We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Grill

The Grand Grill
Habtoor Grand Beach Resort & Spa | P.O. Box 75210, Dubai 75210, United Arab Emirates
+971 399 4221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 5,610 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best steak in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been to The Grand Grill several times and enjoyed it every time.

If you're looking for a well cooked, tasty piece of beef - then this is the place to go.

Staff are friendly and efficient and the warmth of the African theme makes this a special place to go.

Whilst you are licking your lips at the end of the meal - I encourage you to try the famous South African Malva Pudding.....and perhaps an Amarula liqueur.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meat... Just amazing meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this resturant, not just because its 2 minutes walk from my apartment, but because the staff and food are awesome. I would argue that the steak is better here than somewhere like The Meat Co. in Madinat Jumeirah. The staff are friendly and provide a great service.

The food itself is great... Maybe a tiny bit on the exenpensive side, but thats what happens when you eat in a 5* hotel.

Tuesday night is Rib and Chicken - All you can stuff for a set price. Highly recommended!!!! But make sure you book ahead because its busy.

No really a 'romantic' place (unless you are both mad about Steak)... I would recommend for groups of friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meat brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food and drink never stops coming. Best to sit outside.
The lamb chops and deserts are top notch at this brunch!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have to agree with fellow reviewer Paul Ransted who I shared a New Year Dinner with at the Grand Grill. 650Dhs for an all you can drink (fizz) set meal of four courses including a 350g steak that was not only cooked to perfection but also one of the best cuts of beef I've ever had - a top three contender for me!
A great night out, fireworks on the stroke of midnight and a 3am finish. Great place to see in 2013.
My only negative was the distance to the toilet after copious amounts of free flowing bubbles!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Didn't quite live up to expectations but lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I had heard great things about this place, in particular from friends who live out in Dubai.
The room has a nice decor and the staff are very friendly.
My husband had a steak which he enjoyed but it was a little fattier than he expected. I had the giant prawns which were nice but didn't blow me away. I did see on the table next to us that someone had fish that looked superb.
We decided to go for puddings which were nice and there was a good selection, my tart was a little dry and could have done with maybe some cream or ice cream. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his cheesecake and would have had a second piece.
In terms of prices they were reasonable for Dubai, drinks can be quite pricey. They also seem to do a good celebration for birthdays, with dancing and singing which looked fun!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Grill also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Grand Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.