We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recomended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Media Rotana to your Saves list
Media Rotana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tecom | PO Box 503030, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“highly recomended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

stayed 2 night after i changed from a nearby hotel. i just wish i booked here from the start.
nice staff, lobby and reception. rooms are modern , big and well furnushed. internet connection is good and have number of resturants and bars. close to the metro station and txies are available outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your recommendation! It is great to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Media Rotana Hotel, and we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    215
    52
    8
    13
See reviews for
44
87
41
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here for 1 week on business visit. The hotel is well maintained, clean, with all luxurious amenities, also with nice bar. Varienty of food items were available for buffet breakfast. However considering the location (not having any good view) of the hotel, I feel that hotel rates are very expensive. I would prefer to stay in the hotel having palm-jumerah veiw (like Gloria hotel with fantastic sea veiw).The service of the all the staff employees were excellent except for one lady staff handling room reservation, she was completely unprofessional while i was enquiring with her regarding the rates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share experience on your recent stay with us. I am happy to know that you found our hotel well maintained and clean.

I understand your concern with regards to the room rate but please be advised that November is a very busy month for all hotels in Dubai, thats why the rates go up during that time.

On the other note, I am glad to know that the service rendered by our team members were excellent however I will need to investigate the issue you had encountered with the room reservation.

I hope that on your future business travel to Dubai, you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

been many times to this hotel located a street away from my house in tecom. during all my visits in the past service was slow and staff bring wrong orders or forget the orders . this time it was my visit after more than a year that I didn't come due to this fact , again I bring my parents who are here for visit on short holidays and it was 4 pm , we sit on the terrace we wait for someone to come than only a waitress come after 10 min and hand the menus , we were 4 adults , asked the waitress to bring abottle of water , a morocan tea and a turkich coffee and asked her to serve these before we order food . she goes and come back and ask what about food , I informed to get us three starters -Oriental mezza , nachos and Chicken quesadillas but asked again to serve the drinks as my mother wanted to enjoy a Turkish coffee asap . I got busy with my emails as I am working and have my lap top same time of taking my family around . 35 minutes passed and still no glasses , no water and nothing served on the table , when my mom asked again about the drinks and I realized how late it was taking I flipped and shouted at the staff to know that the girl who took our order is on break shift ! so it seems no communication ! while complaining food was coming to serve on our table and until moment no water and no drinks ! I cant imagine worse service , I have been 10 years in Dubai and never been in such situation and I feel sorry for this beautiful hotel to reach such levels ! I will avoid to come again or recommend this place to any of my friends. Management have serious work to do in this hotel !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations you brought to our attention.

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience we caused you. The lapses in service standards at The Terrace rendered by our team members are regrettable and simply unacceptable to us. It goes against our values, principles and what we train our team to be. They are trained to provide a consistent high level of service standards, show respect and welcoming attitude to all our guests at all time. I am awfully sorry if we failed to show that in this particular incidents.

A retraining process is underway, and the issues you highlighted are being addressed to all concerned.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I hope this incident will not deter you from using the service & facilities of Media Rotana Hotel.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend as part of a group booking. I was unfortunate to arrive with my wife and 10 year old son around 10.30 pm, although this was pre-warned on the booking made several weeks before. On going to our too we discovered that no bed had been made available for our son, when this was raised with the reception staff it was met with a shrug of the shoulders and "due to an error we have underestimated the number of beds, there are none left" we were then offered a cot for my 10 year old sun, I seriously thought these people were joking. After about 30 minutes of arguing we were promised the additional bed that we had booked in 20 minutes but it will be coming across City from a sister hotel. The bed eventually turned up at 1am the following morning.

When I took the matter up the following day with the hotel management they remained unconcerned, dismissive and unhelpful. I demanded a refund for the nights board which was not delivered, this was refused. We went about our business that day, returned at 3pm and our room had not even been serviced.

This is a bad hotel, poorly managed with staff who no nothing about basic hospitality or customer relations. Who has heard of a hotel that cannot provide the basic requirement of a bed! Oh, and I met at least 3 other families who were met with the same predicament and got the same poor treatment. I was glad to leave although I am still waiting for a refund on the nights board that was not delivered.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, please allow me to thank you for the valuable comments following your stay with us last week. I also would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family and the catalogue of mistakes, and the "less than satisfactory" service you received during your stay.

I have instructed the Managers concerned to re-train our team to ensure proper service are provided to all our guests.

Kindly contact us directly to discuss further your comments with regards to the compensation requested. You may email us at: media.dubai@rotana.com.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice access to hotel from Shaikh zayed road and easy to exit to enter back to Shaikh zayed road.
Breakfast choices are good and staff is courteous.

Since it is very close to Mall of Emirates the evening after hactic day at office is relaxing once you visit the mall

Room Tip: Dont miss the daily breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted on the TripAdvisor.

Reviews like yours are always encouraging and highly appreciated. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast buffet in Channels. We always offer a wide varieties in our breakfast buffet to cater the needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel meets or surpasses the basic requirement for a hotel. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the kitchen crew do a superb job. I stayed at the hotel for a week and looked forward to the breakfast every day. The quality and variety of the choices were amazing. Similarly, the housekeeping staff do an excellent job in maintaining high standards in guests' rooms. The only problems I found were all related to the hotel's electrical systems: 1) When the TV is turned on, the viewer is always forced to look at hotel information before going to a channel, 2) The room lighting is not bright enough for reading, and 3) The elevators don't have lights or loud bells showing which elevator has arrived and is open for boarding. The hotel's location is theoretically OK but the fairly short walk to and from the Metro requires crossing streets without crosswalk lines and walking on unfinished construction sites. That's typical for Dubai, however, and one cannot fairly blame the hotel for that inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! We are pleased to know that you find our team members friendly and helpful especially our Housekeeping team. We will definitely share your kind comments with them to inspire them to do even better at upholding our high standards.

We are also delighted to learn that you love our breakfast buffet and that you look forward to it every day during your one week stay with us. A big thanks to our Kitchen team for preparing a wonderful breakfast spread to our guests on a daily basis.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Media Rotana next time.


Kind regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Media Rotana really excels at service. Every staff is friendly and available at your service at all times. Make sure you take the breakfast option and definitely visit the pool. The value is unbeatable. The best part is the metro is walking distance and can take you to most of the places you want to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaRotanaDubai, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted in the TripAdvisor. I hope you and your family had a wonderful stay at Media Rotana Hotel.

Customer satisfaction is amongst our highest priorities at Media Rotana Hotel and I was glad to read that we were able to meet with your expectation. Thank you for the high praise with regards to our breakfast buffet and swimming pool.

I look forward to welcoming you once again at Media Rotana Hotel.

Kind regards,


Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Address: Tecom | PO Box 503030, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#42 Business Hotel in Dubai
#48 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#73 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#94 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#118 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Media Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.