We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Budget package” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rio Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Rashid Road | PO Box 53944, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Budget package”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. Only 2 of us. We arrived pretty late in night as our flight was of late night.

On reaching hotel were told that there is no room available. On which they gave us Executive room which was just above disc and was not able to sleep till it got over which is usually around 4.

Next day we got shifted to new room which was fine but not much to be seen on back side of hotel and balcony was not of much use.

Also there is lot of smoke problem in hotel and the fog just reaches to near by rooms from cooling pipes.

B`fast was not good on day 1 but there after was fine. Post 1st day the stay was fine with house keeping staff helpful.

Near to Jumeriah beach and pool on rooftop was good. Even had spa etc.

It`s just adjacent to highway so no issue in Commuting as you will find cabs with in 2 mts walk.

Overall a ok budget hotel if you are of adjusting nature as per your finances..

Room Tip: Do not choose any room between 200- 210 as these are above disc and you will get sound till 4 in nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
9
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surat
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had booked this hotel through our travel agent and he had sent our welcome kit to reception but hotel staff hadn't hand over me that welcome kit ,when we got call from our tour operator we come to know that they had submitted the our welcome kit at hotel. which proves that Hotel reception are not efficient.

At the time of airport drop they said your drop is not registered whereas we had booked our pick and drop. Reception guy told us that your name is not appeared in the register. I asked who is suppose to make entry in register? He rudely said we are not.

So at the outset I can say that very unfriendly staff and poor manners of reception.

I will never prefer to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is a joke. There are at least 3 'clubs' that are basically strip-clubs without full nudity. The level of cleanliness was not just bad but it was horrendous. Multiple rooms found tons of bugs, there were burn marks on the wood, random stains on sheets, giant areas of mold and unnameable objects within the bathroom and shower. Don't ever stay here unless you want to feel uncomfortable and unsafe for the duration of your trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My maiden trip to dubai...STAYED IN THIS HOTEL......a good budget hotel with all basic facilities like 24 hr coffee ship swimming pool gym,night discotheque(mostly indian and hindi songs only).Staff is good and courteous..food is good too....quite close by dubai standards to most of the places(half an hour to 45 min by cab).By the way thsi hotel is renamed as smana al raffa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Its one of the finest hotel for the best value for your money. Location is quite calm and an easy access to all the facilities. Staff is very cooperative and helpful. Its a good hotel for the visitors who want to move around the Dubai city because transportation and all the major attractions are nearby

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hi Travellers, We have been staying in Hotel Rio for 5 days during Dec'2012. I must say, the staff and the reception are very customer oriented and provide all ammenities a guest requires. The food is awsome. If you a Non-Vegeterian - You should try its "Chicken Biryani". Its out of the world.

Its very centrally located, hardly 5 mins to "Meena Bazaar" by Cab which charges 10 Dhirams per side.

Had a wonderful experience and if i happen to visit Dubai again, shall stay at this hotel only.

Cheers and have a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Rio now named as Smana was quiet a good hotel at average price.
Room was good with good air conditioning and lcd tv. Room service was nice. Food was good and Indian food was very good, Free usage of Swimming pool, Steam and Sauna bath. Travel assistance. Supermarket was nearby and no place of visit was far from the hotel.Staff was very cooperative.

Room Tip: take rooms on fourth floor to get rid of sound of disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel

Address: Sheikh Rashid Road | PO Box 53944, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.