We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dubai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayad Road, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The only thing made choose this hotel is the location and the value for the location.
The food was bad, service was not bad, pool was nice but small, NO MAIN ENTRANCE for this hotel.
I found 450 dr chon my bill for using the phone, and I never been touch it during the stay

After all it's good if you have business in media city or in Internet city, it's in the middle of the major companies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    68
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
39
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roermond
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This was our second visit in the Grand Midwest (first time December 2009 and first two weeks of May 2010) We were pleasantly surprised that the reception recognized us as we checked in. Check in time was less than 5 minutes and our request to stay on the top floor with view to the Palm Jumeirah was granted with no questions ask. Room again spacious and well groomed. The room layout was different compared to last visit. After all it was a different room. Unfortunately we had to ask for a third pair of slippers and extra bath towels since my family exist of three people. In general they improved their way of working (quickly and efficiently). The room was clean at arrival and always properly cleaned by a friendly staff. The Bellboy was very polite and helpful. We used the garage beneath the apartment. (Free access) Unfortunately the main entrance is still under construction (Although the metro station is finished and in use) and not accessible by car. Bathroom and kitchen well equipped however no washing-up brush or kitchen towels available. 2 LCD tv’s, washing/dryer, safe, balcony, WIFI (pay) You need a car since the hotel is located next to Sheikh Zayed Road. Within 10 driving minutes you’re at the Emirates Mall and Ibn batuta Mall in the other direction. 15km away from the municipality beach and 15 minutes away from the Marina. Swimming pool and pool area is proper and bath towel provided. Gym is great and well equipped. We had absolute no negative experience at all. We visited Dubai many times and know where to go. If this is your first visit to Dubai and you’re only familiar with an organized and All incl. Spain / Greece holiday this might be disappointed since you need to be self supporting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel was fab - we stayed in an appartment and i must say itsthe best room weve ever stayed in and we are very well travelled. Only negative about room was no balcony. But had a washing machine fridge and freezer ect.

The pools great as there are 2 either side of building so you never loose the sun!!!

The hotel has Hamed who can book you a variety of tours which does help. we ate in the burj one evening and this cost £215 for buffet for 2. the food was great but the restaurant wasnt as special as i expected. However it was worth the experience as you can not get too close to the burj without reservation. If you go in the morning you get to go it the lift to top floor to get great views but in the evening its pitch black..... i chose to have dinner to get dressed up for th occasion.

The 4 hour day tour is also very good we paid approx £30 each for it. ( although the driver nearly forgot to stop at the mosque) so keep an eye on the itinery.

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT LOOK TOO MUCH INTO LOCATIONS OF HOTLS AS THE METRO IS SO CHEAP AND VERY EASY TO USE.

***** wadi wadi waterpark is best for younger kids and atlantis for older ones!! atlantis is best for sun worshipers as it is a sun trap!!

In my opinion after spending 7 days in dubai (due to volcano issues) I would suggest that you make sure you are close to a metro station. The cheapest and most effective way to travel is to get metro and then short taxi ride (saves alot of money)

If you like hussle and bussel and like to be pestered every 2 mins stay in deire or bur dubai. If you like to be in the middle of everything i would suggest you stay near dubai mall and burj kalitha as its half way to the old town and atlantis.(this hotel is practically oposite atlantis waterpark and a taxi will cost about £3 to get there and about £20 from airport)

Although i was more than happy with the hotel and it was close to the metro and taxis were easy to get i would prob stay near dubai mall. qamardeen hotel seems like this could be cheap but nice. but unsure if the pool may be shaded most of the day??

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We booked into the Grand Midwest Tower from the 10th to 16th Feb 2010. This was a pre-paid rate from Expedia. Our room was on the 9th floor, with a sea view – the city view would not be too interesting I guess!

We had read previous reviews about the lack of baby cots, so made sure that we mentioned this request in the Expedia booking – however, we shouldn’t have bothered as the hotel paid no attention to the request, and as predicted there were only 6 cots for the whole hotel. Out of the 6 nights, our 6 month old slept on blankets on the floor for all but 1 of the nights. Numerous requests were made to various levels of staff, but this appeared to be a minor issue for them.

The windows were absolutely filthy – we managed to clean a patch on the windows by leaning through a gap in the opening, so in the end the view was fine. I can’t believe how dirty the windows were, they made a good sunny day look like an overcast dull day. The windows were double glazed, so the soundproofing was great.

There was never a problem catching a taxi from outside the hotel – and we never had a driver who hadn’t heard of the hotel and/or area. Some reviews stated otherwise.

The rooms were clean, spacious and modern – although I am quite sure our apartment was one of the largest one bedroom apartments. 1 x 32” Samsung LCD in the lounge and 1 x 26” Samsung LCD in the bedroom, although a few more European channels were needed.

We had 1 bathroom inc. WC, and a guest WC near the kitchen. The kitchen was fine, and included the essentials (microwave, toaster, kettle, pans, plates, glasses, etc…) There was also a decent fridge/freezer and a very handy washer/dryer. There were no tea towels, cloths or washing power provided. There was a simple iron and ironing board – and a hair dryer. There was no DVD player, although this is mentioned on every website as included in the room.

The bedroom included plenty storage space, and even a small safe (although I think you had to pay to use it). The cleaning staff did a good job every day, they were very discrete and friendly.

The apartment was missing a dining table in our opinion – there was a breakfast bar, but this is hardly suitable for children. We had a balcony, but this was not very child friendly, with easy options for climbing up and over the rails (and as there was no lock on the balcony door, it was a bit of a hazard for our 3 year old).

There are two decent shops very close by, a 24hr restaurant on the premises, and a COSTA coffee in the next building. The METRO stop is right outside, but was not open in February 2010. The Gym, Sauna and Steam room were ok – but the pool and ‘Jacuzzi’ were far too cold (and therefore empty!).

Don’t expect hotel ‘like’ service – think of it like a short term flat rental from a dodgy landlord. Tourist info was limited and/or wrong. This hotel(?) is a very affordable choice, but avoid it if you have young kids – or bring your own cot! The staff were well aware there were no cots, but would try to convince us every day that they would ‘find a solution’ – which never came. Perfect for couples or those travelling alone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed there for six days. The room was beyond what we expected. Five star +. We had a washmachine! The hotelstab was really nice and professional. And did their best to satisfied our needs! The gym and sauna was perfect, also the pool. The hotel was easy to find for the taxidrivers and it layed on the right place of town. Dubai Media City/internet city. Near the Emirats Mall, metro and near the Jumeria Beach and so on. The hotelguestes where mixed- families, buissnessmen, couples, singels. GOOD GOOD GOOD!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I just stayed here for one night; I booked at short notice at a discount rate. I found the room excellent in terms of both value and amenities. They do an excellent lunch-time buffet; very good value. There is a nice gym and swimming area although I did not use them. On the following morning, having checked out and sitting in reception waiting for someone to collect me, they searched the whole hotel to pass on a message that the person collecting me would be 10 minutes late!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

i accompanied my husband on a three day business trip in Jan. we had previously stayed at the hotel in december and found it functional but noisy. this time we had requested a quiet room. we arrived at 2am after a long flight from London. the hotel had overbooked. in other words, they'd cancelled our reservation and offered us a 2 bed apartment which we would have to share with my husband's colleague. given the time no one fancied driving round Dubai looking for alternative accommodation. no one got any sleep. the bedrooms were on the main road and there's no double glazing. smoke alarms are positioned in the ceiling and wink all night. rooms are very spacious but done up cheaply. sinks take ages to drain. the hotel staff are charming and will do all they can to help. however the next day the management could only promise that they would separate us at 5pm. there was no promise of the new accommodation being any quieter. breakfast is uninspiring and nothing looks particularly fresh. filter coffee is only available on request and bears a supplement. my husband and I had had enough. we checked out and found more suitable accommodation 5 minutes away. this hotel is fine if you[re a backpacker, deaf, or have a family who don't mind noise. the rates are competitive, the rooms very very spacious, there's a nice gym and a pool (again on a very busy road). for people who are on business and need their sleep after a long journey it's just not up to scratch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments

Address: Sheikh Zayad Road, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Palm Island, the Grand Midwest Tower is located in Dubai Media City on the famous Sheikh Zayed Road and is just 220 yards from Dubai Internet City. Our accommodation is very spacious and each room includes a fully equipped kitchen as well as an impressive list of facilities and service for all guests to enjoy. With a choice of Deluxe Studio, Deluxe One Bedroom, Deluxe Two Bedroom and Deluxe Three Bedroom (interconnecting room) apartments, the Grand Midwest Tower offers a total of 225 luxury apartment suites with contemporary décor and modern amenities. Guests can experience the warmth of local culture, close to Dubai's business district, exhibition and convention centre, golf course, Dubai Marina and Mall of the Emirates, it is the ideal location for your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.