We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay

Dolphin Bay
Crescent Road Palm Jumeirah | Atlantis The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
04-4261030
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #21 of 452 Activities in Dubai
Type: Other, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Bay in Dubai is one of the world’s largest and most sophisticated dolphin habitats in the world. Here you can select from a range of dolphin interactions suitable for all ages and swimming abilities. Experiences range from standing in shallow water to swimming or scuba diving alongside these charismatic creatures. All Dolphin Bay packages also include access to Aquaventure Waterpark.
worthing
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We went for the shallow water meet 6 adults 5 kids u get about 30 mins in the water. My sister paid for the Spectors pass so she got some amazing photos we didn't need to buy theirs I had heard that they face u away from people on purpose but they didn't. U get to kiss and hug the dolphin individually. It was totally amazing I loved it. U then get to spend day in water park well worth a day out and take the monorail to it it's 15 Dirham and Well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    283
    66
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Dolphin Encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The sun was piping hot overhead and the water in the lagoon was freezing cold around my waist and feet but all of this is soon forgotten when you are finally given the opportunity to interact with your dolphin.

Our group was made up of 10 persons (a mix of 6 adults and 4 kids) and each family had there turn to hug, kiss, dance and play with the dolphins all of which is set against the backdrop of the Atlantis. All are photo opportunities in themselves if only just to look back at yourselfe in a wet suit!

The 'Dolphin Encounter' lasts 30 minutes and is suitable for all ages and swimming abilities as no swimming required. Do give yourself about 2 hours for this experience, there is the check in and changing into your black, blue and yellow labelled Atlantis wet suits which takes about half an hour. This is then followed by an informative/interactive chat on dolphins and marine life before they set you free amongst the dolphins.

Do take a change of clothing with you to wear under the wet suit as the water is very cold! The changing facilities are communal and they provide you with towels and a locker. Alongside Dolphin Bay's own boutique store is another souvenir shop and a Starbucks! Travelled with my 7 year old.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

this was just great swimming with dolphins its everything you expect and more, but you do get ripped off for the photo prices, take your own pics or only buy the basic pacage its all you need

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun with dolphin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this trip as this was something I wanted to do, swim with the dolphins! And at Atlantis Bay at the Palm in Dubai, which place could be more suitable? I did the deep water swim,where you get a kiss and hugs from the dolphin, spin in a water and at the end a belly ride, which was the coolest experience! The instructors are good fun and really know their dolphins well. You get a small group of people and one dolphin assigned. It is really cool and would go for it again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An amazing, memorable experience and a must for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We did the "Dolphin Encounter" with our two kids, aged 5 and12. This is the shallow water version that allows young kids to participate. We were somewhat concerned that it may be limited by that, but it was actually a very fulfilling experience for all of us, with a lot of interaction with our dolphin. The way the dolphins obey all the instructions is both impressive and somewhat disconcerting - how is it possible that an animal can be so obedient and predictable in its behaviour. But the staff go our of their way to explain that dolphins are treated well, they participate in only 2-3 events each per day, and in fact live much longer than animals in the ocean, so at least their health is good. In our group, there were ten of us in total and we all individually got a chance to touch the dolphin many times, dance with it or play fetch with it, and to kiss it. We had two of our parents join us as observers, which cost a lot - 60 euros each - for the right to sit close to where we were, see us and take photos (plus access to the watermark and beach). The official photographer's photos were great, however, so we ended up buying these too (the whole set on a USB). The photo of our daughter kissing the dolphin is probably one of the best photos we have of her and represents well this truly memorable experience. A touristy affair, yes, and an expensive one, but very worthwhile, well organised and truly unique - at least in Europe and the Middle East.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Bay also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.