We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST GREAT OF YOU NEED TO BE AMERICAN FOR A MOMENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW's Steakhouse

JW's Steakhouse
Abu Baker Al Siddique Road, Deira | JW Marriott Hotel Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+971 4 262 4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 5,569 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $100 - $500
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the more popular restaurants in Deira, Dubai, the award-winning JW's Steakhouse serves delicious Angus steaks and fresh seafood in an elegant setting.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“JUST GREAT OF YOU NEED TO BE AMERICAN FOR A MOMENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A highly polished performance which could not be faulted except for the ludicrous bull's horns on either side of the plate. Food and wine exceptional.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    36
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The service was outstanding and the steak was cooked to perfection.
The JW Marriott has 9 restaurants and this was our choice while staying there. If they are all as good as this one ,why go anywhere else.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent steak house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Went off trip advisor for this restaurant and wasn't disappointed, decor very much like a old fashioned gentlemans club, staff very attentive, offered us complementary mussels courtesy of the chef. We had 1 starter two 7 oz fillets with seasonal vegtables, garlic mash and sauteed potatoes, bottle of water and wine which cost about £150 which is what I'd expect to pay in Dubai. Wine being about £50 or more a bottle. We were to full for a dessert, chef then brought us some complimentary chocolates in a dry ice ..a nice touch. The steak was the finest we've had and would definately go back on our return to Dubai. Hope this helps .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Location aside, great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The restaurant has been recommended so many times by friends, that I decided to give it a go. The location is not ideal, tucked down into Old Dubai, and took over 2 hours to get there from the palm. We rang and advised we were going to be late, which turned out to not be a problem as it was a quiet when we arrived. The having walked down the various levels to get to the restaurant you walk in and feel like you are back in an old style gentlemens club/irish pub- Lots of big leather green arm chairs and the walls are covered in novel framed pictures. There are some lovely touches to the dining experiences, although the serving of an amuse bouche didn't really fit with the restaurant. Our waiter was very attentive rattling through the specials as soon as we sat down- We had to get him to repeat as it was a lot to take in. I would recommend the prawn cocktail- fabulous giant prawns and a lot of dry ice. The steaks were good- not the best I have had, but didn't disappoint.
If you are down that end of town, then worth a visit, but there are other good steakhouses on the other side of the creek that are just as good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhama de Almeria, Spain
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely ambiance - wonderful beef but the chef overcooked my wife's fillet and delivered my T-bone blue as opposed to rare. Otherwise good service - expensive - we should have complained earlier - however great steaks spoiled

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JW's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to JW's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.