We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Bar

Buddha Bar
Al Sufouh Road | Grosvenor House Dubai, Dubai Marina, Dubai 118500, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 317 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 5,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Buddha-Bar is legendary, its awesome spectacle instantly promising guests an evening of pure theater and pure pleasure.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Atmosphere 10/10
Food Quality 10/10
Service Quality 10/10
Music 10/10
Just a perfect place for a night out when you want to have some fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that you were extremely pleased with your dining experience with us and for giving us a perfect scores.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    265
    87
    31
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Amazing place and great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place offers a great ambience and amazing food. The service is good but since the place is so crowded the service levels are not the best.
Great food, in appetizers especially tom yum soup was just amazing. Nasi Goreng and Thai green curry were also good. The desserts and wine selection were also good.
Overall a good place, great music and ambience. The only issue was that the tables were small and the place became very overcrowded by 10 pm. But that shows how good and popular this place is.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you had enjoyed your dining experience with us and were well pleased with the ambiance and cuisine we have on offer.

Your feedback is of immense value to us and has been shared to the concerned manager and the team accordingly so that we can learn from your experience and continually review and improve our service standards at the restaurant.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Great Vibe, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Super trendy place to go, see and be seen! Lots of beautiful people!
We were warned about the 'working girls' in Dubai... MEN if she seems to good to be true AND she likes you.... hang on to your wallet! There was a guy playing the violin with the Buddha Bar music, it was amazing!!! We stayed for dinner and the food was great too! We loved everything about this place and would highly recommend it if you like a lively place with great music!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are delighted that you had enjoyed your dining experience at the Buddha Bar and thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our experience as very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yes, music is too loud, but so is in TAO NYC, same concept. The place is absolute gorgeous! Delicious food, but expensive, Nice atmosphere I would come back, but not for the price tag! ;) Service is excellent and Julian Gonzales, the GM, is outstanding!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your comments and your feedback both positive and constructive is truly appreciated and has been shared with the team accordingly.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly overrated/excellent dj”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a reservation 3 weeks in advance as to have a good table with a view by the window. When speaking with reservations the woman informed me that this was in the smoking section. My husband being a former smoker, I was concerned it might bother us both if it became very smokey, but she said it was a much better view and table and didn't get too terribly smokey. So I booked the table near the windows, or so I thought. When we arrived, they sat us behind the big Buddha at a table furthest from the window. When I spoke up, she said they had no special request for such. After such an in depth booking with the smoking and non smoking, I assured her I had indeed made the request, at whomever I spoke with's encouragement. Nonetheless, we had 2 more decide to join us so we took a table in the non smoking section. We were annoyed, but this was fine. It took at least 15 minutes for our server to come take our drink order, without ever giving us a drink menu. I told him this and he said he would be right back with one. He then preceded on stopping at 3 other tables right in front of us to take their order. So another 10 minutes went by with no drink menu. We at this point were ready to walk out. It was late though and we were hungry. The sushi was ok, we ordered the royale platter I believe it was called. A couple of the items were very fishy and we didn't eat them. The drinks were delicious, as they should be for the price. The best thing about this place honestly was the music. Very expensive, and highly overrated. I would save your money and your reservation for elsewhere, but buy a cd. The dj, was amazing. The Grosvenor house was a wonderful hotel with impeccable service, so to say the Buddah bar was a disappointment is an understatement. Also, they should be careful as to basically call their guest a liar when they book 3 weeks in advance to specifically get a certain view. Could have been handled much differently and we would have been fine. It was one thing after another which lead to a poor experience, and a big bill that did not fit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Buddha Bar at the Grosvenor House Dubai. Though we are glad to note the you liked the music played by our DJ and drinks, we are truly sorry to know that there were couple of points that you have mentioned which have caused you some disappointment.

Please be assured that we take all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance to us, hence, it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak with you personally and therefore kindly request you to contact us directly on Guestservices.Grosvenorhouse@starwoodhotels.com

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Bar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.