We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gold Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Gold Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Gold Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Mina Road Bur Dubai | PO Box 66431, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ready To Visit
Ranked #175 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
La Chapelle-en-Serval, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the mercure Gold Hotel for 2 days and enjoyed the quality of this hotel.
The staff is professional and friendly. We arrived earlier than the check in time and they made efforts to give us our rooms.
The rooms are relatively big and the bathroom also, with one bath tub and a shower. The hotel was quiet during our stay.
The location is certainly not the best one in Dubai, but it is a good value for money residence.
The in room dining is ok although the offer is limited and not the finest.
There is a small pool on the roof if you need to be refreshed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jonathan1293,

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to receive your feedback and to note that our overall service and facilities met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    233
    105
    27
    17
See reviews for
60
147
57
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I went out to Dubai on a 3-4 week business trip involving work in the Dry Docks facility.
The company booked me into the Mercure Gold Hotel on Al Mina Road, because of it's proximity to the Shipyards. I actually ended up staying there 3 months, 3rd August to 3rd November '13.

As a hotel for someone on a business trip it was absolutely great, and was able to meet all of my requirements. At one point there was actually 35 of us staying there from the same company, and the Staff were really good with the whole team.
The rooms are all spacious, and the beds are comfortable. For sure you do not feel like you are living in a box. Flat screen television has a fair selection of channels and caters to all nationalities.
In room internet was a bit of a problem at first, but the IT Manager placed a mobile router on the desk in my room, and it worked perfectly after that.

Menu's are repetitive, but having said that I was there for a long time. For someone on a 1 - 2 week trip it would be fine. The quality of the meals improved greatly over the period of my stay, and I put this down to the leadership of the new General Manager, Sven. The wine list could do with some improvement in terms of quality. Most people are prepared to pay the price for a good bottle of wine!

The Staff, were all really friendly, and helpful. The front desk team lead by Miss Pritha and Abhishake, (forgive my spelling), really go out of their way to help solve any problems you may have. On the Concierge Desk is Vipen, whom I have know for about five years, and from his previous hotel. He is a real 'Mr. Fixit'!

Finally, the Assistant Director of Sales, Evonne Sequeira. This Lady is determined to make sure that guests know that the staff are there to assist at all times, and she makes sure that she is leading from the front, at the interface between guests and staff.

All round an extremely pleasant stay, and I expect to be there again sometime in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are the same, although I'm not sure. If you don't mind traffic sounds, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you so much for the detailed review about your long stay at Mercure Gold Hotel, Dubai.

We are very pleased to know that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered to you during your stay and that we managed to live up to your expectations.

We hope you will return soon again as we all are looking forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Gold Hotel.

With kind regards,
Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Despite being loyal member and platinum status this hotel by far my worst experience, rude staff particularly front disk. Rooms are tiny and bathrooms dirty i don't recommend to any one, and i will never even think of staying at mercure chain

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Raed T,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinion of your recent stay with us.
First of all please accept our apology for the negative experience at our hotel.
It is always a disappointment for us when the guest satisfaction could not be met and like to add that the service provided to you does not reflect the usual level of curtsey we attempt to offer.
In fact we receive very positive comments overall, especially about the friendliness of our team members. Therefore we are taking necessary steps to ensure this experience remains an unfortunate exception based on the email received from you earlier. I had the opportunity to respond to you directly already in detail and hope we will have the chance to welcome you again being able to show our true colors.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel gives you good value for money. Great, clean room and friendly and helpful staff. Location is okay, but it demands a taxi to take you to metro, Dubai Mall, Dubai Creek and other places you would like to go. Taxis are quite cheap, though. Don´t expect spectacular views. The only view is from the roof top terrace. I would have expected a hotel of this quality to supply wifi in the rooms. However it is only free in the lobby, just as mentioned on the booking website. But - I was disappointed when buying wifi in the room that it was per unit, meaning that once you logged on your computer, you could not use your smart phone, tablet or other units at the paid rate. I did expect more of Dubai in 2013 and it is the only reason for not rating this hotel higher.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Lars Sohom,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Gold Hotel, Dubai and taking your time to review us on Trip advisor.

In regards to the Wi-Fi connectivity, kindly be informed that we are in the process to upgrade the service.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Dubai.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a 5 star experience for a fair price! It was almost half the price of the average 5 star hotel, but the rooms and service were just as good and well organised.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Zalthawa,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during your recent visit to Dubai and providing a feedback.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you compare our service with 5 star level.
We look forward to welcoming you again.


With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Baring in mind this is just a three star hotel the room and facilities are superb. Nice comfy bed, good sized bathroom. The bar is pleasant and the staff in their are friendly. However.....

Reception staff the whole check in and check out seemed to be based around my use of the mini bar and deposit required. On check out I was kept waiting whilst a call was made to a phantom individual and then kept waiting for five minutes with no explanation. The fact the mini bar wasn't stocked properly to start with seemed marginal.

"Could I book an extra night?" I enquired on check in. "No you need to do it online". In conclusion room nice, just didn't feel the staff had their hearts in it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHD, General Manager at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Dave P,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept our apology for the delay at reception. It does not represent the quality of service and standard we aim to achieve at our hotel and working on improvements. Kindly also note that Mercure Gold Hotel is a 4 star hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Hotel

Address: Al Mina Road Bur Dubai | PO Box 66431, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.