We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, authentic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge

Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resport and Spa, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 317 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 5,559 restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fab food, authentic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Maya is a fantastic, modern mexican restaurant and bar that really does live up to the marketing. The outdoor lounge/bar is in a great spot with fans suspended in the air to keep you cool. Our bar man Christian was great and preempted our orders each time so kept the cool Coronas flowing. The restaurant itself has both banquette and standard seating that allows for small of big groups as well as outdoor seating where you can look down to the waters edge. Food is superb- wonderful mixture of classic mexican dishes and some modern twists with quality ingredients. Enjoyed it so much went back to celebrate my sisters birthday the following week. Great relaxed spot to go with friends- recommend sharing the fajitas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Executive Assistant Manager at Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your visit at Maya restaurant and were extremely pleased with the service, facilities and food we have on offer.

It is a pleasure to note that you have chosen Maya restaurant to celebrate your sister's birthday.

All your kind comments are truly appreciated and will be shared to the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dejan Popadic
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    92
    53
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I first discovered Maya on a balmy Dubai Sunday. Their ladies night proved to be a very pleasant surprise. Terrific tequila cocktails and accompanying mexican canapes until your tummy is content. Perhaps most surprising is the fabulous, kind, attentive and charming staff at the venue. As a 5 year resident of Dubai, one comes to lower their expectations of service, especially across the hospitality industry.
I was so excited to see how well trained and authentic their staff on duty were. Samuel - their tequila sommelier was the complete deal - attentive, helpful and well informed on his product and venue. He facilitated an introduction to the night manager and within a few days I had set up a meeting with the marketing team to host an event I was in the process of putting together.
The entire experience across the board, from the marketing team and restaurant management was a dream. Ultimately, the event was a success through their careful planning, assistance and attention to detail. I would not hesitate in recommending this venue for it's food, bar and service. Special thanks to Dejan, Manjith, Gonzalo and ERIC !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Executive Assistant Manager at Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful dining experience in Maya restaurant and were extremely pleased with the high level of service provided by our associates as well as the food we have on offer.

We also appreciate you taking the time to feedback to us on how efficient, attentive and helpful the staff were during your visit. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team.

Thank you once again for choosing Maya restaurant to hold your event and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Dejan Popadic
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice interior but average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we arrived to the restaurant we were pleasantly surprised with the decoration and the ambiance of the restaurant, it was not very busy and this was what we liked. However the food was quite disappointing: seviche was completely tasteless, quesadilla was just a plain tortilla bread with the plain chicken - tasteless as well.. One advise: don't go for tacos, it is not what you would normally expect, their tacos are made from soft tortilla bread, not the crispy one what you usually get in mexican restaurants, more than that the beef inside the tacos was totally disgusting. We could not finish any of our food and can say this was totally not worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Executive Assistant Manager at Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your visit to Maya.

We are delighted to know that you like the decoration and ambience of the restaurant, however are sorry to hear that the food was not up to your expectations.

I would like to take this opportunity to mention that the Maya Restaurant is a modern Mexican cuisine concept which embraces traditional Mexican recipes and therefore differentiates itself from Tex Mex restaurants. While we appreciate that this may not meet every guest's taste and expectations, we are always open for suggestions to adapt and embrace change. Feedback like yours will certainly be used constructively as it also helps us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction and to constantly monitor and measure our services and standards.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we truly hope that your experience on this occasion does not detain you to revisit us again.

Kind regards,

Dejan Popadic
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time to Maya and I wasn't disappointed, The food was delicious and served very quickly.

Our host Eric was very attentive and recommended dishes based on what we liked, he was extremely friendly and it make a real difference to our night.

I will recommend Maya to everyone and will be back on a Sunday for ladies night :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRMGH, Executive Assistant Manager at Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you for posting your review and recommending Maya Restaurant on Trip Advisor.



We are happy to read from your review that you had enjoyed your overall dining experience with us and were well-pleased with food as well as with the friendly services provided by our Ambassador, Eric. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with him and with the team.



We look forward to welcoming you back on Sunday.



Kind regards,


Dejan Popadic
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for dinner with roof top bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely restaurant at Le Royal Meridien. Food was fresh and tasty. Waiters couldn't do enough to help with suggestions etc. great ambience and even though a little pricey, well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRMGH, Executive Assistant Manager at Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.



We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your dining experience with us and were pleased with the service provided by our Associates and the ambience of the hotel.



It is also nice to note that you found the food fresh and tasty and to be worth of money.



It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again.



Kind regards,


Dejan Popadic
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Modern Mexican Kitchen + Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.