We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubai Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Media Rotana to your Saves list
Media Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tecom | PO Box 503030, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Dubai Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Pretty good hotel for business travellers but a bit out of the way for leisure travellers. However the hotel does run (in conjunction with other nearby hotels) a free shuttle service to Mall Of The Emirates. Channels restaurant provides an excellent buffet breakfast. Nelson Bar is great for watching sports channels and offers good bar food, but it realy ought to be non smoking. Hotel is about 20 to 30 mins from airport depending on traffic. Good internet connection. Rooms are quite nice but no views as the area around the hotel is a bit of a building site - as is most of this area of Dubai.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    255
    67
    14
    15
See reviews for
64
111
46
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I have no complaints about the hotel itself. My only complaint is about its location and its surrounding construction mess and traffic diversions. The hotel is right off of the Sheikh Zayed Road, which should normally be very convenient to access; however, due to all the construction happening around the hotel and all of the traffic diversions that have been set up, it was really stressful for me to find my way to the hotel (I was driving). When I was coming back to the hotel from Emirates Road (opposite of Sheikh Zayed Road), I couldn't find the entrance to the hotel and had to maneuver through many side street before arriving at the hotel. I guess if you are traveling by taxi, then you won't have to deal with the hassle of finding your way around - but if you are driving yourself, beware!
Otherwise, the hotel was quite pleasant. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I'd be happy to return once the construction in that area is cleared up and the roads are back to normal!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Media Rotana is a no nonsense 5 star hotel in a great location. It's service and standards are first class, the rooms are spotless and tastefully furnished, the b'fast is world class. Also accessible in the lobby is the Nelson's bar which is popular with ex-pats and seems to go off nearly every night of the week. We went to the mexican night buffet in the hotel which was also excellent and includes all the booze you can drink, in Dubai! The terrace bar and pool of the media Rotana are a feature, an atmospheric place with good music, great cocktails and perfect for a balmy evening of which there are many in the UAE. The gym and pool are also excellent, no one will be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Compared to accommodations I usually stay (on tight budget), Media Rotana is very gorgeous but this hotel is not so impressing, it is very ordinary. I have stayed similar hotel in past years. If you come to Dubai, it doesn't have to be Media Rotana, there are many other choice with same quality.
The location is not good at all. Wherever you go, you have to choose taxi ( many taxis waiting for guests outside, no worries)
There are 2 restaurants in this hotel, Italian and cafe (24 hours, I think).
Also, there are 2 bars, Nelson(British pub) and the Terrace(roof top). Ladies, don't miss Nelson on Tuesday night (Lady's night 21-23, maybe) Nelson pub looks very popluar, especially weekend, don't miss it, but the pub is very smoky.
English Newspaper delivered every morning, plenty of TV channels and amenities, customer service desk, swimming pool and gym. Everything you might need is equipped.
I booked my room from hotel.com. Breakfast was not included. If you stay here, you can earn Mileage of Emirate airline.
I am happy to have stayed here, nothing is bad at all, but I would rather try another hotel if I ever come back to Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Address: Tecom | PO Box 503030, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#48 Business Hotel in Dubai
#90 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#93 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#99 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Media Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.