We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, pricey, pseduo-Japanese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OKKU Dubai

OKKU Dubai
The H Hotel Dubai, 1st Floor, One Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai 125511, United Arab Emirates
0097145018777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 5,571 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $100 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Introducing a New Style of contemporary Japanese cuisine to the Middle East dining scene catering to the discerning fish and meat lovers, as well as vegetarians alike. For the first time, "cutting" edge service, style, and design are combined with a see-and-be-seen atmosphere that is set to revolutionize the Dubai restaurant scene and elevate it to a whole new level. Okku has scanned the globe, to put together one of the hottest management and kitchen teams in the industry, who have all relocated to Dubai to set a new standard in modern Japanese cuisine.
Odawara, Japan
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great ambience, pricey, pseduo-Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Okku has a great feeling from the moment you arrive - everything very fancy and upmarket. The lounge area and bar are great. Music from the DJ was great (he's an Egyptian guy, and there every Saturday night apparently). There was even a little bit of dancing going on!

We tried all sorts of things from the menu - way too much food actually, in the end. Staff probably should have warned us we had over-ordered by so much, it must have been obvious. And in fact overall, service was good but not exceptional and really should be better for a place this good (and price tag to match).

If you're expecting "real" Japanese, note this: I've eaten (and cooked) authentic Japanese food for over 15 years, and I live in Japan. Not much about Okku is actually very Japanese - not the music (80s & 90s western and Arabic hits), and more importantly not the food. If I forget that though, the food was actually almost all very delicious and well prepared. My friends, who mostly aren't familiar with "authentic" Japanese, seemed to enjoy and have no complaints.

Final note: there is some ticket shock when the bill arrives. Nothing is cheap, but that should be obvious from the moment you step in the door (and probably before). I still think it's reasonable value for a stylish and fun night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    91
    30
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great music, average food & seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

OKKU is all about the music & bar. The food is contemporary Japanese and all in all is fair, however, Dubai offers other quality options with lesser fuss & cost.

THE GOOD:

1. The music, the buzz at the bar... awesome!
2. The Yellowtail Carppacio, Tuna Tataki, Foie Gras Skewers... all were excellent.
3. Miso Cod is a must.


THE BAD:

1. The attitude starts at the time of booking (and don't think about showing up without one!). They need a credit card guarantee & if you are 15mins late, they will bump you off (so says the email confirmation on the booking).

2.Tried calling them from the taxi for directions, met by an IVR system and could not reach them at all! Wow, this was worse than calling the bank.

3. Lounge seats were uncomfortable floor stools, stuck in a corner overlooking the service passage. Overall, the corners of the first floor lounge area are useless. The nice tables are in the middle. GF is all sit down dinner tables.

4. Bar is buzzing, impossible to get a drink.

5. Food is expensive (4 small plates & 8 drinks was AED 1600) & as said previously, over-rated compared to other contemporary Japanese eateries of a similar class. Try Zuma, Toro Toro, Siddhartha Lounge all nicer IMHO.


I'd go again, just for the music... not for the food and I'd make sure I had a better table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Food good but service lets it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First time I tried the place based on Time Out reviews, the food was really good, BUT the service and general attitude of the staff was not so great. I got the feeling i was 'lucky' to be eating there, and not that I was paying with hard earned money etc. The service was pushy, asking for a recommendation and all I was recommended were the most expensive dishes on the menu. I was dinign alone and asked for soem water and was delivered a huge bottle, they dont have 'local' water and was annoyed that I had asked this, then said they serve water by the 'glass'! However pretentious the place is, i did enjoy the food. I am a regular at Budda Bar and the food is kind of similar - Black Cod, pan asian twist, sashimi etc, so it was a nice change but Budda Bar service is far better and a nicer place to eat. Would i go again? yes, but not in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a horrible experience with the team. I had booked a table and was given a sofa. I was told that tables are first come first serve while several tables were empty. When asked about the empty tables, i was told they were booked!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth it .."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very good Japanese restaurant and surprisely good service...... If you like Japanese do not esitate to try it...... But be ready for the bill!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OKKU Dubai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to OKKU Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OKKU Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.