We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Midwest Media City

Save Saved
You added Grand Midwest Media City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Midwest Media City
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sheik Zayed Road | Media City, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 239 Specialty lodging in Dubai
Beirut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Grand DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Grand Midwest Towers hotel. Grand, alright. A Dump of grand proportions. I was mislead by the star rating of 5 on Expedia.com when the property is actually 4 stars officially, and not even worth 3 stars in my opinion. No approach to the hotel from its front entrance unless you are willing to have your shoes dilled with sand by the time you take a 2 minute walk, repeated requests for towels, dirty rooms, filthy and stained carpets, extremely dirty bed head posts, smelly bathrooms, front desk staff that needs training is service, poor room service and improper billing, and the list goes on. If you have money to throw away, still there are better options than this place. Stay away from this property and definitely dont trust Expedia for the information about this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    8
    6
    17
See reviews for
15
13
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed there for more than 5 days, reservation been done by my company up front for 5 days otherwise I would change it at the moment I entered the hotel. The receptionest enter with a debate with me at 3:30 AM regarding my reservation although it been booked and confirmed by my company and he insist to blook around 1500 Dirham or more to make sure about my reservation and it will be paid by my company. Although I stayed in a very big room suitable for family but I don't like it bad smell every where. The duvet and blanket not clean, I took my breakfast only one time (NOT RECOMMENDED) terrible and very poor, I don't recommend this hotel at all. You have many other options in this area and near by areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in December have to say I was optamistic after reading some of the reviews about this place but wow was I impressed! As regular visitors to Dubai I have quite high expectations and all I can say is the value for money on this hotel is FANTASTIC!!!
There was some slight mix up with the rooms as me and my mom were given a double bed instead of 2 twins but this was quickly resolved and we were given a different room with twin beds, which was even nicer than the first room :-)
We had a land view even though I did request a palm view on the opposite side but to be honest I really enjoyed looking out at the hussle and bussle of Dubai and seeing the skyscrapers light up in the night skies, the noise of the traffic did not effect us in any way.
The room was so good words cannot even describe it was like having your very own little appartment with a kitchen complete with cooker and even a washing machine - the room was so fresh and clean upon arrival and every single day it was sparkling - everyone of the staff here went out their way to be as helpful as possible from reception, to the bell boy, to the security located on the enterance at the back.
Yes you do have to use the back enterance but in no way should this ever put you off - as it was christmas there was a massive christmas tree in the lobby which I loved so much - there is no lack of swimming pools here either everything was presented so well and clean throughout the hotel. There is even a gym and a beauty parlour on site that does loads of different things - worth a try if you dont fancy going anywhere.
We had breakfast included it was ok something for everyone but you always got your kitchen if you want to make your own.
The location of this hotel made it perfect to get to everywhere and anywhere, choice of using the metro or getting a taxi or even taking short walks if you know your way around. We normally use a 5* hotel situated on jumeria beach but this year we are coming back to grand midwest and this time for a 3 week stay. Next time I will be asking again for a view over looking the palm would be nice to have that amazing view for our 3 week stay with you.
We cannot wait to stay with you and see all your friendly faces again, a massive thank you and see you in Oct 2013 <3

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a business booking by my husband's employer, so we didnt really have a choice. What I mean is, the hotel made doubly sure we DIDN"T have a chioce by charging us up-front for a full 1months stay plus some 1000 dhs extra for incidentals!! Complaints about this were met curtly by front office staff, and the manager we spoke to was even worse. The entire staff of this hotel need some basic training in customer service, and how to deal with guests, maybe take trips to other hotels in other countries and see for themselves.

The breakfast buffet was a joke, with a few dred up bits of cold meats and cheese. Wide variety of plastic bread "props" but just sliced bread to actually eat! Badly over-cooked eggs done on request. One might think that they would employ a people who actually knew how to cook to do this. We avoided all the restaurants and food at the hotel after the first day. Fortunately there are a few small supermarkets nearby, and good eateries a train station or two away, so we didnt starve!

The apartments are large and spacious. The washer fitting of our bathroom was broken, and was replaced on our second day. This indicates that they do not know of any breakages and that no routine maintenence is done. The safe in the room was faulty and had to be adjusted a total of 4 times during our stay, and once to replace the batteries on the key-pad! Again this indicates no routine maintenance. House keeping service twice a week was satisfactory.

The location is the only thing that is good about this hotel, its walking distance to the metro station and taxis are easy to get.

Do not stay here if you can help it. We certainly would have gone to a better hotel if they hadnt taken a months charge from us upfront!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Reception & door staff good. Rooms okay size and clean. Great location to get around whether walking to the local shops & beach or getting metro to the malls. When we stayed, the pool area was being revamped so could not really use it (2-3rd wk in oct) but good size pool and was looking good when we left. Did not eat in the restaurant. Would happily return when prices are reasonable as they rocketed due to the Gtex Convention which was quite overpriced for what one received at that time.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the opposite side to the pool/bar area as the music is way too loud, even the tv a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great apartment hotel complex.

12 days stay in total partly due to locality within the office area. It was everything you need and more.

The metro that takes you to Dubai Mall, Emirates Mall, Dubai Marina is just in front of the hotel. Surrounding the hotel lacks facilities so you tend to feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, but the Metro helps as Emirates Mall is only 3 stations away.

The internet should be improved. You can only log in one machine. In this era where people carry smartphones and laptops for work, having only allowed to log in one device is ridiculous. Luckily I travelled alone, I could not imagine travelling with my wife and son who both have devices and we have to fight for internet bandwidth connection.

A connection issue on a Sunday drove me mad when they had to take 3 hours to resolve it as the hotel technician has not yet arrived to work. Password expired on the 6th day of my stay though they know I am there for another 7 days. They would not give me another password until the technician arrived. When the technician came 3 hours later, 5 mins was all it took and he issued me a new password. By that time, I have already missed by online Web Conferencing session. Lacks the ability to make a decision.

Breakfast was sufficient though not fantastic. The main dishes tend to be very local / indian flavouring with curries as the main ingredient.

Office was within walking distance and room wise, was clean and sufficient. Air-conditioning tends to be on the cold side but at 45 degree celsius heat outside, I am not complaining.

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is has potential to be much better.
Its location is OK (right next to a Metro station) and it looks good from the outside.
The entrance of the hotel isn't a good first impression. Its like entering through the back door. They could make it so much better.

However, the rooms are of good size, but if you are like me and like a spacious bathroom, you will not find it here. There was one complimentary bottle of water and some fruits for the entire stay of 8 nights ! I just don't get that.
I have to disagree with some people's negative opinion of the staff, I found them to be quite friendly, especially Ram, the bellboy (or man I should say), who was always there in the morning with a smile on his face greeting you at reception.

Breakfast selection is OK, Dinner choice is limited, but there are so many other places a short ride/drive away that you can eat at. The Gym and Pool are standard for this area. But the biggest gripe for me was the internet access, they just seem to have so many problems with charging hourly, daily or monthly, it would just make more sense if they just offered a simpler solution.

Also the atmosphere in the hotel could be better, it just doesn't have the hustle and bustle like other hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid the noise of Sheikh Zayed Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Midwest Media City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Midwest Media City

Address: Sheik Zayed Road | Media City, Dubai 125616, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 239 Specialty lodging in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Midwest Media City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Midwest Media City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Midwest Media City Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Midwest Media City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.