We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a fantastic time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis, The Palm to your Saves list
Atlantis, The Palm
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Board Offer
Ranked #52 of 499 Hotels in Dubai
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“we had a fantastic time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stopped at atlantis on the way home from a longhaul holiday for 3 nights, we had a fantastic time.
If you want an intimate personalized hotel then perhaps this is not for you, it is a commercial, busy but amazing hotel. The actual building is amazing and loosely themed around a water theme, but not to extreme levels. The lobby is impressive and the general design and art work beautiful. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and it has the posh hints with attendants opening the doors and operating the lifts.
The hotel is vast and very impressive, I really liked the rooms, we had a palm view and it was amazing. I swear I had the best nights sleep ever there as the beds were so comfortable. The bathroom was nice and opened up nicely into the room. We had an atlantis room, it has doors that open but no balcony which was fine with us, I cannot see the point of upgrading the room, we can't afford the fish tank view so I can't see what else could have been added to improve it for us!
Having the aquarium and waterpark is a huge plus. Our daughter is only 3 and we had an amazing time the kids water park is crazy!! You can pop in and out as you want. To be honest we didn't really go to see dubai as such and altantis had everything we wanted. We did squeeze in some activities, we did a helicopter ride which was set up very well and the dolphin bay encounter. If you do these activities it is well worth having a member of the party dry and with a camera or you are over a barrel with having to pay the extortionate prices for the photos that you do very much want! I think older children might find the water park more limited once they have mastered the faster ones, but for us it was fantastic. Why does everything open at 10am though... would have loved a nice 8am early start with so much to pack in.
The restaurants in the hotel are expensive. We went to the italian the first night and everytime you have a sip of water they were topping it up, I prefer to just be left to it. The second two nights we had in room dining and I have to say it was fantastic, they brought a table into our room and we sat and looked over the night palm view without having to worry about our daughter falling asleep in a restaurant tired from having such a busy day, if I went again I would do this every night!! No pestering just left to it, much better and MUCH CHEAPER!!
Have to say the breakfast was very good and varied, its all set up buffet, appropriate for the large scale of the guests, don't go 'not' bed and breakfast its so expensive to buy separately it needs to be included!!
My only criticism is the shops, the attendants just follow you around and make you feel like a criminal everytime you touch something they rearrange it or ask you if you want it...too much!
I think if you like to go on holiday and be treated like royalty, waited on hand and foot in an uncrowded atmosphere this is not what atlantis is- unless you have a super expensive room and want to stay in there all day. It is an entertaining fun, lively busy commercial set up that is very plush, really set up for kids, a mini disney type set up. We loved it and would love to return.

Room Tip: didn't go to spa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,504
    1,715
    641
    256
    262
See reviews for
3,882
2,423
100
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,002)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent 7 nights at The Atlantis Palm on the Jumeirah Palm. Overall the hotel is way to expensive for what you get. Waterpark and all the other facilities are nice to see but once you've been there...you saw it. If you don't care about noisy kids i'm sure you'll have a great and funny time there.
The room was okay but nothing special. First night (we arrived at midnight) we had some english-party people in the room beside us...the were having a huge party with music...impossible to sleep! And the concierge-desk couldn't or wouldn't do anything to stop them or even turn down the music. Inhouse-dinning service brought them food the whole night so the would not stop... After 2 h my husband went over there and told them to turn down the rumors...but nothing. And we weren't the only guests who were disturbed. The next day we had to step by at the check in desk for three times to get another room which was worst than the first. That's not what I understand under a 5*-resort!!!

Another night they had a beachparty going on, but only the "VIP"-guests could have sit down on a special area. We were guests of the resort and could not sit down (you could but only into the sand...bad idea with white pants) !!!

They have several restaurants. But with the halfboard vouchers you just can go to some of them. Which means for the really good ones we were charged extra. These restaurants (steakhouse and italian rest.) where really good but a bit pricy.

Overall I wouldn't go back. There are many other hotels in Dubai for less money and more service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is stunning, it reminded me a little of a Disney hotel because of the attention to detail - re the Atlantis theme.
The choice of restaurants is excellent and the food in all that we tried was amazing. If you are travelling with fussy eaters then opt for the buffet restaurants, there really is something for everyone.
The water park and aquarium were amazing and free to enter as guests at the hotel. Tip - wear flip flops as you walk around the waterpark - in August to floor is like hot coals!
I have seen comments about the time check-in takes and I would agree - however you are in a stunning lobby and they do have around 10 desks open.
This hotel would be suited to any type of visitor as there is such a variety of things to do. If you are looking for small and intimate you probably will not read this review anyway!
We travelled during Ramadan and the hotel provided information on the do's and don'ts which were not very many, as the hotel still serves food and drink all day.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor with a palm view - for an amazing view of Dubai
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just had two night at Atlantis on the recommendation of a friend. Very disappointing. Compared to some of the hotels in Dubai this on really doesn't live up to the 5 star tab. Ok there is a watermark and an aquarium but it hasn't got the quality. The room was basic everything was very expensive and there were screaming kids everywhere! We spent the last 2 nights of our Holiday at the Meydan Hotel which really put things in perspective. It was less expensive all round and everything oozed quality. Overall the Atlantis isn't very good and definitely isn't worth the sort of money that they charge.

Room Tip: Go to the Meydan Hotel. A true 5 star hotel in easy reach of everything Dubai has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Atlantis. We have been many times and there is always something new and the service is always amazing. Highly recommend booking the hotel speedboat for a private trip. The only area that was not as it is normally was the Imperial Club lounge - breakfast was somewhat chaotic and very busy. They did in all fairness a couple of days into the holiday and opened Levantine for Imp Club guests for breakfast which was fantastic - the service at this restaurant is always fabulous. All in all a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you want to see an amazing feat of engineering this is it... a modern wonder of the world. We stayed as a treat after a Nile cruise over Christmas 2011. We were greeted the the airport by a limo as our pre-booked hotel transfer.
Our room was on par with any other 1st class hotel we have stayed in but we were there
to relax, enjoy all the palm for what it has to offer... I would recommend this hotel to other couples, easy enough to get around... no real need to leave the palm, we both enjoyed the water park (not just for kids) the shopping out on the palm is all high end brands not in our price range but its nice to dream, we will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing towards the city... great views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week last August with my son and yes it was hot! However after a damp English summer I couldn't complain. The hotel was amazing and totally over the top but in a good way. The entrance hall with its massive glass sculpture, the wall of aquarium you spot on your way to breakfast, the pristine beach, the attentive staff... I could go on.

It's not the type of hotel I could usually afford but a half board package meant that breakfast and one meal was included. Meal vouchers gave us freedom to choose which meals to have in the amazing restaurants.

Taxis into Dubai were not expensive and we visited the old creek area and the new Burj Khalifa.

Definitely worth splashing out on the Atlantis especially if you find a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Dubai
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#39 Family Hotel in Dubai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis, The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.