We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great despite expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Media One Hotel Dubai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Media One Hotel Dubai to your Saves list
Media One Hotel Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dubai Media City, Plot No. 1 | Behind American University, Dubai 121818 , United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 3 nights & save 10%
Ranked #151 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not great despite expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Room smelt strongly of cigarettes which was unpleasant as both are non smokers, breakfast didn’t have a great choice and the pool didn’t get the sun there was also quite a strong breeze so not great to hangout ar, not a great experience and found the staff very unfriendly. Would not recommend or revisit based on my experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    330
    129
    44
    31
See reviews for
34
181
69
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good location- close to everything in Dubai marina and very welcoming staff, apart from reception where they take forever to check you into your room.. This hotel is very expensive- small rooms, limited facilities. Food is very pricey too. Dont think i'll be staying there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Anon409,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Media One

We are delighted that you liked the hotel location and it made it easy for you to reach the places you needed. We apologise for the inconvenience of your experience with our Front Desk, but rest assured we strife to reach excellence in customer service and will review the current programme with Front Office.

However, we were happy to hear that overall you found the staff welcoming.

Best Regards

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was staying at the Media One Hotel for business for 4 nights and right from the start my experience was a pretty positive one.
My pet hate is having to wait to check in after being on a long flight and I just happened to walk in when some obnoxious guy with one eyebrow and pants that were too tight was trying to decided whether or not he wanted to stay there. Having said that I was promptly looked after by one of the other staff and checked in very quickly.
they advised me that I was meant to have a sea view room but for the first night I had to stay in a city view room. This wasnt an issue as there had just been a sand storm and you couldnt see much out the window anyway.
The only issue was the pool bar was on that side and on Friday nights its a night club with techno bass going til late but I managed to get to sleep anyway.
The sea view room was great and as the sand cleared I could see all the way to the Atlantis Hotel out on the Palm.
For the first couple fo days we had meetings at the hotel and ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. The food was superb!!! great variety and lots of it.
the position of the Hotel is pretty good. Its at the Marina end of Dubai but its a 5 minute walk (yep in 40 degree heat hahah) to the Metro and that was a great way of getting around.
Taxis are also really cheap so if you didnt want to walk at all they are a great option.
I would stay at Media One again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Garyjwills,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Media One Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us.
Media One is vibrant hotel and holds lively activities at the weekend.

Following your comments we realise it doesn't suit everyone and we will review our music style. We have shared your comments with the ream especially the kitchen and The MED teams for the food and breakfast, it is always good to know when we are getting it right.

We are lucky to have good location near to the Metro station and Dubai Marina.

It was certainly a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Media One Hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place really needs to get a grip of their staff, just outright rude and ignorant. We booked last minute and forgot to read reviews about the place which never usually happens but we were in rush. Got to the check in and were made to wait 30 mins in reception as they couldn't find our reservation, the guy barely said 2 words to us, not even a reassurance that he was getting it sorted, no complimentary drinks, nothing, just stood at the desk for 30 mins, not even an apology throughout or afterwards. The rooms are ok, everything is clean but on the small side. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone looking for a special get away as it tries to be hip and trendy but just doesn't get it right, on the plus side i must say the baggage handlers were very nice and polite, shame about your front desk staff! think you need some training

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Stephen R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Media One

We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with our Front Desk. We have investigated but please could you give us the dates it happened we can fully investigate a prevent it happening in the future. Please email us to marketing@mediaonehotel.com

We have shared your positive comments to the concierge team as it is important for them to know they are getting it right.

We hope this does not deter you from staying at Media One Hotel in the future

Best Regard

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times since it opened a few years ago, and have never been disappointed by the welcome or quality of service. The standard rooms are fine for a single business traveller, but they would be very cramped for a couple. Room service has always been efficient, the bars and restaurant are fine, and the staff have always been helpful. The hotel does portray itself as a 'hip' venue, so be prepared for an awful lot of piped music and some late night noise both during the week, but particularly on brunch days. The main bar is not a place for a quiet conversation once the music ramps up in the evening. Overall, a really enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Moratin5,

Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay at Media One

We are delighted that you are happy with our services and helpful staff, we have shared your comments with all our team and it is always good to know that we are getting it right.

Media One is vibrant hotel and holds lively activities each weekend to meet the needs of many of our guests.

It was certainly a pleasure having you as a regular guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Media One Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When you get to the hotel, you immediately have a good feeling. There's a good vibe in the hotel, it makes you feel... how can I say it... "energetic and young"? I also like the humor you can find throughout the room. Eg: in case of just having a card with "do not disturb", the card says "if you had a night like I have, you would not want to be woken up either" :-). I like this.
I don't know if due this laid-back atmosphere, some staff seemed nonchalant and was not so thoughtful as you would expect.... there were in particular two persons at the reception who were not friendly at all and just didn't want to help you. We had 3 bad experiences with these two persons (they didn't carry a name tag, so can't say who it was). One example: I asked them to call a restaurant for a reservation, I even gave them the number, but the answer was "this is not my job, you need to ask the concierge.". The concierge was on a lunch break, so I had to wait for 45 minutes. There was no work at the reception and there were two persons standing there. I really don't understand why they couldn't do a single phone call, even it was just as a service for us.
The concierge on the other hand, Kennedy, was really very helpful and recommended us some tours and gave us good advice.
Breakfast was ok, however, every day the same and also at breakfast staff were not so friendly, a bit negligent.
We never took a dive in the pool, as there was no sun (pool was in the shade of buildings form 9 am on). However, the pool bar is really cool and a nice place to start your evening.
The location of the hotel is just fine, but in Dubai you always need to talk the taxi to go anywhere, so location is not that important.
Rooms were clean, nice and modern. We have a very nice view to the Palm Jumeirah.

The hotel definitely has it’s good points, however, improvement is needed for several items. I would not especially recommend the hotel and I would look for another hotel next time I visit Dubai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Keppebolettje,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Media One

Media One aims to be a vibrant and lively hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed it

We apologize for re inconvenience of your experiences with our Front Desk. We are investigating but if you could give us the dates this happened we can investigate. Please email to marketing@mediaonehotel.com

Kennedy was very pleased to hear your recognised his efforts.

We hope to welcome you back to Media One in the future

Kind Regards

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am just back from a Business Trip to Dubai where I stayed in the Media One. It is a really cool, friendly and comfortable Hotel. And we got this impression right away when checked in. Menna, a young Lady from Egypt, was our receptionist. It was not just that she checked me and my colleagues professionally in; it was also the way she welcomed us, that transpired the very friendly, cool atmosphere of the hotel. If you are not so lucky to get the different great feeling in the Media One at reception you should go the Deck on 8th floor and there you will understand what I mean. I can clearly recommend the Media One. Needless to say that the rest of the team has been very friendly as well, the Hotel is new, clean - simply recommendable!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the sea side + a look at the pool on Deck 8 (it is possible, just ask Menna: or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaOneHotel, Director of Operations at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear KLH2012Riyadh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you liked the stylish hotel decor. We have shared your positive comments to the team as it is important for them to know they are getting it right; especially Mennah and other staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Luke James
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Media One Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media One Hotel Dubai

Address: Dubai Media City, Plot No. 1 | Behind American University, Dubai 121818 , United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Business Hotel in Dubai
#111 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#125 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Media One Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Media One is a hip new hotel that believes in doing things differently. It cleverly combines a dynamic sense of style, striking design and an appeal that suits the region's multi-cultural taste. Immaculate meeting rooms and comfortable beds for the hard working executive plus a selection of vibrant outlets to ensure a lively stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Media One Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media 1 Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Media One Hotel Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.