We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach to your Saves list
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jumeirah Beach Residence | Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel Jumeira with my wife for our 31st anniversary. On arrival we were given a corner room but told that we'll move to a full sea view room on the next day.Our Room was facing a block of flats! When requesting a Full sea view room on the following day, I was told that the Hotel's full and that was it! had a small challenge with the desk guy but to no avail.
Breakfast was good but the staff are totally untrained.Sometime the morning queues were long but for some reasons certain guests managed to jump the breakfast queue with the cooperation of the staff.......never seen this anywhere else in the world..must be a Dubai thing!
At breakfast we constantly had to request t-spoons, butter and coffees practically on a daily basis.
Had dinner one night at the Hotel, average for a 5* hotel and expensive.Dress code inexistant (some people had shorts, some trainers , flip flops and tee-shirts (Contrary to the Hotel requirements). Eat out ...better value & quality food.
The construction work opposite the Hotel was very noisy and continuous all night.
I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. The Grosvenor House less than 1/2 mile away is exquisite for the same money.

Room Tip: I believe on arrival you should request a Higher Floor and a Full sea View Room if you wish to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach on your 31st Wedding Anniversary. I also want to thank you for your valuable feedback. I will look into the matter and would share your comments with the Director of F&B and Director of Rooms Division for their action. I apologise for your unsatisfactory experience.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    697
    217
    65
    39
See reviews for
380
1,324
184
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coin, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

really nice hotel. rooms are small but nicely done...It really did not matter about the size as the beds were soooo comfy!!!! im afraid now i suffer from a bad back,so the bed in a hotel is so important to me..i can honestly say you will have a great sleep,they are the same comfort as the w hotels!!!! Lovely pool even though it was small, but i can imagine in high season it could get very crowded...good atmosphere and food in the irish bar,with a really nice helpful,jolly manager..would definitely stay again when i am next in dubai. The construction did not bother us as we were on a higher floor..anything above 20 is no prob.

Room Tip: obviously due to the construction work,only the rooms from floor 20 upwards are better for not being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach. It is satisfying to know that a good night's sleep is very important for you and our signature beds lived up to your expectations. You can even order it for yourself if you so wish. Kindly send me an email on customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae to know more details. I will share your comments about the bed, the pool, and the service provided at The Hub with the team. Thank you for your time.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Deepak was the delightful manager who suggested the wines to accompany the fine selection of French cheeses (which must rate as the best selection in Dubai !) and also made us feel at home in the Plantation Lounge. Thank yoou Deepak !

Laura was the new French lady who kept us charmed with her care.

All the are great.

Cheeses fantastic ( good temperature !) Wine good. Jazz was Great and singer up with the best !

Go and enjoy the laid back evening and relax!

Maybe some more palms are needed on the deco !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Wine and Cheese night. We are regularly getting good feedback on it which makes us happy and keeps our motivation high. We will consider the above mentioned Ambassadors who made sure your evening went well for our Ambassador recognition program.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need information on our other offers. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay here at the Sofitel. Although the beach is not a private beach, the hotel had friendly staff, clean rooms and a very luxurious atmosphere.
The lobby had a combined twist of Arabic and French feel to it.
However the only downside to this would be the amount of construction work around the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel on your visit to Dubai in December. And, thank you for your positive feedback about the friendly service, clean rooms, luxurious atmosphere and the lobby décor. I look forward to welcoming you back once the construction outside of the hotel is over later this year.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hotel, service by all the staff is exceptional nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel provide a beach kit free of charge which is a nice touch. The hotel pool can get a little crowded at times but the staff will always try and accommodate you - the fact that they ask you not to reserve sun loungers and remove items after 30mins helps with this issue.
Hotel is in a perfect location and I would definitely go back next time in Dubai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for taking the time to share with us your feedback on the sun bed policy observed by the pool side that helps with sunbed issue. I would like to inform you that we have recently placed additional 30 sunbeds to cope with the increasing demand.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We chose the Sofitel due to previous good experience and in this case, the location. As with previous comments, there is some construction work taking place outside hence the 4 star rating rather than a 5. This is not the hotel's fault and I believe the building work should be completed in a year.

The reception area smelled gorgeous, was clean and decorated with hanging stars. It was small however. We had a superior sea view room on the 21st floor, unfortunately it also looked over the building site! The room was modern and stylish and the bed huge and very comfortable.

There were several good places to eat along the promenade. I would recommend Paul's for breakfast or lunch. The beach is fairly good. The construction is due to a 2 storey shopping mall being built and I'm sure when it has been completed the area will be fantastic. Luckily my husband works in the Middle East so I intend to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for taking the time to review your lovely stay. Thank you also for understanding that the construction outside the hotel is not hotel's fault. Dubai Municipality claims to finish the construction by the year end so it should be over soon. I will share your feedback with the team as we share all of our guests' comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can only really affirm what others have said about the hotel.

Staff are fabulous...nothing is too much trouble...the smell in reception is divine. Lifts are slow at busy times. The pool is way too small and there are currently 2 large cranes right in front of the hotel! Not the fault of the hotel I know.
I emailed before I went out requesting a high room. We were given the option of non smoking on level 19 or smoking on 24. We took 19. The noise from the street is quite high..it is the high powered vehicles roaring past. Informally travel with ear plugs and these did the trick!!

Did not eat in the hotel...there are numerous eateries near the hotel which are much cheaper...didn,t have a bad meal whilst there.

There are ample taxi,s just outside the hotel which we used a lot because there is so much to see! They are reasonable. However, the drivers are crazy! They think nothing of travelling from lane 1 to 7 in one swoop! The other advice I would five is not to travel in rush hour....the main route into the city gets very congested.

The rooms are nice enough and we didn,t struggle with wi if connection which is free and very useful. We visited the gold souk, mall of dubai, including the fountain...fab!, the water park and did the desert safari...excellent! I have done separate reviews on those.

All in all good. Would I stay again...probably not

Room Tip: Go as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for your thorough review. I am happy to know that the hotel and the Ambassadors did their best to make your stay as comfortable and as fitting as possible. It is a shame though that the construction outside the hotel tarnished the overall experience. I hope you will give the hotel another chance to better serve you in future after the construction is over.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need any assistance.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#50 Family Hotel in Dubai
#60 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.