We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Trendy hotel in Dubai Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Media One Hotel Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Media One Hotel Dubai to your Saves list
Media One Hotel Dubai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dubai Media City, Plot No. 1 | Behind American University, Dubai 121818 , United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice and Trendy hotel in Dubai Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice hotel in busy Dubai marina, well located with good facilities. Clever marketing and funky furniture give this otherwise standard hotel a 'trendy' edge, in turn attracting a younger clientele. The reception areas are large, clean and attractive, lots of space to mingle and to ‘hang out’. We stayed in a sea view double bedroom, which was comfortable enough for one person but possibly a little too small for a couple? To make the rooms feel larger they’ve introduced glass walled washrooms, but be warned there is very little privacy! However in general the rooms are clean, bright and comfortable. Moving away from the bedrooms, there's a very good restaurant on the 8th floor, on both Fridays and Saturdays they serve a very good brunch; popular - great food, good atmosphere and pumping music! Also on the eighth floor you will find an attractive pool with bar area, also playing music. Down on the ground floor there's a small coffee shop. The wi-fi in here is free should you not want to pay the expensive bill for connection in your bedroom! Regarding the staff, reception, security and the bar crew were all very good, the hotel management have done a great good job with their recruitment. Is the hotel value for money, in comparison to the local rates, yes. Would I stay here again, yes for sure but probably not my 1st option.

Room Tip: Check if there is a local festival on. In our sea view room we had loud music coming from outside u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    417
    162
    72
    49
See reviews for
48
225
94
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hip hotel, very nice and comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but liveable for one person. Good free internet wifi access across the hotel, and you can have multiple devices connected under your room number, ie laptop, ipad, phone, which for me is a plus. Room service menu is a bit limited but tasty and quick to deliver. Breakfasts are average and the restaurant staff somewhat unattentive. Generally a nice business hotel, close to DMC and DIC, and cheaper than other 5 stars in the area. Value for money. But like most Dubai hotels, room pricing yoyos quite a lot dependant on season and/or conferences/events taking place in Dubai.

Room Tip: Try get a room sea facing, all other rooms look onto tall office/residence blocks on each side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed there for 8 night. the service is excellent. the bar downs stair very bussy every afther noom.
the music in the lobby jst great to cheal out after a long day.
Rooms very modern, clean and nice view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I hate to sound grumpy, but I've travelled quite a bit the past couple of weeks, I'm tired and I'd quite like to grab some sleep. Unfortunately the trendy bar downstairs is pumping out rubbish, thudding music that sounds like someone planted a boom box under my bed. Just been informed that they keep it going until midnight, but it is now past midnight and it is still going.

While I'm griping, the room has that stale, smokey smell. Could be that I was just too tired to ask for a non-smoking room, could be that they don't understand the concept.

If anyone thinks that odd lighting and star trek effect decor is cool and would rather hang out in a noisy bar than get some sleep, this is the place for you. It's not the place for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (assuming you are a non-smoker) and ask for a room where you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was booked into this hotel for a business trip to Dubai . Defenitely different ! All flashing coloured lights on walls , floors and even in black elevator cabs. Defenitely star trekky !
The rooms have bed & living disconnected from toilets by sheet glass walls . Food was very good as was service . Just not my cup of tea , I like more conventional hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Dubai for a few days on our way home from the UK and were lucky enough to pick the Media One to stay at. The hotel facilities are excellentj and the service we received was better than the 4 and 5 star hotels in the UK ( though that does not say much). The staff were excellent and provided great service. Nothing was too hard for then and they made us feel very welcome. Great pool, great breakfast and overall a great experience. We had a room on the 10th floor and were upgraded to a room on the 18th which had great views. Both rooms were superb and very modern, clean with a comfortable bed. Definitely staying here again when in Dubai.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed in that hotel for a week, the rooms are clean and modern. The view was beautiful.
The lobby had some nice sofas to relax on and to browse the internet.
Overall exeperience it was nice, definitely to retry.
The only down side was that the internet was free only in the lobby and not in the rooms where you have to pay, and the rates were a bit higher than usual.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Media One Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media One Hotel Dubai

Address: Dubai Media City, Plot No. 1 | Behind American University, Dubai 121818 , United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in Dubai
#127 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#151 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Media One Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Media One is a hip new hotel that believes in doing things differently. It cleverly combines a dynamic sense of style, striking design and an appeal that suits the region's multi-cultural taste. Immaculate meeting rooms and comfortable beds for the hard working executive plus a selection of vibrant outlets to ensure a lively stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Media One Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media 1 Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Media One Hotel Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.