We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheikh Zayad Road, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short of expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I will keep it brief, stayed for 6 nights bed and breakfast plan.

Negative: understaffed, i didn't get anyone to help with luggage on arrival or departure
Deposit charge after pre-paid for hotel stay
Phone is usually busy or no response for room service or reception
Gym reception usually has no one on desk
Outside main pool heating not working
Taxi are not readily available outside, easier to walk to gloria hotel to get one
Charges for water in room and breakfast restaurant (never had this before)
Horrendous traffic noise when opening the window for fresh air, we were on 18th floor facing sheikh zayed road
Expensive internet
Found faulty electrical apparatus which was repaired after 2 days


Positive: Metro station just outside, Dubai Internetcity
Rooms are good size, one bedroom we were in had 2 tv and 2 toilet
You may come across some asian media personailties in gym or restaurant



In 2008, this place was in brink of bankruptcy but investment in service in staff and service is still
limited, people who have stayed elsewhere in dubai on similar budget will clearly see the differences on below par standards. I will not be a repeat business.

Room Tip: Try getting the rooms with burj al arab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    68
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
39
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Booked late through Expedia secret hotel. Knew it was in Jumeirah beach area and was a 5 star rating. Arrived early but could not check in til 2pm. You have to enter the hotel from the back as the footpath at the front has not been completed yet. Receptionist was not particularly cheerful and seemed quite short at times. When we returned at 2pm, booking in was relatively painless and did not take too long. All of the other hotel staff were cheerful and extremely helpful.

We had booked a double room but received a one-bedroom apartment on floor 10. It was spacious, tidy and clean and had everything we required. It was cleaned thoroughly every day and clean towels provided. The furnishings were very modern (fully fitted kitchen. leather sofa in lounge, etc.) There was a flat screen TV in both the lounge and the bedroom which had numerous channels to watch, none of which were UK channels, although there were re-runs of UK soaps on one of the American channels. The hotel does not have a bar and is not licensed! If you like a drink in the evening make sure you stock up on arrival at Dubai airport. Some hotels and a few bars and restaurants are licensed, but with most alcoholic drinks starting at around £8, it is worth having some in your room. There is an outdoor pool on floor 6 along with a well equipped gym. Towels are provided and there are plenty of sun beds around the pool. There is a small supermarket around the corner (about 5 min walk) which is handy to stock up on soft drinks and snacks. There is ample space in the apartment fridge.

The hotel is right next to the Dubai Internet City metro station. We used the metro regularly to get around and found it to be extremely good value. A one day travel pass was 16 dirham (around £3 at current exchange rates) and could be used as often as needed during the day. The metro was very impressive. It runs on time and is very clean and tidy. All of the announcements are in English and Arabic making it very easy to navigate around the many tourist attractions. The Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall are approx 25mins (plus a 10 min walk) and the Mall of the Emirates is approx 15 min and is directly linked to the metro via a short air conditioned walk. The Dubai Marina is also about 15 min on the metro.

Walking around Dubai is difficult because of all the roadworks taking place which mean that the footpath disappears. That said, we did manage to walk to the nearest public beach which took around 15 minutes.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will certainly visit Dubai again. The hotel was in a good location for many of the attractions, however I would not agree that this hotel is a 5 star as there is no bar. In my opinion it is at best a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as couple with infant,we booked the one bed room apartment, the room is clean but its need more attention specially the bed sheets and the floor.
Also they over booked the hotel and when we arrived at the hotel at night tired they said we will move you to another hotel which is on the other side of dubai!
Also they charge you for extra blankets

Over all there are many hotel in dubai better than this one with the same rate. As frequent traveler to dubai I didn't stay in it again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Excellent in everything!!!! Very good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean, large apartments, pool etc. Very close to metro station, Palm Jumeirah ( 10 minutes drive) burj khalifa (15 minutes by car), beaches (10 minutes by car).

They also have a tour desk in the lobby area and they offer you very good rates for any tours.
We took the safari tour, which has to be on the "to do" list for every tourist that visits dubai.We paid 30 Euro/person.Then we had Dubai City Tour which I advise, Wild Wadi tickets with 30 % discount etc.
I really recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

staying here as I write this in a hotel apartment.
The reception is very very poor - never enough staff and everthing takes a very long time.
The 1 bed appartment is large - but the furnishings are very poor, old and in need of much updating. Allthough this is sold as an appartment - there are no kitchen knives, the pans given are in very poor state of repair and basically all you have a plates, glasses and knives and forks - nothing to really be self catering or even attempt to cook anything.
Breakfast in a morning is extreamly poor - with little quality choice (compared to other hotels I have stayed in in Dubai) and especially the fruit juice is dreadfull.
I had mold all over my ceiling last week (and although painted its coming back already).
The porter "Ram" is very friendly and the guy cleaning the room trys his best with what he has.. but simple things like cleaning the balcony are forgotten and thus if you walk outside your feet are black...
There are only 3 lifts for 20 odd floors (with no stairs) and one has been totally out of service for 2 weeks.... says it all really.
The gym is OK and so is the pool - although again the pools needs maintenance more sunbeds, and a very good clean around the patio area.
You are 50 mts from the metro line - thus its convienient.
If you have a choice avoid this place.
I am only staying as I am moving to Dubai and this is temporary accomodation before I move to my own apartment and this hotel its next to my office.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Reception is highly rude... Staff are inept... Room was dirty... even the ceilings were dirty... Did not want to sleep on thoses sheets... and mattress was extremely hard...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The entrance of the hotel from the back is not appropriate. I hope you fix this problem before the next time of me coming as a guest to your beautiful memories in your hotel. Other than that, everything is fine and I am looking forward to come again soon as a guest to your beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: our room which was 1704 with a nice kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments

Address: Sheikh Zayad Road, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Palm Island, the Grand Midwest Tower is located in Dubai Media City on the famous Sheikh Zayed Road and is just 220 yards from Dubai Internet City. Our accommodation is very spacious and each room includes a fully equipped kitchen as well as an impressive list of facilities and service for all guests to enjoy. With a choice of Deluxe Studio, Deluxe One Bedroom, Deluxe Two Bedroom and Deluxe Three Bedroom (interconnecting room) apartments, the Grand Midwest Tower offers a total of 225 luxury apartment suites with contemporary décor and modern amenities. Guests can experience the warmth of local culture, close to Dubai's business district, exhibition and convention centre, golf course, Dubai Marina and Mall of the Emirates, it is the ideal location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Midwest Tower Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.