We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced but basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Citymax Al Barsha to your Saves list
Citymax Al Barsha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean and reasonably priced but basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable, had basic essentials eg fridge, tv, desk, light, nice bathroom. Wifi is free in the lobby but extortionately priced if you want it in your room. Breakfast is ok, need to pay extra. Staff are helpful, location is good, barely 5 minute walk to Mall of the Emirates. Has lifts and is a pretty new building, overall excellent if you're looking for the basics.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear zenochka,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    345
    127
    27
    17
See reviews for
105
238
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here in Dec 2013 for 5 nights on business trip. It has got excellent location right opposite to 2 mins walk from famous Mall of Emirates. You can enjoy your shopping and evening time in Mall of Emairates. the mall has got a big food court with all varities of food. Citymax hotel offers decent room and comfortable stay with excellent internet connectivity. Alwaz prefer this hotel to stay on business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear gauravkr82,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel, the receptionist informed me that I cannot get a room with two beds as I had booked, but a room with a single bed, which was quite inconvenient since I was traveling with a friend. The breakfast was reasonably priced, but there wasn't a wide selection of food. There is definitely room for improvement there. Free wi-fi was only available at the lobby of the hotel. The rooms were clean but the walls were thin and I could hear the people next door even when they were leaving the hotel at 3 am. The bathrooms didn't have hair driers and had a single squeezable bottle of soap at the sink and one at the bath tub. Upon returning to the hotel at 6 pm, I discovered that my towels had yet to be changed and had to call in order to get new ones. The most beneficial aspects of staying in this hotel were that it is within a 5 minute walk from the Emirates Mall and it is relatively inexpensive.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear maggieVB,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

I would like to appologize for the inconvience caused to you during your stay and that the room & towels issue on arrival zand during your stay has been addresed in order for such incident not to occur to other guests in the future. Furthermore we do provide hairdryers in our rooms as well as a soap dispenser and not the normal found in other 4 or 5 start Hotels.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice, cheap hotel next to the Mall of the Emirates. The rooms are kept clean and the staff is helpful. The rooftop pool was a nice oasis when you want to get away from the city for a while. The breakfast is good and at a reasonable price.
On the downside I have to say that the wall are ridiculously thin. If your neighbor watches TV, have a crying baby or is getting some quality time with the SO, you will be listening to it. Also, if the neighbor is a smoker, the smoke will stink up your room trough the ventilation.
But regardless of this, I would still consider coming back because the price was so good. I was not visiting Dubai to be part of the luxury on this trip. If that is what you are looking for, then I would go with one of the places down in the marina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Degis,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your concerns in your feedback in order for us to try and rectify them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

we chose this hotel because it is walking distance to MOE where the Ski Dubai is.the location was very convenient and close to metro station easy to reac other places of interest in Dubai.It was very cheap to go around Dubai city using metro and almost everything can be reached by train.It was a standard 3 star hotel in a strategic location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear syaz82,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A very nice hotel offering value for money. The staff are very courteous and always have a smile on their face. The rooms were clean and compact. Service was good. Not a lot to complain. Book early to enjoy price advantage.

Accessible to the Metro, mall of Emirates. Good eateries around the place. Definitely a recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear BA1825,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed in Dubai each year since 2006 in many different Hotels and just recently stayed at Citymax Al Barsha and I can say it was good experience in many ways great price great location spotlessly clean breakfast was plenty choice some what a little noisy from disco but soon tuned into the noise and slept well. would definately return to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear 111WILS,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#116 Business Hotel in Dubai
#129 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#131 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citymax Al Barsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.