We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Al Barsha, Facing Mall of the Emirates | PO Box 283 436, Dubai 283436, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Safwa, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in this place with five of my friends in one large apartment. It was very nice and clean , nothing to complain about. Location is so great, very close to the mall of emirates and its metro station as well. Reception staff were friendly too and I wouldn't mind going back to this place again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The appartments are nice, large, confortable and well equiped, but the furniture as well as the moquette should be renovated.
Nice staff, the cleaning was well done, the reception has correctly served us.
Nice spa and palestra. We have not used the swimmingpool.
Difficlt to find if you are using a taxi, tell the driver near the city max hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the time topaz apartments 2 weeks back. It was an unpleasant experience to say the least. The service is just average. For 3 days no one came to make up the rooms despite reminding the front desk. No facility for Internet service in the entire hotel which came a surprise. We wanted to print out our boarding passes for the return journey which could not be done. The hotel policies are highly inflexible because we were charged for late check out despite the fact that the check in was late than the specified time. I would not go back to this place. Bottom line is it is a lousy place to stay in Dubai.

Room Tip: None that I can share
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment, and found it to be reasonably good value for money, at least by Dubai standards. The place met our expectation in terms of cleanliness and overall comfort--the apartment was sufficiently spacious for 4 persons, and came with 2 bathrooms and a WC and the other usual furnishings. Service was rather average, but at least we got most of the stuff we needed when we asked.

In terms of location, there were pros and cons. It was located across the road from the giant carpark of the Emirates Mall, the largest shopping mall in the world. However, the metro station is located at the opposite end of the mall, which is still some walk away considering the size of the mall and its mazy corridors. If one prefers to travel by taxi, however, then it should not be too much of a problem getting a taxi, which the staff at the reception desk can help with.

One gripe, however, was that this place took us a long time to find, even after multiple attempts at asking for directions (even the locals did not know where it was). The building was actually very easy to locate, beside the main road opposite the mall's expansive carpark. However, the font size of the English translation of the building name on its facade was way too small. We had only realised it was the place we were looking for only when we were 10 metres away from it. This is certainly not a good idea when compounded by the problem with taxi drivers in Dubai (people who have been to Dubai will know that half of taxi drivers don't know their way around the city, drive half asleep, and have a habit of extorting "tips" from passengers when you do not have exact change to pay for your fare).

Overall, however, this place is recommended for people who just need a simple place to stay in for a couple of days. Just make sure you get a good map!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Tried to check in at 6:00 p.m. and our suite was not ready. This should have been a signal for us to check into another hotel. Suite was extremely dirty; rogue hairs in the bathrooms, tubs leaked, sofa stained (did not even sit on it), master bedroom a/c was noisy, worse yet - no hot water for showering! Shame on us for staying.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Topaz Court is a clean, spacious, well-located building with a very attentive staff. Right across the street from Mall of the Emirates and close to everything. This place is good for a short stay and great for a long stay. Comfortable, low-key and a great value for the price in Dubai. I would definately recommend and will go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

This is a great place to stay. The apartments are new, smart and very spacious; the location is fantastic; and the staff are friendly and helpful.

We are a couple with an active 18 month old son and we stayed here for 4 nights. We arrived late in the night after a delayed flight, but checking in was quick and easy.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment, and it was really very large - actually had two bathrooms. The bed was huge, bigger than king size, there was loads of wardrobe space and drawers, a good safe for valuables, and room for our travel cot. The kitchen had everything you need - fridge, freezer, kettle, cooker, microwave, washing machine and all utensils.

Location is right beside the huge Mall Of The Emirates, which has a massive Carrefour supermarket, making it easy to get supplies. There is a food court at the nearest entrance which is very convenient, and there are plenty more choices for eating out further into the mall. And of course you can't mention Mall Of the Emirates without mentioning Ski Dubai. If you have young children, there is a creche / baby sitting service in Magic Planet above Ski Dubai. We left our little boy here while we went snowboarding. There is a station for the newly opened Dubai Metro at the mall too, which goes to the airport without getting stuck in traffic on the Sheikh Zayed Road.

Taxis are cheap in Dubai, and we were always able to hail one quickly outside the building. It's not far to Medinat Jumeirah for eating out & shopping, or to Jumeirah beach.

The pool is on the roof of the building, though it is unheated. I'm sure for most of the year and for most people, this is fine, but we were there in November and it was too cold for our little boy, though the adults enjoyed a refreshing swim. The gym is on the top floor and is excellent. It's good that it is available 24 hours, if you arrive from another time zone, and find you are not sleepy at night, you can go exercise.

There is construction work next to the building, but it didn't cause a noise nuisance. We had read some of the posts and were concerned, but for some reason these builders don't seem to make much noise. I don't know why, maybe they don't use so many power tools. Bring earplugs just in case, but you should have no problems with noise. Besides, there is construction work going on everywhere in Dubai, it would hard to find an area with none.

We did have some difficulty with the taxi on arrival trying to find the building. We had booked through Expedia, but they didn't give a street address, just a PO box. The phone number turned out to be a fax, and the fax number a different hotel. Not sure if Expedia or Topaz were to blame, but would advise others to get hold of address & phone numbers in advance, maybe email confirmation for this.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Topaz. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting good value accommodation in Dubai, especially if you have children because there is so much more space in these apartments than you would have in a hotel room.

One final tip for Dubai - find out about the Dubai Entertainer books. These give buy 1 get 1 free deals on a lot of the top attactions and many restaurants, cafes and fast food places. We picked one up on eBay before travelling, and it saved us plenty.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Barsha, Facing Mall of the Emirates | PO Box 283 436, Dubai 283436, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments offers well-equipped apartments facing the Mall of the Emirates, just minutes from Internet City, Media City, Knowledge Village, Jumeira beach front,Dubai Marina, Marina Walk . Only 25 minutes from Dubai International Airport, each apartment has its own allocated parking space. All the 1, 2 and 3-bedroom apartments are tastefully designed and have full kitchens, view, LCD TV, DVD Player, tea and coffee making facilities. Wi-Fi internet is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Living Courts Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.