosy with a touch of hi-tech and a TV screen to enjoy your movies while relaxing in the tub.
4-Amenities are all "Aigner" designed, something that I really liked.
5- Room service are very helpful and efficient.
6- This hotel have great chefs, I tasted that in each and every meal I had there.
7- The steakhouse is just great, atmosphere, quality and taste are all there.
8- The hotel is near Sheikh Zayed road, the heart of Dubai, 10 minutes by car.

Cons:
1- No public transportation, you'll have either to hire a car or take a taxi.
2- The Italian guy in the steakhouse is a little bit arrogant and nervous most of the time.
3- The hotel will be interesting if you're attending any of the horses' races in the "meydan" race track, otherwise, there is no real entertainment there, you'll have to go Jumeira or Shk. Zayed road if u're looking for a nightlife spot.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, all facing the track
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

A great hotel with all the amenities and service you would expect from a top class hotel in Dubai. The rooftop pool overlooking the horse race track was my favourite part of my stay. I was here on business so not a huge amount of time for relaxing.

Hotel rooms are state of the art. You have a button to press for everything.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

i stayed in this hotel with my aunt and uncle and i was amazed by the lobby area which is really big and i remember being greeted with a performance by a trio in the lobby. our check in took a bit of time because they couldnt find our reservation. before confirming our stay, the reception staff bothered to show the room to my uncle.
our room is on the second floor and the view is really great. below you can see the restaurants and of course the green meydan racecourse, a color you will hardly see if youre in a desert city. toilet is amazing, it has its own wet room which i played in till for at least half an hour. lol i really loved that toilet and bath! bath amenities are of no problem too. internet connection is good, bed is hmm, ok. i am not sure why i wasnt getting sleep that night, maybe its the bed or just me. lol i didnt try the bfast though but as per my uncle it was good. staff are ok too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, U.A.E
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

While the hotel may be busy during horse racing season as all rooms have amazing views of the track, off-season it is a tranquil and pleasant spot. Perhaps since we live in Dubai with ocean views, but we found the view of green grass almost as far as the eye could see to be almost mesmerizing. The rooms were large and beautifully appointed and even had a separate storage room for luggage, TV in the bath with a window, and large balcony with 2 chairs and a table to enjoy the vista. It is totally quiet. The Friday brunch was as nice as we have seen. Service was spotty, but they were trying; hard with property that is probably empty most of the time. We will be back for a mini-getaway for sure. While the location may seem remote it is only a 30 dirham ($9) cab ride to most spots of interest. Architecture is dazzling and there is a tennis center just opened. Pool area is quite small on the roof. We went to the '80's concert at the racetrack so it was perfect to stay there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, suggest a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed there for the recent 80's music night. The initial website booking didn't work and the telephone operator didn't know what was included/excluded in the promotion, but got it booked eventually.
We arrived to check-in at 6.30pm to be told our room wasn't ready so we went for dinner. There was obviously a shortage of staff and we noticed other guests around us complaining of delayed food or sending their orders back because it was cold....we decided to have the buffet which was average.
We got to our room and found the extra bed requested hadn't been provided. At the concert the bar was managed by the hotel and it was completely inadequate for the numer of people there and it took 20-30mins to buy 1 drink.
At breakfast we waited 20mins for a coffee then went up to the pool to find all sunbeds had been taken by 10.30 (only 30 beds for that size of hotel!!!) The attendant kindly got us some mattresses and towels so we could lie on the ground, but not exactly 5 star!

In summary, the staff were pleasant and tried hard, but the management is shambolic and really needs a shake-up. The hotel looks fantastic but the experience was not one we'll be repeating.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Went for dessert on a Friday evening about 22.30. Valet attendants were smiling and in good spirits. Inside - hotel was empty. We asked for dessert menu and proceeded to choose small cake from the selection in the lobby. Had Moroccan tea, cheesecake and ice-cream. Declined the hot chocolate as it was made with Nesquick (processed) and mixed with hot milk....for a cost of AED 20! Dessert was passable - but definitely not worth the visit. Tea was very good though. Layout is fine, some big chairs offer seclusion - but cohld have sat anywhere as it was completely empty. Doubt we'll return for dessert!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Racecourse, Al Meydan Road | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 471 hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meydan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.