We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best sushi place EVER!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OKKU Dubai

OKKU Dubai
The H Hotel Dubai, 1st Floor, One Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai 125511, United Arab Emirates
0097145018777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 5,560 restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $100 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Introducing a New Style of contemporary Japanese cuisine to the Middle East dining scene catering to the discerning fish and meat lovers, as well as vegetarians alike. For the first time, "cutting" edge service, style, and design are combined with a see-and-be-seen atmosphere that is set to revolutionize the Dubai restaurant scene and elevate it to a whole new level. Okku has scanned the globe, to put together one of the hottest management and kitchen teams in the industry, who have all relocated to Dubai to set a new standard in modern Japanese cuisine.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“best sushi place EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

it sells sushi and sashimi and burgers wrapped in lettace and sweet potato french fries and even green tea with jasmine

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    134
    63
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You are not cool enough. Leave.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The sushi here is first class. Fresh. Creative. Tasty. Fun to look at. They are limited on the types of fish they serve. I guess it's tough to fly some of the more exotic fishies to Dubai. But they more than make up for this with outstanding rolls that skillfully mix flavors and textures. The spicy rock shrimp appetizer hits a high note. Service was friendly but at times amateur hour.

The place can't figure out whether it's a sushi restaurant or a night club. Great music at rock concert volumes. Female staff in micro skirts -- I'm not complaining! Black decor with a disco ball.

Half way through dinner the staff started combining smaller tables into long seatings for groups of fourteen or sixteen people. They needed my table to make up a table for sixteen. As the cool and rich kids arrived, they presented my check and told me my dinner was done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good but not blown away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went there for lunch. Very stylish interior. Professional and friendly staff, very well trained.
I ordered Hibachi (Miso Soup, One Small Plate, One Donburi Set, Ice cream or Sorbet and a glass of red or white housewine or beer).
The complimentary glass of green tea was well temperatured and good but a bit tasteless. As small plate I had grilled chicken and spring onion skewers which where delicious. The cod I had for the donburi was perfectly cooked and very tasty as well.
The housewine had the right temperature and was very good. The green tea icecream I had for dessert was simple.

Overall: Very good lunch well presented but i'm not blown away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great taste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you're looking for a luxurious dining experience with great tasting food this is the place. I ordered lots of items from the menu, and was satisfied with how everything tasted! The portions were fulfilling. The staff was fine, the ambience was good. At night it gets more crowded with a Dj and more pumped energy. Great spot for a business lunch or a fancy dinner. Make a reservation, especially on weekends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant is too expensive and the staff arrogant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I am guest at the H Hotel, I was suggested to go to this restaurant within the Hotel, my experience has been negative, at the entrance they make you feel miserable if you have not made a reservation although there are empty tables, they ask you to wait, once you get inside the staff is arrogant and the food is very extremely expensive for what they offer, there are other places in Dubai where you can eat better and the price is more reasonable. Stay out is the only recommendation I can say.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OKKU Dubai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to OKKU Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OKKU Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.