We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat,tidy and professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Save Saved
You added Citymax Al Barsha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citymax Al Barsha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 475 hotels in Dubai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“neat,tidy and professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed in this hotel in july. The rooms are small but very neat and clean. Bathrooms too are dry and neat. Its location is the main advantage. ITs just hop skip and jump from the Mall of Emirates.
We did not try the food there...We chose to stay in the higher floors for a peaceful sleep.
Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: choose higher floor as more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting the service, value for money and the location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    245
    80
    22
    14
See reviews for
69
171
65
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked just a day to my trip. And was a bit worried of the hotel because the room rates were relatively cheap compared to what i was expecting.

However, it was an excellent hotel and i enjoyed the 7 night. The staff were friendly and very helpful. My room had the required facilities, clean and had a street view overlooking the emirates mall which was less than 5 minutes walk. Taxi services run 24/7 just outside the hotel. Had easy access to the mall of emirates metro station.

So in general, the location and affordable price of the hotel was exceptional to my stay in Dubai

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting the service, value for money and the location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We are very thankful to Mr Desmond. Thanks to his being ready to help clients in any inconvenience we enjoyed our staying from the first moment till his last smile saying goodbye:)
As for rooms, we liked it very much, the only minus is absence of a mini bar.
Breakfasts being served from early in the morning till almost noontime were rather rich and diverse

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting the service, value for money and the location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Right next to Mall of Emirates Dubai, and the Metro. This is not a top end Hotel, more like a Travel lodge. If you just want somewhere to rest your head then this is perfect. It's Clean, well located for food, shopping, beach, transport. Can't ask anymore really ? It has two bars and a restaurant. The bars can get noisy on a Friday for Happy hr they show most of the UK football in their sports bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting the service, value for money and the location.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at Citymax Al Barsha for 3 nights. The hotel is a 3 min walk from the mall of the Emirates so pretty good location for shopping.

Hotel staff is very friendly and are ready to help when needed.

The room is clean and was on the 2nd floor but I had no issues with the noise from the club as I never went to sleep before 2.00am, but the lower floors could be disturbing to others due to the base effect coming from the club.

The hotel doesn't have a business center, so not very convenient for business.

Cable Internet is free in the room, wifi is redicolously expensive in the room and free in the lobby.

Ordered food in the room twice, although both times ordered the same food, it came once really good and the other time below average.

overall a good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting the service, value for money and the location.

I have noted your concerns and will carry out training so that our food is presneted well all the time as for the internet we are looking into this issue and hope that on your next visit it would be resolved.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I know it's a cheap and cheerful hotel, but...

The doorman, Apparently the head of security, was very rude and obnoxious.

The staff, most were very good and pleasant, although one of the managers, a man either Indian or pakistani, was also quite rude.

Maybe it was a bad day, but still not a good start.

Bad stuff out of the way, now the nice stuff.

Hotel is very well placed, and we liked the choice of the 2 bars. A music bar, with an excellent band, and really good dj, and a really nice chilled sports bar.

Food, love the variety on the menu and food was quick.
Rooms, bit small, but comfy for what it was needed.

Would stay again, but the staff put me off.

Plenty other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for completing the online survey.

I would sincerely like to apologize for the way we have handled you at the Hotel and that we have taking necessary steps with the staff in order for such incidents do not occur in the future.

Please rest assured that this is a one off situation which we have dealt with and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kindly appreciate that you get in touch with me directly so that I can welcome you back again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

its a 3 star hotel so note that you should not expect much. the guest rooms are too small. good points: location to mall of emirates, its literally 5 mins walk. service in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: rear side of hotel is next to construction site. if you get a room on that side, you will lose sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for completing the online comments.

Citymax Al Barsha is a 3 star rated hotel and despite our mid market price level for Dubai, it is our aim to provide added values for our guests.

Once again we would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again shortly.

Thank you
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#138 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citymax Al Barsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.