We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach to your Saves list
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jumeirah Beach Residence | Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights in October en route to Europe. Had an Emirates package which included airport pick-up/drop-off, accommodation and breakfast. This was very good value. Jumeirah Beach, in my opinion, is one of the best locations to stay in Dubai (we have also stayed near the Mall of the Emirates). There is definitely a holiday feel about the area and it is fascinating sitting in one of the many cafes along The Walk just people-watching and (in my husband's case) "car watching". There are shuttle buses to both The Mall of the Emirates and Dubai Mall and also a pick-up van to take you to the hop-on-hop-off bus.

The hotel, itself, is wonderful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable - the balcony was definitely a bonus. Unlike others, we had no problems with construction noise - we were out during the day and by the time we returned at night the building work had stopped. The only negative with our room was the bathroom - I had major problems with the shower and ended-up flooding the bathroom. Why are most hotel showers these days so hard to operate?

Breakfast was more than adequate and the meal we had one night in the restaurant was excellent.

In all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting accommodation in Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    618
    195
    62
    35
See reviews for
332
1,168
167
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaillard, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed three nights in a junior suite on the 31st floor.

All starts at the Dubai airport, a very warm home, then towards the limo that leads us to the Sofitel.
When we arrived the check in done in your room! very nice! The Butler explained us all.
Discovering our suite, to have seen a good sized suite, oriental style and dark wood against by a carpet that is 70 years instead!

We had access to the Club égallement millesime, friendly with a beautiful view, choice of drinks and canapés.

Negative points are:
- Swimming pool too small, and a real lack of sun longers.
- Large work in front of the hotel, another 18 months, at the same time the hotel informs you.
- AOC resteaurant we tested for the breakfast:
(head waiter not nice!, slow, and do not make a save tea.)


Positive points are:

-The hotel itself is great, although Plasse
- The restaurant ROCOCO!! Turbo the best I've eaten!
Congratulations to Mr. Thomas Pendarovski, who came to greet us.
- The concergerie, great team.

To conclude I would like to thank Mr Martin BORS Gabor (very kind, outgoing and thanks to him and her team we had a nice stay) Pendarovski Mr. Thomas, Mrs. Alice BENOISMrs. Alice BENOIS (smiling, we enjoyed talking to her), Mr. Amod Jha (a person with a great sense of responsibility) and finally Mrs. Schaima (which is handled my reservation, to which answered all my expectations!, thank you again for the Mojito!).

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in August 2012. The staff and service was amazing. I arrived in Dubai from Ethiopia, and my bags did not arrive with me. The concierge staff called the airport for me until my bags were tracked down, and they even went to the airport and picked my bags up for me, so I could continue sightseeing. I’ve never stayed at a hotel with that kind of service. On my last day, my fight didn’t leave until 10PM, but the hotel allowed me to stay in my room until 2PM, and I was still allowed to use the pool/gym and other facilities until I left without an additional fee. Plus, free Wi-Fi! Would definitely recommend to other travelers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff and room were absolutely excellent and luxurious. However, if you are looking for a sunbathing hotel, this is not the one for you. The swimming pool is in the shade for the most part of the day as are all the sun loungers - if you can get one (very limited spaces). There is currently a huge amount of construction work going on outside the hotel - this created a lot of noise and the view was of two cranes.

Room Tip: Ask if the construction work is happening outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Initial impression on arrival was excellent, check in was welcoming & very professional. The accommodation did not disappoint , supersize bed, bathroom including mini wet room with rain shower & separate bath; inter connecting shutters to bedroom were pleasant features. The staff were extremely courteous & knowledgeable - our only minor criticism is that when ordering a taxi to the gold & diamond park neither the concierge or the taxi driver told us that the park did not open until 4 pm on a Friday, so we were dropped off at 11.30 with nowhere to go & managed to flag down another taxi to return, bit of a wasted trip! Thought the concierge should have told us this prior to our setting off. The self service buffet breakfast provided a wide range of options to satisfy all. The provision of beach mats, towels & water was much appreciated. We enjoyed the upmarket Irish bar & simply ran out of time to try all the facilities including Spa, infinity pool & restaurants on offer. It would be useful to have a map of Dubai, including recommendations of places to visit,provided in the room. We would definitely recommend The Sofitel & we are looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived at hotel and decided to upgrade to 65 meter suite. It was around 9pm and the suite had not been cleaned to a 5 star standard. As we were tired we decided that it would be best to allow them to clean as normal the following morning ( we were here for 7 nights ). However, that clean was also disappointing. My wife sat on one of the chairs on the terrace and dirtied both sleeves and back of her dress.

The room director was called and that evening a deep clean took place in our absence and for the remainder of the stay the room was immaculate.

With this room is the facility of a Club Lounge which without doubt was one of the best in Dubai. A little harrassed at breakfast, cutlery and glasses were not replenished without being asked for but the overall experience was very pleasing.

However, the real achilles heel of this hotel is the BUN FIGHT which takes place all day around the swimming pool to get a bed - only 48 loungers for the whole hotel. The beach is a 200 meter walk across a busy road and through a construction site. It really does not smack of any type of 5 star service even though they are happy to provide you with a bag containing towels, water and two beach mats. If you want a parasol you can rent one. You carry this all to a public beach yourself, there is absolutely no shade on this beach and its very busy.

The construction work is pretty much 18 hours a day and you can even hear lorries backing up at 3am. Our room was on the 30th floor and it was still very audible.

So saying all of this - the staff went out of their way to deal with any problems we had, acknowledge us each day and deal with our requests. They were all very pleasant and accommodating.

If you require a restful pool/beach side break in Dubai, this is not the hotel in our opinion.

Outside the hotel there were plenty of restaurants which are dry but of good quality and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Request front facing sea view room as many are side facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#51 Family Hotel in Dubai
#65 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.