We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric courtyard, responsive service....tasty Arabian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastakiah Nights

Bastakiah Nights
| Bastakia, Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates (The Creek)
+971 4 353 7772
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 5,835 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Creek
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Atmospheric courtyard, responsive service....tasty Arabian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went there with my son and his girlfriend after we had walked round the Souks across the Dubai Creek.It was the evening of the night Dubai was awarded the 2020 Expo so great excitement abounded. Sat in a exceptionally pleasant traditional Arabian courtyard. Food was varied and regionally tasteful. Different Houmas flavours with pitta bread dips - delight! Seasoned chicken wings. My main course was Lamb Kebab skewers and vegetables which was tasty, but dry. Followed the Manager's advice as he thought the boys needed more on our plate!. Ummhhh! Son's girlfriend choose better. Her coins of lamb kebab were served with a juicy, delicious ratatouille type sauce and melted in the mouth Overall, lovely dining experience and would gladly go again. Manager and staff were obliging and attentive. Price for 3 courses for adults was around £112. Give it a try and don't be too judgemental is my advice. Tom C Notts

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Due to unseasonal rains we couldn't sit in the court yard which was a shame but the building was pleasantly decorated inside and made a nice setting for some delicious dips and arabian bread. The mint tea was fresh. We were recommended the Moutabel after the Baba Ghannouj we ordered was unavailable and so glad we took them up on it as it was delicious - go for the Moutabel if you get the chance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, atmospheric setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our first night in Dubai and were very pleased we did. Most of the tables seem to be set in a courtyard which despite the high day temperature was pleasant to sit in. The set menu is presented in an unusual way. We decided to go with this and were very pleased as it allowed us to sample a number of local dishes. We found portion sizes very big and service was good - very attentive staff. There is an a la carte menu as well. No alcoholic drinks. Worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Food was interesting and the service was excellent. It is in a heritage area and dining in the courtyard or in the air conditioned interior are both good options.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty but Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bastakiah Nights is beautifully situated adjacent to the Dubai Creek in an old restored building. The wait staff are very kind and attentive. Most evenings they only offer their set menu. The set menu of 3 courses with a bottle of water will set you back about $50 per person. Compared to most Arabic food in Dubai this is VERY expensive. They offer superior quality in taste, but portion sizes are very small compared to most Arabic food in the region. For instance, in my Koresh-e Bamieh, a lamb, okra, and tomato stew, there were 4 small pieces of very tender lamb. Bamieh is normally packed with lamb. Worth doing once, but not twice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastakiah Nights also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Bastakiah Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastakiah Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.