We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lebanese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Hallab Restaurant & Sweets

Al Hallab Restaurant & Sweets
Al Garhoud | Opposite Dubai Creek Golf Club, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 282 3388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #269 of 5,625 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Al Hallab started out as a family business in 1881 in Tripoli, Lebanon and throughout generations evolved to be a renowned brand name in sweet manufacturing and retail. In 2002, Al Hallab Restaurants was founded in Dubai by Mr. Ghassan Hallab, a veteran in Lebanese cuisine and expert in the hospitality industry.Al Hallab Restaurants, headquartered in Dubai, is one of the leading brand names in Lebanese casual dining and events catering. Currently Al Hallab operates four full service Lebanese restaurants; three of which are Lebanese Grill specialty located at: Garhoud, The Dubai Mall, and Mall of the Emirates; and a new flagship Lebanese Fresh Seafood restaurant “Al Hallab BAB EL BAHR” located at MBR Boulevard, Downtown Dubai.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Enjoyed this restaurant....it has excellent Lebanese food... Certainly the best hummus I have tasted in Dubai. The grilled meats very succulent & soft, and the freshly baked khaboos were a delight. The staff were also very polite & friendly.
I was, however, disappointed with the shawarmas.... they were mediocre at best. C'mon guys... you certainly can make the shawarmas on par with the rest of your food. And sadly, unlike other Lebanese restaurants, they did not serve any greens or raw veggies with the food...
Other than those two points, the over experience was great! Certainly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, plenty of choice, fast and courteous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to the Dubai Mall restaurant, seated immediately, order taken promptly. Food arrived much more quickly than we expected, and all of it was excellent.

Plenty of choice for vegetarians, but not from the main meal menu - chose from the mezze selections, which is what we often do in Middle Eastern restaurants.

Surprised at comments from other reviews about poor service - all of the tables around us were being served promptly by staff who seemed very switched on and professional. Don't confuse this restaurant with top-end silver service; it's more casual and relaxed, but a good experience for a nice meal in a pleasant setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ujjain, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went there to buy baklava,as suggested by a local friend,there is lot of variety in baklava,and they take really some time to pack it for you.looked tempting but we were really disappointed.Probably after having Turkish Baklavas,it's difficult to be impressed by these.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good For Middle East Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hungry after wandering around, mostly lost, in the ginormous Mall of the Emirates we really wanted local cuisine. However, the mall is full of western chain-type eateries. Luckily we found Al Hallab which offers a good selection of Lebanese(?) and other ME dishes. We had our usual hot and cold mezze and then lamb and chicken sharmas and kebabs followed with Arabic ice-cream. All rather good and no complaints. A pretty good restaurant for a mall.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst service in Dubai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The food was delicious but the service was awful. When we first went in we had to walk around to get someone's attention. When we did the waiter didn't acknowledge us and took his time getting the menus and guiding us to a table. Not being familiar with Lebanese food we tried asking for advice and were given curt one word replies. Not helpful. As our dishes arrived there was no sign of our drinks. When we pointed this out to our waiter there was no apology. He walked off and sent someone else back with the wrong drinks. It's a shame because the food was lovely but spoiled by surly service. We didn't complain to management as he appeared to be one of the senior staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Hallab Restaurant & Sweets also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Al Hallab Restaurant & Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Hallab Restaurant & Sweets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.