We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citymax Al Barsha to your Saves list
Citymax Al Barsha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. It's near the Mall of the Emirates, which was great for shopping. They had a complimentary shuttle bus to the beach. It's great value for money with brilliant service and good location.

The only negative is that you don't get complimentary slippers or robes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Fatima 31,

Thank you for your choosing our hotel and taking the time for the review.
As we read, you had an enjoyable stay. Please visit us again upon return to Dubai.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    292
    100
    24
    16
See reviews for
83
197
76
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Citymax hotel, it has nice location, and great price. The staff were helpful, it has underground parking for free which is an advantage in that busy area. I liked the fact it is very close to Mall Of Emirates which you can go by walking.
Bad : it does not have bath ropes or slippers, also we had to wait to get our luggage to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Omar-Alaqeel,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and writing about your experience.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Simply Citymax Al Barsha is great budget place for a short or stopover stay in Dubai. Rooms clean but very tight. Bathroom is standard except the shower which is very weak and poor. Breakfast which was included room charge is fine (Varity of international-like breakfast i.e., Cereals, Arabian and Indian dishes plus some western style food, yogurts, mixed fruits … etc).
Great location right across the road from the Mall of the Emirates that is offer you many advantages, starting from shopping, dining lasting to the riding Metro for Dubai exploring.
Bedding and air-conditioning is great as well and there is a mini fridge in room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Saqar,

Thank you for staying with us and the review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and would be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Was on a one day business trip to Dubai. Office checked me into this hotel which is very close to the electronic city.

Arrived at 1 am and was greeted in the lobby with thumping music pouring out of the night club. Was told that I only had a choice of a smoking room or something above the nightclub. I had no choice but to opt for the smoking room on the second floor. The staff though polite did not make any effort in accommodating me in any fashion.

The rooms are small but utilitarian. Clean bed washroom, coffee maker and internet connectivity (wired) through the room was more than what i needed for a night's stay. The only complain I have the hotel should provide separate shampoo and body wash instead of the gym kind of premix in a bottle.

Will stay here mainly because of location and price. Not recommended for holidays or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Amitayu,

Thank you for your opinion on tripadvisor and that your company has chosen us.
We regret that you weren’t made welcoming upon arrival at night and do apologize for the negative first impression.
I like to mention that in fact we have a large number of international guests who spend their Dubai holiday with us.
Although our rooms are economically sized we offer best value for money in a good location across Mall of the Emirates which has made us popular among leisure and business travelers.

We hope to welcoming you back again upon return to Dubai.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

this hotel is very good value for money the staff are polite and helpful the rooms are cleaned every day food is great in a good location for shopping andalso the metro station the only down side was the hotel doesnt have rooms with balconyies

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear pipsqueak_11,

Thank you for staying with us and writing the review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will chose Citymax Hotel Al Barsha again upon return to Dubai .

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. The hotel is new, clean and the rooms are a reasonable size and well appointed. Location is great for Mall of the Emirates and the cheap Metro nearby will take you to Downtown Dubai. Bad points are the free wifi in the lobby just doesn't work, and the shower is very temperamental getting hot and cold intermittently.The rooms are very clean and neat with a good bed, only one flat pillow, good air con, tea and coffee and a fridge provided, which is a great plus. we didn't try the hotel food so unable to comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear tiddles12Godalming,

Thank you for your recent visit and comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read the positive and also constructive feedback which we are looking into.
Regarding the wifi, we provide free connectivity without access code in the lobby and coffee shop.

If your next holiday takes you to Dubai again, we would be pleased to have you again with us.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Irbid, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-October. The reservation was made for me by the company bringing me in - I had never heard of the hotel before this. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, although the room was very small. Nice location, right across the road from the Mall of the Emirates. Breakfast was horrible, though - very little choice and entirely without flavor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Henny2010,

Thank you for staying with us for the first time and posting your comments.
Although we are pleased to read that you liked the hotel and its location we regret that you couldn’t enjoy the breakfast.
Our aim is to offer items on our breakfast buffet for all our guests who are coming from different continents.
Therefore we offer a selection of breads, cold cuts, cereals, egg dishes, hot Indian and Asian dishes, fresh cut fruits, yoghurts and more, all for a value of AED 40 (US$ 11) per person.
We like to apologize if the taste did not match your expectation but appreciate further details to executiveoffice@citymaxhotels.com if you don’t mind.

We hope you will choose Citymax Hotel Al Barsha again upon return to Dubai and looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#123 Business Hotel in Dubai
#124 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#135 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citymax Al Barsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.