We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samaya Hotel Deira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Samaya Hotel Deira to your Saves list
Samaya Hotel Deira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riggat Al Buteen | PO Box 88449, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed for five nights and thought that the Smaya was pretty good although certainly the bathroom fittings needed some attention. Apparently they are working on this. Well it was very comfortable and as i was upgraded to a suite, it certainly helped! A very nice room.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Samaya is a good base for exploring Dubai, very close to the airport and the old city centre. Taxis are very good value, but make sure you get a Dubai taxi, not the "Hotel" taxis which are about three times as expensive.

The stay was great value. If you want luxury it might be better to look elsewhere, but you will pay for it! As a previous reviewer said, you get what you pay for! I didn't use the Hotel facilities much as i was out most of the time, but the pool is nice although rather small.

For those who are interested, note that the hotel is dry and has no bar. This can be amended by a 2 minute stroll to the Dubai Creek Hilton just nearby.

Room Tip: Stay high. Creek facing rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Samaya Hotel Deira as your 5-Star destination in Dubai.

It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of hospitality service.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Samaya Hotel Deira.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
20
29
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Service good , locality of the area quite interesting and enjoyable , average value for money , good for family as well as couples , food price versus quality average , not look 5 star hotel as average hotel , manpower , services peoples is fully loaded and they are not entertain all the guest

Room Tip: i don't have special observation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property on this public forum.
We're pleased to receive your kind comments.

We’re pleased to know that you liked the hotel and its location, however we regret to know that it didn’t match your expectations as a 5 star hotel.

At Samaya Hotel, we work round the clock to ensure that our guests are having the best experience.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you again to our property in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel was nothing like a 5 star one, the rooms were so small there was no space to open a small luggage. the furniture and bathroom was not comfortable or luxury. The staff were helpful except for a few. The pool had no life guard. The buffet breakfast was alright but there were many choices of chinese food instead of international food. no wifi available. It was not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write about our property on this public forum.

We regret to know that your stay with us didn’t match your expectations for a perfect stay.

We are presently conducting an extensive assessment of the highlighted issues and a comprehensive review of our hotel procedures to ensure that something like this does not occur again.

And for the same, counteractive actions will be taken. We value your feedback and observations and we thank you for bringing it to our awareness.

We would like to inform you that we have different options of rooms and suites to match all expectations so our spacious suites could have been better for your needs. We also have Wifi available throughout the hotel, and it’s for free if you book through our website.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you again to our property in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filo5
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place needs renovation.

This is not a five star hotel, not even close by quality. There may be amount of services available that you need to be a five star hotel, but the hotel is old and not maintained. Lot of things do not work in the rooms.

Rooms are old, probably from 90' There are LCD tv:s and other updates but carpets are worn and dirty. Bed is very good. In my first room ventilation brought cigarette smoke in . After rejecting first replacement I got another room where ventilation does not work at all, no replacement air comes in which means that air in the room starts to have very little oxygen in the morning because there is no replacement air coming in. Bathtube is broken, shower makes all bathroom floor wet, etc.

Breakfast selection is good by European standards but not up usual hotel level in Dubai. Lunch buffees in hotel are not good quality. Hotel restaurant chef also really likes milk, almost every dish contains milk. Not a big problem as there are excellent restaurants nearby (for example Sadaf hotel buffee).

Gym is one smallish room. All I needed was there. Gym shower room has water damage, it has strong mould smell.

Service is good, although front desk is busy in the morning. Front desk staff are better than average by Dubai standards.

Pool area on rooftop is very nice. Internet works well in the rooms.

Room Tip: avoid floor 13 as there is some noise from service floor. Probably floor 14 has the same problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property in this public forum.
We're pleased to receive your feedback.

We regret to know that you didn't have a prefect stay as you expected at Samaya Hotel.

We are presently conducting an extensive assessment of the highlighted issues and a comprehensive review of our hotel procedures to ensure that something like this does not occur again. We value your observations and we thank you for bringing it to our awareness.

Our team works round the clock to ensure that our guests are having the best experience.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you again to our property in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel tried to charge me 90 AED for the airport pickup, which was 45 minutes late. The 10 minute ride is 30 AED in a normal taxi. The poor receptionists are greatly over worked. Good hotel, just not a 5 star.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property in this public forum.
We're pleased to receive your kind comments.

We're also pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at samaya hotel, however we regret to know that it didn't match your expectations for a 5-star hotel.

Our team works round the clock to ensure that our guests are having the best experience.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you again to our property in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I visit Al Samaya Hotel for Biz trip.
Room was Clean and amenity was good.
price was reasonable
Breakfast was soso.

Conclusion : Visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohdHussein, Manager at Samaya Hotel Deira, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property in this public forum.
We're pleased to receive your kind comments.

We're also pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at samaya hotel, however we regret to know that you didn't like the breakfast.

We are presently conducting an extensive assessment of the highlighted issues and a comprehensive review of our hotel procedures to ensure that something like this does not occur again. We value your observations and we thank you for bringing it to our awareness.

Samaya Hotel is a preferred Luxury Hotel in Dubai for Business & Leisure travelers.
Our 5-Star Hotel is perfectly located near Dubai Creek as well as the top shopping & entertainment destinations as Deira City Center, Al Ghurair Center & Reef Mall.

Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you again to our property in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montemesola
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've been here for 6 nights, breakfast included, camera club.
first of all, this is not a five star, in my opinion. Bathroom is not comfortable, especially the bath/shower. Breakfast is not really well organized e there is no variety, besides, in the breakfast room, there is alwaysa a fried smell. I'd like only the room cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaya Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Hotel Deira

Address: Riggat Al Buteen | PO Box 88449, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 487 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samaya Hotel Deira 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Hotel Deira A Five Star Property is strategically located in the commercial and business district of Deira, overlooking the panoramic view of the renowned Dubai Creek. With 16 stories, the hotel is a splendid achievement in modern architectural design, comprising of 213 rooms and suites with lovely views over the Creek, each with luxury furnishings and linens, stunning marble bathrooms, electronic do-not-disturb and make-up-my-room facility, high-speed internet access, LCD televisions, evening turndown service, robes, in-rooms safe and mini-bar.The hotel offers short and long stay guests with top of the range facilities in a convenient location and you can enjoy its numerous facilities, delicious cuisine, health club and its rooftop pool, including our elegant restaurants and café where you can enjoy diverse light and buffet & a la carte dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samaya Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaya Hotel Deira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.