We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis, The Palm to your Saves list
Atlantis, The Palm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Half Board Offer
Ranked #47 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
Washington Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at The Atlantis. From previous reviews I can say that I was a bit apprehensive about our trip, having previously stayed at Mina Al Salam.

However, I cannot see what there is to moan about. But then again you cannot please some people!

Check In - We arrived just after midnight and check in was swift and efficient, we were in our room and luggage delivered within 10 minutes of arriving. We were upgraded to an Atlantis room, which faced onto the Palm, with excellent views of the palm, Royal Pool and the Burj Al Arab. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my sisters 40th birthday, my sister was provided with a beautiful birthday cake and we were also left chocolates in our room. The balcony was small, but to be honest we only used the room for sleeping and changing.

Room - the rooms were spacious and always well cleaned, the only thing that was missing was a toilet brush, although it certainly never crossed my mind to moan about it. We had turn down service every night, and were left water after they cleaned the room and also after turn down. The beds were large and extremely comfortable, the bed linen was simple but nice. The only thing I really missed was a dressing area with a dressing table, as there really was nowhere to plug your hair dryer in and sit and dry your hair, a small gripe, but it didn't spoil my holiday.

Pools & Sea - Both pools were nice, but we preferred Zero entry pool as it was much quieter than the Royal pool. Atlantis seems to have taken on board some previous comments, as they now provide cold towels at 12.30pm, iced lollies at 1.30pm and sun glasses cleaning at about 2.30pm....all free of charge.

The sea was calm and lovely and warm, although very salty, but made floating very easy!!! there is a little bit of coarse sand just as you enter the water, but certainly not as previous reviewers have said, no way could you say it was pepples, and as for the jelly fish, I did see one small jellyfish, but also saw a child throwing sand all over it and the childs mother laughing at her sons actions....so i'm not surprised people are getting stung if this is how people are treating them....and bear in mind the sea is where they live!!!! and theres nothing the hotel can do about jellyfish being present in the Sea!!!

Staff - All the staff were extremely friendly and everyone said good morning, good evening etc...We certainly had no complaints about any member of staff, and we had excellent service throughout our stay.....Service where service is due is what I say...

Aqua-Adventure - We went most days and had a great time, it's certainly excellent if you have children as you can stay there all day. I have been to Wild Wadi and other water parks in the Middle East and this water park is just as good. The food in the Water Park is pretty standard for this type of venue - fast food - burgers, pizza's and wraps and french fries.....it's no different to any other water park in the Middle East...what do people expect???? a 5* gourmet meal???

Restaurants - some of the Restaurants were pretty expensive, but the hotel had specials on every day, and the food in the Restaurants was no more expensive than the Restaurants at the Mina Al Salam. However, we only ate at one of the hotel Restaurants - Seafire, I had a lovely meal, however, my sister and my husband ended up with suspected food poisoning from this Restaurant....it may have been from the peppercorn sauce they both had, and my husband ended up not leaving our room for 2 days!!!

Breakfast - This was included with our stay and always plenty of choice at Saffron and Kalaidoscope, we never once had any wait to be seated.

General - Although the hotel is a little way out, taxis are cheap..just over £5 to go to Emirates Mall...and Madinat Jumeirah, there was 5 of us so only £2 return each, it was slightly more to go to Dubai Mall, but worth visiting just to see the water fountains.

Some hotel guests did hang their washing over the balcony which did spoil the look when approaching the Hotel...and that is something the Hotel should address. I cannot say that we came accross any lager louts in the hotel and if people choose to wear football shirts it does not mean they are are a lout, and surely it is everyones preference on what they wear.

We enjoyed our stay at The Atlantis and would consider returning, I would certainly reccommend this hotel to families, but if you are a couple wanting a quiet restful holiday this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,917
    1,522
    571
    225
    236
See reviews for
3,478
2,179
91
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,779)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

First off, i love Dubai, i can't get enough of it. I have been 3 times in the last 2 years, and stayed at 3 different hotels, the latest of which was Atlantis. We got the Emirates business class offer and thus 2 nights at the hotel were free. As soon as you enter the hotel you are taken aback by the size of the lobby, and its grandure. tne theme is executed well, and the staff are curteous. Check in was swift and we went straight to the room. The rooms are nice, quite spacious, not overly decorated, and the bathroom was brilliant in my view. However, for a 5* in Dubai i would have expected the rooms to be larger. Concierge was very helpful with our queries, and the Avenues and the Lost Chambers are definately worth a visit.
Breakfast was absolutely gobsmacking - such a wide array of brilliantly prepared food, including some of the best dim sum i have ever tried, and a chocolate fountain, accompanied with a bizzare choice of gummy bears and sweets, nevertheless nice.
There is a good choice of cuisine for those who want to dine in the hotel, although pricey, its worth an experience. Levantine was very good, and the Shisha was well made, and Ossiana seems like a great experience, although i didnt ghet to go there.
The fitness centre was absolutely first class, great choice of machines, with attentive staff.
All in all, its a very nice hotel, however i couldnt see myself staying at this hotel again simply because there are far better hotels in Dubai.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis for Easter 09, It was fabulous, altho the room wasn`t as grand as I
thought it would it was very comfortable and we were overlooking the Giant Fishtank that they had in the lobby, this I absolutely fell in love with. We were able to look directly down into it and see the fish and sharks beeing feed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The different resturants were amazing but be prepared for the expence. Also be careful when you check your bill as you sign everything to your room, we were charged for somebodys £1000.00 meal! you can check your bill via the tv in your room and I think its advisable to do this before you get to the checking out desk. I loved Dubai and would certainly use this hotel again. The water park was also amazing and free if your staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Wanted to stay on the palm, offcourse resulting in staying in the Atlantis.
Nice place, new and incredible spacious. The room we got was above the aquarium (east wing). Absolute stunning. If yo go and like fish, go for these rooms. beautiful at night.
The aquarium is mindblowing. Huge big, beautiful and with huge amount of fis. Big no is the whaleshark. Good that they rescued(?) it, but they should set it free asap. What are they going to do with it once it is 12+ meter.

The hotel reminded me of Vegas, but with a very good quality and focus on the small details for the "under water" theme (expect the childish drawings on the ceiling: just go and see).
Yes it a package hotel but bear in mind, breakfast, lunch and dinner are not cheap (and there are no local restaurants nearby)

The lost chambers are funny, but I would not pay entrance fee. Definitely not worth it.

Big problem we had was the complaint we had about the aquaventure. Lobby could not help, so we wrote a complaint on the spot. We did not get any reply (after 2 weeks). That is a big NO for a hotel claiming to be a 5*. I Find this very strange because the overall service is very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed in Dubai for 12 nights and stayed the last three nights at Atalantis. We also stayed at Le Royal Meridien (5 nights) & Jumeirah Beach Hotels (4 nights).

Check In
Atlantis is visually a very impressive hotel. The first thing I noticed was that it was much busier than the other hotels we had been too. The lobby is huge and very busy (a lot of people look like they just come to have a look round). We arrived about 14:00 in the afternoon and check in was a very easy process. The lady was nice enough to upgrade us to a higher room (Atlantis room), however we were dissapointed that there were no Palm view rooms avaiable. We were given a magazine that provided information about the activities in the hotel. The room key was provided in a wallet that coul dbe hung around your neck that the kids liked, and there were also a couple people dressed as characters (dolphin and ocotopus) in the lobby that the kids were obsessed with.

Room
Our room was in the west wing, which if your going to visit the water park frequently is a bad thing as it is quite a walk. The room was very nice for a standard room, we had two queen beds, a desk area, TV, minibar/fridge. There is a radio that you can attach your ipod/mp3 player which is very useful. The balcony was tiny (basically double doors with a rail outside), however at least there was somewhere to dry out clothes. The bathroom was very nice and probably slightly better than the other hotels. There is a seperate shower room, seperate toilet area, and a bath and sink area which has sliding double doors that open out onto the bedroom. This was useful as the kids could have a bath and watch the TV at the same time. Robes, slippers and toiletries were provided.
On request we were provided with a DVD player but had to a sign an agreement to pay 500 dhirams (£90) if something happended to it. We had to call back the IT team on several occasions to resolve a lot of issues with the TV and the DVD player. You get one bottle of mineral bottle per day.

Room Service
The food we had in the room was generally expensive and of a low standard The chips I had were so cold and dry, but they were replaced quite quickly when we complained. We found that (unlike the other hotels) we had to pay for the kids meals - However they do provide potatoes and vegetables free of charge.
The hotel even charge you for baby milk (15 dhirams - £2.50), which was free at the other hotels. Even after complaining about this they would not budge. Best thing to do is to top your babies bottles at breakfast as there is plently of milk on tap.
A high chair was provided in the room on request, which we kept throughout our stay.
What was very nice of the hotel was that they left us a box chocolates with a card in our room for our anniversary.

House Keeping
The hotel were very slow in making our room. we found it was normally made about 4-5 o'clock in the afternoon which is completely unacceptable. They were very inconsistent in service as well.

Food
We had breakfast at the Saffron restaurant, which I must say was excellent. There is an enormous variety of different food available, but we especially loved the Dim Sum and the kids were obsessed with the chocolate fountain.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurants as they were ridicously over priced. Much better to get a taxi to the emirates mall or to Jumeirah Walk residence where there are loads of nice restuarants at a much more reasonable cost. There is a free shuttle service available for the Malls however it is better to pay 20 dhirams for a taxi, as the route takes over an hour to get there.

Waterpark
The water park at Atalntis is very good and some of the rides better than Wild Wadi. Entrance is Free. The kids area is very similar to Wild Wadi, however it is not as well supervised. We went to the waterpark every day and the kids throughly enjoyed it. Whilst in the park you can charge anything you buy directly to your room, which is useful. The standard of the food in the park again is very average. We ate lunch at three of areas and were not impressed with the price or the quality.
The aquarium is

Beach/Pools
There are two pools at the hotel, which we used on one of the days. I found the water to be very cold, and there are no shaded areas for the kids. There is a small area that is very shallow for the children to play in.
The beach is okay, but not what I would have expected. The sand as you enter the water is very stoney which is hard on your feet. Not ideal for children, the lifeguard told me it was because of the nature of the man made Palm Island. Jumeirah beach is much better, very smooth sand and lovely water.

For the price they expect you to pay this hotel is very over rated. Staff always seemed very busy and were not as friendly as the other hotels. I got the impression that some of them were always looking for tips, and provided excellent service to those who tipped heavily, which was not the case at the other hotels. The hotel also seems to want to charge for every additional service they provided - you even have to pay over 100 dhirams every visit just to use the Spa.

We received outstanding customer service at the other hotels we stayed at, against which Atlantis did not come close. The location of the other hotels was much better for Malls and Resturants as well. My recommendation if your going to Dubai with Kids is stay at the Jumeirah beach hotel, they are much more child friendly and the facilities are much better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Middle Lands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We recently came back from a week long stay at the Atlantis and were more than happy with the resort. It my not be a five star in the sense of The Chedi Hotels, but for a family holiday you could not ask for more. We have two children, 11 and 14 and they absolutely loved it, so much so they want to book again to go back there next year. The hotel is pretty much geared towards families and there's plenty to keep the kids amused all day. The Aqua Park is free to hotel guests and is fantastic fun and very safe. We paid a little extra for the half board option and saved a small fortune. We mostly ate at the Kaleidoscope restaurant for breakfast and dinner (all included) and we never had one bad meal. The food was all served buffet style and was hot, fresh and chefs were waiting to cook anything extra you may want.
There tends to be a queue for Breakfast but it soon goes down and we only waited max of about 15 minutes and that was when the hotel was pretty much full.
We spent the week lounging around the Royal Pool and it was fantastic. The kids could just go off and do what they liked as there were so many lifeguards and security people to keep an eye on them. I would not recommend going in the sea as it was full of jelly fish and a few people had been stung during our stay.
The Lost Chambers is also worth a visit, again free if you are a hotel guest. The kids loved it and so did the adults!
Happy hour was from 9pm till 11pm at Nasimi Bar (far end of the resort) and is a fantastic bar, right on the beach, with giant Fatboy beanbags to slough on with your beer and a view out over the palm and the lights of Dubai.
We stayed in the Atlantis family suite and it was very nice. The housekeeping was fantastic with as many towels as you needed, changed each day and clean bedding each day too, plus as much bottled water as you like. We never left the Atlantis for that week, but if you wish too, it is not expensive to catch a cab to the malls, or catch the monorail down the Palm.
Drinks and food during the day and night were not expensive, but probably on par with a nice pub here, even better on happy hour!
All in all I would definitely recommend this to families, maybe not for a couple who wish to relax and chill for a week, for that maybe try The Chedi in Muscat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I was worried about the reviews before we left but it was amazing.
Its a bit like the Venetian in Las Vegas, lots of marbel, loud in colour and very big.
We went to the Burg Al Arab for lunch it is tacky looking and not what we expected not a 7 star. The Atlantis looks much better. We will be going back and had a great deal Upper class with virgin.
FOOD. We paid half board which is a must as it is expensive, it cost us an extra £300.00 each for 2 weeks with Virgin. We found the Saffron the best, it's a buffet with all types of food:Chinese, Indian, Sushi, lots of different types of Fish, English, and much more.
The breakfast starts from 6.30-11.30am. Evening meal starts at 6pm -12.30am.
With the half board you can have breakfast and lunch or breakfast and evening meal.
CLEANLINESS: It was spotless
STAFF: Very polite and helpful, we always tipped them they are on very low money so I think we should tip.
POOLS: The Royal pool is open until 10pm every evening, which overlooks the beach, lots of life guards all sunbeds have their own towels and a canapy, it's wonderful
CABBANNAS/GAZEBO: They cost £28.00 per day and they have tables and chairs in bean bags a fan and the staff fill a cooler box with bottled water all day included in the price, this works out as a good deal as it's so hot.
ROOMS: Excellent, spotless cleaned daily, marble bathrooms comfortable beds, lovely decor.
GYM: Open from 6am until 10pm it was lovely.
WATERPARK: Excellent the kids loved it
DOLPHINS: Only half an hour with them but worth it, photos with the dolphins are expensive its cheaper to buy the C.D it costs £100.00.
KIDS CLUB: Very expensive it cost us £600.00 each child for 2 weeks, they were in there from 8pm-11pm.
WEATHER: Very hot in the 40's.
DESERT SAFARI: 54 degrees, great if you like travelling across the desert for an hour and a half, the camels were good, food not good but thats not what we went for, it's a must, the whole trip takes about 6 hours.
SHOPPING: The Dubai mall id the biggest in the world and the best in Dubai but it's no cheaoer then U.K.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#20 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#33 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis, The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.