We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, will not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis, The Palm to your Saves list
Atlantis, The Palm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Half Board Offer
Ranked #47 of 486 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing, will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked 2 rooms (Deluxe with balcony) for my family and I. We changed one of the rooms 5 times before we got one that didn't smell and feel damp. The hotel is a holiday factory and is certainly not luxury. Over crowded - queues to get into breakfast at peak times. Very expensive (£120 for breakfast for 3 of us in the French restaurant).
The staff were extremely friendly though in the pool restaurants and all the beach areas were excellent. Watch out if you have small children though as the beach bar has an over 21 rule. This meant that my 18 year daughter was unable to join us for a sunset drink!
The access to the water park made the holiday and from this aspect the accommodation issues were minimised. I would not go back to this hotel again, it's far too commercial and impersonal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Atlantis, The Palm on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise to read that the rooms that was presented to you had a smell issue. Please be assured that your comments about the smell in our rooms to our housekeeping team for appropriate actions. Nonetheless, I am glad that my team was able to assist you to look to the room that is up to your expectation.

Furthermore, I truly regret that we did not meet your expectations due to crowd issues during peak peak hours of breakfast period in our restaurant. Please be assured that we are constantly innovating on our products and services to continuously enhance the experience of our guests, particularly with respect to crowd. We currently have in place several access control procedures to ensure that certain areas of the resort remain for resident-guests only.

On a more positive note, thank you very much for your kind words on the courtesy of our colleagues. Please be assured that we will pass on your kind words to our team and thank them for a job well done.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you again at Atlantis, The Palm.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,912
    1,521
    569
    225
    235
See reviews for
3,474
2,177
91
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,775)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Atlantis, The Palm in December 2013 and cannot fault the service or accommodation.

It was a busy week but was made better by having upgraded to an Imperial Club Room, and having use of the Imperial Club Lounge.

In the evenings we ate at Nobu, Saffron, Kaleidoscope,Seafire, Ossiano and Ronda Locatelli, all of which served quality food and provided excellent service.

We will be returning to Dubai and we will be staying at Atlantis, The Palm

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that your stay with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed the Imperial Club lounge.

Furthermore, I am also pleased that your dining experience in our restaurants was a great one. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our team for them to continue to deliver a best dining experience to our guests.

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you in a not too distant future.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights with my wife and we both loved the hotel and would go back again but we'll be more prepared regarding costs. Beaches were nice. Swimming pools were clean and well manned. Staff were extremely friendly. Food was nice especially at Saffron where the staff there were really friendly. We got a good deal for half board. Only downside to that was drinks were not included and they weren't cheap! Dolphin experience was great as was the helicopter rode and the Aquaventure. The aquarium was great too. Really enjoyed our stay there. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Furthermore, I am also pleased that your Dolphin Bay, Aquaventure, Lost Chambers and dining experience in our restaurants was a great one, especially in Saffron. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our team for them to continue to deliver a best dining experience to our guests.

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcome you in a not too distant future.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a palm view deluxe room with our 14 month old toddler.
This was our fifth trip to Dubai and although we had visited Atlantis as day guests in the past we had never been residents. We were apprehensive that such a large hotel would be impersonal but need not have worried. The staff were very attentive and offered a personal service. We were given our room immediately despite a morning arrival time and staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant staff remembered our little boys name from day 1 which was remarkable and made it a cheery place.
The room was spacious,impeccably clean and well equipped. The palm views are amazing- the sea views on the other aspect are nice but monotonous. The food was of a high standard in all the restaurants although we tended to use the buffet style ones with having a youngster to tend to.
Nice to have unlimited access to the lost chambers aquarium and water park- the pirate pool was ideal and the water seemed to be heated so good for little children. The pools and beach were uncrowded with plenty of seating and parasols.
You need to be aware that there are limited things to do on the palm itself but the jb walk is a cheap and quick cab ride away as are the malls.
The interconnecting door in the room was not well soundproofed which was a minor issue at times.
Overall a great resort of high quality with lots of things for families to do but a little isolated from the jumeirah beach and Dubai centre. Fantastic for a relaxing family holiday and would definitely recommend but for couples would suggest other hotels on Palm/JB would likely be more suitable. We aim to return in the future in preference to the other 4 Dubai hotels we have previously visited incl Burj, JBH, one and only and hilton.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013 for a 9 night holiday. I had heard so much about this and was really looking forward to our stay. The staff were wonderful and always willing to help. Breakfast was such a delight. The dining hall was so big, it could easily take you 10/15 mins to walk around the whole hall. They even had a section where they served "real pork" sausages and bacon. The quality of the food was excellent and presented well. They served cuisine from all round the world. The pools are lovely as are the gardens. The waterpark is just a short walk away from the main hotel and there is a buggy which takes you around. The views are lovely. The shops are so high class and it's a delight to window shop. The huge fish tank as you come out of the dining hall is a must-see. This is not a five star hotel, it is way above the five stars and I cant wait to go back there again. The spa facilities are out of this world. I didn't use it until the last night and wish that I had used it every day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean deluxe room and couldn't ask for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We where there for new year as we approached the hotel they have blocked the entrance without giving any proper communication by Atlantis n from then all waste they charged 8000usd for four of us to show world record cracker show n v couldn't even c a bit coz there arrangements wer not properly planned....it's a cheap place n ppl there are very rude plz never go to Atlantis Dubai it's waste of money n time

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that you had faced in order to get to Atlantis, The Palm to celebrate your New Year with us. My team had sent you a private message to request for more details so that we can further investigate what happened and also have the opportunity to positively close your concern.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing from you.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Dubai for the New Year, and thought we would be amazed by staying at Atlantis, big mistake. First of all never go there during New Years.

It started with the pre-scheduled car to pick us up at the airport after a very long flight, we grabbed our bags and waited for ten minutes before finally calling the hotel, took another five minutes before they arrived and then said "your bags won't fit" and they couldn't give us a ride. We were traveling with my one year old, so i assume the driver saw the car seat and didn't like the looks of it. once we assured him it would fit and got to the car, i had to load the bags because he was curious about the car seat that my wife was installing. Then when it was installed he said he didn't think it would work and took it out, then said "sorry...okay" and left it on the sidewalk for my wife and i to install again. Maybe this is not that bad, but after an overnight flight we were very annoyed.

The front desk and checkin was nice and easy, things are looking up. Heading up to the room i realized we were on floor 3, thinking that is odd considering we are spending over $1,000 USD a night for a luxury room. Nope, we had a very basic bottom of the line room. Some of the lights didn't work, the room had paint chips, it was dirty/dusty and just looked old. First thing my wife asked was how old the hotel was because they need a renovation. Needless to say the view of the Palm was to be desired for and we were immediately disappointed with our situation.

We still tried to make the best of it, but noticed we were simply being cast aside. We went down for the breakfast buffet and had a waiter run into my pregnant wife and completely ignore that he walked into her.

Luckily things got better from there.

We spent the week hiring the hotel cars to drive us to the malls and around Dubai, no issues and the drivers were very nice and accommodating with our baby. We enjoyed as many of the wonderful restaurants available in Atlantis as we possibly could. In addition we went to the New Years Eve Gala dinner, which was an amazing experience with great food and drink. Highly recommend the steak house, best meal we had all week and the wait staff put chairs together and found a pillow for a makeshift bed for my daughter (she fell asleep 10 minutes into dinner). Never seen a restaurant be so accommodating to a family.

All in all, once you get past the double or triple the cost of everything you can have fun. It is just difficult for me to get past the first impressions in the first 24 hours of arrival. I give it a poor rating because despite the initial issues of the hotel, I think being New Years Eve they were simply over extended and we had some bad luck. Maybe we will try again, but for as much as we spent on a five night vacation I can go a lot of places i know will be amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge_Zaalof, President and Managing Director at Atlantis, The Palm, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Atlantis, The Palm on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurants, especially during your New Years Eve Gala dinner, I am concerned to read that the interaction you had with my colleague upon your arrival and the state of your room was not to your expectations. I wish to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and we would be grateful if you could reply to the private message that we have sent to you in order to assist us to improve our service.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you.


Best regards,

Serge Zaalof
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#21 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#33 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis, The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.