We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for the tourist trade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Hadheerah

Al Hadheerah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+97148096194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 5,569 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
“Good food for the tourist trade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A group of us were in Dubai for a company conference and after a long day in the hotel room it was good to get out. It was about a 45 minute ride which was about as far as I would want to travel and is well into the desert.

It's a great complex with lots of seats to eat and watch the shows and dancing. Large groups are put on long tables which are a bit if a challenge to get up from to go to yen buffet. The food is plentiful and varied. Chicken cooked on a spit over BBQ coals, seafood, kebabs, salads and a good choice of deserts.

All the food was tasty and in generous portions - particular favourites of mine was the kebabs and chicken.

There were a number of dancers with loud music playing (really too loud for a decent conversation with my colleagues) and later on an Arabian nights show with horses.

There were also camels and horses to ride and you could get a henna tattoo as well although were very expensive.

Overall a good night.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Show, Pricey, Below Average Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We planned going there when my in-laws were in town and wanted to take them somewhere new .. We were looking forward for this dinner, but it was kind of disappointing. The restaurant set-up is nice, they have a nice show too. There's a big variety of food for every taste, however, the food quality is average. The service was awful, It took them ages to provide us a table with a good view of the show (as specifically requested during the booking). It took them ages to get our orders (and the bill). Shisha quality is average too ..

Although I did enjoy the show, but I wouldn't go there again at this price level. It's not really worth the drive & the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we had gone there for dinner after our strategy session. The ambiance was good and the service was also good. The food was Arabic and had a good spread to choose from. The live music, dance and the sight and sound show kept the night alive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hollywood comes to Dubai - avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Its a long drive out of Dubai city, allow an hour each way, longer during rush hour from the city centre. If, like us, the moment the taxi whizzes off and you have a moment to look around, you realise that you have made a mistake by coming here, then book a taxi straight away as it takes 1.5 hours for a cab to come and get you. The food is okay, served by a mixture of bored and not so bored staff. The show is kitsch and old fashioned. The belly dancer was great but the setting and entire operation is totally devoid of atmosphere. Avoid and spend your money of one of the great restaurants in Dubai followed by a wander around a souk for a sense of "real" Dubai.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Extras are a rip off..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food in the restaurant is good, typical Dubai buffet with Emirati influence which is a welcome change from the usual international stuff, entertainment was also fine with a desert theme, and our grandchildren loved the horse and camel show.
Unfortunately all this was spoilt by rip off charges for the extras. The children had one small henna tattoo each on their arms, 5 minutes each to complete at a total cost of 55 USD, the ritual picture taken when you enter the complex was 27.50 USD. This all rather spoilt it all, yes we can afford to pay, but do not like being taken for a ride, it left a lasting impression of the evening that would not lead us to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Hadheerah also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Al Hadheerah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Hadheerah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.