We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu is now Tex Mex - no longer real mexican” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Bonita's Taco House

Maria Bonita's Taco House
Umm Al-Sheif Street, Dubai 0000, United Arab Emirates
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,215 of 5,625 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Menu is now Tex Mex - no longer real mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for Tex Mex, then you might want to consider this place. I have been eating in this place for the last 5 years. I went last week and noticed that the menu changed. I asked the waiter and he mentioned that new management was in place. You will see the new menu and online menu are different ( old management ). I am Mexican and I wouldn't go back or recommend this place for those seeking a real Mexican food experience. Their horchata and salsa roja were good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    30
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good taste and big portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

For me, this is usually a go to spot for lunch after the beach as its on the Jumeirah Beach Road. Portions are huge and the food is tasty. Make sure you get the guacamole as an appetizer (but don't eat too much it really is filling and you won't have room for your main course!) and my fav drink is the pina colada, their margaritas are also yumm (but no alcohol).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ordered a chicken chimichanga and got a fish chimichanga. No problem they changed it out and while massive it tasted like a shawarma!!!! Very unmexican in flavor. And no desert! Both the white cake and chocolate was out!!! Thats okay went right next door and had a sweet and coffee. I was hoping for the best but will probably not go back. They really are not selling mexican food as the flavors are all wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not The Mexican Food I Know from California”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times before and it was ok. This last time it simply lacked anything authentic Mexican. The service was absolutely horrible. The waiter would not accomodate where we wanted to sit, even though there were only four people outside and had an attitude afterwards. The chips were overcooked and they do not offer flour tortilla chips. The enchilada sauce red saice is missing flavor and quite runny. The menu is extremely basic. The prices are way too high for the food. This is just another place claiming to be "authentic" to take advantage of those people who have not had the joy of tasting real Mexican food. Being from California, I may just be spoiled but I recommend looking elsewhere. No mole, no taquitos, no chipotle anywhere...just lacking. Flies everywhere.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic mexican..simple & tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Maria Bonita was opened by a Mexican pilot, and is a simplistic yet nicely decorated & colorful Mexican restaurant in the heart of Jumeirah. It's very popular among the expat community.
The food portions are huge (couldn't finish our plates), the service friendly albeit a little slow, and the atmosphere quite lovely with a few parrots and lots of traditional wooden furniture with flags representing the colors of Mexico.

I recommend you sit outside on the terrace for lunch, especially if it's a nice sunny day.
The restaurant was recently renovated, but not all changes were good. Their weird & wonderful tortilla machine is no more (last time I checked), and the new menus looked terrible.

Nonetheless, the real reason you should visit this place is for the MARIA GUACAMOLE!
Hand-made and freshly made by a patron, dipping some tortillas into that heavenly mixture is something that makes me salivate as I'm writing this review.
Couple that with some cocktails and Chicken/Beef Quesadillas to round up your bellies, and you've got yourselves a delicious afternoon lunch at a somewhat classic Mexican place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Bonita's Taco House also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Maria Bonita's Taco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Bonita's Taco House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.