We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience with the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Park Hotel

Shalimar Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Park Hotel to your Saves list
Shalimar Park Hotel
43Rd Sikka | PO Box 21748, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #476 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Manama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience with the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was on a short trip to DUbai and booked the hotel for couple of days. I had to check out early because I could not sleep the whole night. The hotel room had so many bugs and I was attacked by them on bed. It was a real nightmare. I had to check only after one night and they did not refund for the next night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    9
    29
See reviews for
9
8
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumgait
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed there for one night. It was the worst experience I had with a hotel. Unpleasant staff, who will try to cheat you if you want to buy a SIM card. We came earlier than check-in, but they could not provide us a room. Then they gave us a room with the smallest WC and noisiest AC. I could not even move inside the WC. The room's size although was good. And the location, the taxi driver could not find it. Though it is said to be in Deira, but it is quite far away from the shops, you have to walk around 30 minutes to get there. So this is the WORST experience I had with a hotel in my life!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

When you entering this hotel the smell of the nasty food cooking is kicking in your face . When you entering your room the huge army of cockroaches are welcoming you . When you entering the bathroom there is no words to explain how nasty view you can see . You don't even want to use the toilet . I rather sleep in the airport instead of staying in this hotel . I have no positive things to say about this place . It is not cleaned period , bugs bugs and bugs , horrible location , whole property smells like indian food , no service , no regular hot water , rock hard beds , no normal A/C and finally very ugly front desk clerk .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I booked this hotel at booking.com, its the cheapest one so expect for the worst, bed bugs, cocroaches crawling, they said breakfast is included but nothing provided, no internet connection, hardest bed you could ever sleep on, no free items such as toothbrush toothpaste shaver bottled water, i dont usually bring my own towel whenever i stay in a hotel because i expect them to provide me but after several request they havent given me any towel, tv is not working, noisy neighborhood, you can hear conversation from the other room and even people on the street, aside from the sound of airplanes passing above almost every minute, location is hard to find, prostitutes in the area, unprofessional staff specially an ugly Indian receptionist... My verdict, never stay in this hotel even if its the last available one in Dubai!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel, thats the most helpful tip i could ever share with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Located in an area of Deira no taxi drivers seem to know, not even when provided with a hotel card with a map on the reverse side.

ROOM: Small single rooms, some with a view to an apartment building wall only 3 metres from the hotel window. Better rooms have a view to the street and a mosque across the street, so that prayer calls wake you up sometimes even before 5am. Bed mattresses are very hard and springs can be felt through the bedsheets. Noisy but efficient AC machine on the wall. No reading lamp provided either for the bed or the desk, even when asked.

BATHROOM: All floors are tiled with shiny glazed tiles, even the bathroom floors, so make sure you hold on to something in the bathroom so you won't slip and fall. The rooms are provided with bathroom slippers, but after a shower they are just as slippery as your bare feet (hence the name). Lukewarm water drips from the shower head at an amazing speed of 2 litres per minute. Dangerous-looking bare wire ends hang from the bathroom ceiling.

SERVICE: Plain and monotonous toast + omelet breakfasts are served by a nice old man looking like Manuel from Fawlty Towers 30 year later. Rest of the large male staff are much less service-oriented. Rooms are cleaned only if you leave your key when you go out. A rotting banana and other foodstuffs from a previous occupant were waiting in the clothes closet when I checked in. Missing remote control for the TV was never provided. When you ask the receptionists to call a taxi, the bellboy comes and leads you to a busy street corner 100 metres from the door and hails a taxi for you. When I asked for the missing hotel book provided by my tour operator, they just said someone took it and made no effort to ask for a new copy from the tour operator. In other words, truly 'effortless' service throughout.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Awful, I should have listened to other reviews.cockroaches in room, dirty rooms, dirty bed sheets, dirty old men at service counter.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

There is a place for unvarnished, unsophisticated hotels in this world – especially in a place like Dubai, where "budget" isn't part of the vocabulary, but the Shalimar Park was offering facilities and service that barely deserved the term "modest" yet had the temerity to charge nearly $300 via the internet for a night – despite the board suggesting prices a quarter of that figure.

This was, of course, conference and shopping festival season in Dubai, and every room in the entire Emirate was booked, so for a little shakedown, the owners ratcheted up their prices to exploit the dearth of rooms.

If I was paying $50, I might not have complained. But I stayed in a $15-a-night B&B in Khan Khalili that had better rooms. The bed was like a snooker table, the air-con unit sounded like an outboard motor, they left second-hand flip-flops by the bathroom door, the nearby mosque speakers seemed to be pointed through the windows, and ordering a taxi meant being pointed to the street....

Overall, a horrible experience, made worse with the knowledge that I was being thoroughly ripped off.

Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalimar Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Park Hotel

Address: 43Rd Sikka | PO Box 21748, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Shalimar Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.