We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai food in Dubai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
24th Floor, Dusit Thani Dubai | 133 Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
00971 4 317 4515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 5,835 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The finest taste of Thailand can be experienced at Benjarong. Enjoy traditional Thai music and dancing complemented by aromatic and authentic Royal Thai Cuisine.
Frilsham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thai food in Dubai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

its an Excellent Thai restaurant, Bangkok food in Dubai well worth going , service and food and décor were excellent

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Benjarong claims to be the first Royal Thai restaurant in Dubai. It has a nice interior with a large roof made out of dark wood. We booked for the evening but our name was not on the booking list. We were given a nice table at the window anyway with a view onto Sheikh Zaeyed Road.
The drinks and food selection is quite large. I ordered a draft beer which was sour tasting. I had to return it and was given bottled beer as replacement. The service was apologetic, but did not offer the beer on the house in return.
We ordered a mixed appetizers platter which had some quite nice dipping sauces. The mains were plentiful and I cannot concur with previous reviews that they were on the small side. The presentation was interesting and the taste was good.
I very much like Thai cuisine but I was a bit underwhelmed by the Benjarong. The food was good but not great. I have had better Thai food in much cheaper places and I expected a bit more from a higher class restaurant.
I had the feeling the Benjarong was playing it safe and failed to be innovative with their dishes. I wouldn't be surprised if the dishes haven't changed since it first opened.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food warm Thai hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ordered mainly starters and dessert. Everything was delicious. There was Thai girls dancing traditional Thai dances as we ate.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Restaurant with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Since I was staying at Dusit Thani Dubai, I went to have dinner at their signature restaurant < Benjarong one night. It is on the restaurant floor, 24th floor.

The restaurant is decorated with a complete Thai theme. From furniture, lightings to table settings, you might once think that you were in Bangkok. When we got in and asked for a table for two, the waitresses there greeted us in their traditional Thai way, then led us to a table next to the window. They served us hot tea and hot towels once we sat down, and gave us the drink list and menu with no delays. My hubby and I have ordered a Thai Beef Salad, Yellow Curried Chicken, Stir-fried Morning Glory, Thai fried rice and Thai Sticky rice with coconut milk and mango. Dishes came in quite small portions, but were all in nice presentations. For food itself, some of them were quite delicious, but not all. Waitresses were well trained and served us each dish of food to our plates once the food came. Before we paid, they gave us hot towels for refreshing again. Of course, greeted us and led us to the doorway when we were leaving the restaurant. Service there was so amazing, no complaints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Thai Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great service, Thai dancers for entertainment and good views! Quite expensive but worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjarong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.