We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hotel

Sunset Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Rowdah Street | PO Box 10161, Jeddah 21433, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. The price was good but its an old hotel. I had an apartment type of suite but there was no utensils, crockery, pans etc. So the kitchen area was effectively useless. Free wifi, which is the way it should be. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.
I came back to Jeddah a week later but I found another hotel in a location close to my place of business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jeddah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was one of my bad experience as a staff. Obviously this hotel is not good to stay because of some staff peoples. Very bad management. All families are working in this hotel.95% of Pakistanis are working here.Most of them are the relatives of General Manager. In all departments his relatives are working. Very Poor Management. Nothing is new. Not paying attention to their staff. Only those people can work in this hotel who are already working in this place. Very poor salary scale. Not looking at the performance. Honestly speaking very bad management. No need to work in that hotel . Please.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room is enough for our big family. It is clean. There is a living room that can accommodate a certain number of visitors. We haven't tried the pool but it looks good and well-maintained. You should try their in-house restaurant. It offers tasty and delicious food at reasonable costs. I've tried their seafood meal that includes lobster, i forgot the exact price but it's around 80 Riyals. It was really good! And their Bolognese at around 15 Riyals, you can ask for extra parmesan cheese and sauce. Most of the staff are Filipinos, they are very accommodating and friendly. Overall, we had a comfortable and wonderful experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is an nice place to stay in Jeddah. A 4 Star property though doesn't look like from the outside but the rooms are really big and comfortable interiors, food is great esp for a veggie like me. I could get really good sleep wi-fi is superb connectivity in every corner of the room. The staff is really polite and helpful. Over all a place worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

as a business traveller, i just picked hotel the closest one to my office. this is the closest one, but i think this is not the best value.
with 550 riyals, you got very big hotel room. old interiors, with very cold ac, which i dont know where to adjust it. no coffe, tea, or even water as complomentary. the breakfast also very little choiche you can get. if you looking for food outside hotel, its quite hard to find within walking distance. i think its better forme to puck another hotel on the next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for just over a week on a business trip. As I stayed here about five years ago and had a pretty bad experience then, I was therefore reluctant when I heard we had to come back.

The Hotel is it is now is however not completely bad for an economy hotel, with comfortable apartment type of room/lounge and even a small kitchen (with nothing in it - also no kettle for tea). At least a fridge is available. Good air-conditioning, although noisy. The main bedroom had twin beds, a flat screen TV with some movie channels and CNN for English news, lots of built-in cupboards and an electronic safe.

The free wireless internet was of poor standard the whole week, most of the time exceedingly slow and often breaking off completely. You have to log-in many times in a day to restore the service. One evening it did not work at all and often I couldn't send/receive any emails larger than only a few Kilobytes, which was a big pain. A complaint to the front desk yielded nothing more than "sorry about that". I guess they have no answers any more!

The restaurant is below average and especially breakfast was disappointing (horrible burnt-tasting coffee!). Room service was friendly and reasonably priced.

The gym at least was great - well equipped and with everything working. It is spacious and inviting with a friendly and involved manager with friendly young men assisting. Well done! Nice swimming pool for a quick relaxation after work or gym.

So, loved the gym, but will probably not use this hotel again because of the ridiculously bad internet service.

Room Tip: Inner rooms facing the swimming pool have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was the only woman in our business delegation. The staff were at all times courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms we had were all suites - some with kitchen areas. There were no coffee and tea making facilities but room service was quick and efficient, The restaurant was efficient and the quality of food was good. Breakfast was varied and there were good choices at dinner - buffet and a la carte. Overall the hotel gives good value and high quality. There were lots of local weddings to observe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Al Rowdah Street | PO Box 10161, Jeddah 21433, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.