We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Comiche Road | PO Box 7079, Jeddah 21462, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From SAR 1275
Ranked #12 of 87 hotels in Jeddah
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This luxury hotel is very impressive with well decoration. Especially the scenery is great, beautiful red sea across the hotel, you can enjoy the place with good memories. Staff are mostly kind and helpful..

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarAbuZaid, Operations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear firstmoon3142,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased and delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for highlighting your positive impression on our hotel, our location and our team members.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again as we would be very glad to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay at Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq.

Yours sincerely,

Omar Abuzaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I was over in Jeddah for one night and stayed in this hotel because i couldnt get any other rooms in the city. I was excited that id be staying at such a luxurious hotel. I booked the Executive Suite. 1 sitting/dining room, 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms. The first bad experience was the hotel reception. Unprofessional and took ages to check me in. I dont know what the reason was. Second disappointment was the suite fitting. Very tacky, low quality fabric. I dont know it didnt feel luxurious. My father tried calling me and gave the hotel my last name (reservation was under my last name). They told him noone is checked in under that name. Maybe its my stay which was a one bad incident after another. The food was good tho. So thats a plus. Anyhow i came to Jeddah again and didnt not book here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

wonderful hotel. 7 stars. the service is great. it is truly luxury hotel but unfortunately the price is too over. in my opinion i can get another hotel in the same category with a much cheaper price. what i did not like is that the gym is in Hilton Hotel (different building). i have to walk to the other building to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarAbuZaid, Operations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Qasr Al Sharq, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel and for sharing your experience with us.

I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you very much for your positive impression about our hotel and I would be delighted to share it with our team to further continue carrying on unparalleled experience to our guests at all times.

Please feel free to contact us further with any additional comments or plans to return, as we would be pleased for another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.


Yours sincerely,

Omar Abuzaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have booked this Hotel and I went there and the reception Boy (I wont call him a Gentle man )
start to treat me as I am Lower in his psychic mind than him I passed that because it reflect his sad lonely life and the service in General is poor ,IF you compare even with a 4 star hotel outside Saudia Arabia , the room is good nothing wow about it here when it is not clean and finger prints everywhere even the mirrors stained ,

the only positive thing in this hotel it is complete a Dead land no one there no sounds the lobby is empty most of the time ,


The negatives :

1.attitude issue with everyone from the receptionist specially the receptionist who treat you his the only sale man and this hotel is his house unprofessional ,uneducated and one of them he has self esteem issues he should be treated psychologically (my professional diagnosis).
2.the service is extremely poor anything which take more than 15 minutes or 20 minutes is poor specially when it is not Food.
3.the hotel is old and getting older it needs a renew ,amenities also, Hotel meant to be fun relaxing place to stay in not a bed breakfast specially when you ask for 1000 dollars per night.
4.It seems the management doesn't care or bother themselves with doing well I didn't saw any manager when I need to talk to or complain about something maybe they need to think it again before they drop out as any business around, I hope they gonna do something to be proud of when a city like Jeddah not even reaching the level of proudness to have a good Hotel.



Sincerely

FZ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarAbuZaid, Operations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing to stay at Qasr Al Sharq, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel and for sharing your experience during your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the quality of service in general. It was disappointing to learn that your visit was not up to standard and please rest assured that this is certainly not the lasting impression that we wish to leave with our valued guests. I have personally followed up to ensure that the appropriate corrective actions are immediately taken.

As a valued guest, your feedback is important to us. We use it to try to make your experiences the best that they can be. Furthermore, I have noted the rest of your comments and have been shared with the management team, rest assured that it will be addressed in an appropriate and a timely manner.

We hope you allow us another opportunity to demonstrate the Waldorf Astoria hospitality you have come to expect in our hotel.

If I can be of more assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Yours sincerely

Omar Abuzaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved my room! Very spacious and reminded me of the interior to the burj al arab. A lot of gold and very bling. What truly bothered me was the service. I was brought to my room by the bell boy who didnt show me how anything works in the room. I asked for a room service card since my pages were glued together. It took my 1 1/2 hours and 4 calls to get it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'm spending my honey-moon in this outstanding hotel.It's my 1st night. The check in was super fast only 5min. The staff is extremly friendly. The man in the reception when he knew it is my honey moon he gave me a sea view room. Overall Perfect hotel with 5 stars qualities. It's highly recommended....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du13
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel & rooms(Suites) are breath taking everything in the Suite is impressive and lavish. Being there on business only, at one point I seriously thought of changing hotels because it was so bling bling. Tea & coffee are complimentary just call your butler to deliver it, see what I mean.
But the service of the staff is not up to par as upon mycheck-in I was given a suite & when Concierge employee & I walk in I had to back away very quickly as it was very obvious someone is in the room with their clothes on bed and slippers on floor. This was a major mistake on the recieption empoyees, which their manager called me later and appologies for. The room service menu as you would expect it is quite expensive, example a basic cheese sandwich is at $24.
Location is on corniche road beautiful outlook on the Red sea & It's adjacent to Hilton with easy access to Hilton (external walk way).
I had a BB package, so people at the hotel have the option to order in room instead of going down to restaurant for Breakfast, I was surprise to see that there's no buffet, only menu orders. I then realized people at such a grand hotel would not wake up so early (6:30am) for a business eeting or a breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a sea veiw suite & order breakfast the night before!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq

Address: North Comiche Road | PO Box 7079, Jeddah 21462, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jeddah
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jeddah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
from the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sharq Hotel Jeddah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Qasr Al Sharq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.